The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea (Hardback)
  • The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea (Hardback)
zoom

The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea (Hardback)

(author)
£16.99
Hardback 336 Pages
Published: 22/02/2022

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

A breathtaking aquatic fantasy, The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea mines mythology and folklore to tell the bewitching story of a slumbering sea god, a ritual sacrifice and a sweeping adventure to release a community from the grip of a sinister power.

Deadly storms. An ancient curse. Will her sacrifice save them all?

For generations, deadly storms have ravaged Mina's homeland. Her people believe the Sea God, once their protector, now curse them with death and despair. To appease him, each year a maiden is thrown into the sea, in the hopes that one day the 'true bride' will be chosen and end the suffering.

Many believe Shim Cheong - Mina's brother's beloved - to be the legendary true bride. But on the night Cheong is sacrificed, Mina's brother follows her, even knowing that to interfere is a death sentence. To save her brother, Mina throws herself into the water in Cheong's stead.

Swept away to the Spirit Realm, a magical city of lesser gods and mythical beasts, Mina finds the Sea God, trapped in an enchanted sleep. With the help of a mysterious young man and a motley crew of demons, gods and spirits, Mina sets out to wake him and bring an end to the storms once and for all. But she doesn't have much time: a human cannot live long in the land of the spirits. And there are those who would do anything to keep the Sea God from waking...

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
ISBN: 9781529391695
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 553 g
Dimensions: 236 x 158 x 36 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

A clever, creative, and exquisitely written tale of sacrifice, love, and fate - Stephanie Garber, Sunday Times bestselling author of Caraval and Once Upon a Broken Heart

A sumptuous fairytale world to dive into full of whimsy and heart. Perfect for fans of Studio Ghibli! - Natasha Ngan, New York Times bestselling author of Girls of Paper and Fire

A tale brimming with love. The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea will whisk you away on an entrancing journey through the most magical realm. Axie Oh's characters own my whole heart - Chloe Gong, New York Times bestselling author of These Violent Delights

With its captivating world-building, fast-paced story and cast of memorable characters, The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea will charm, delight and surprise readers - Juliet Marillier, award-winning author of the Warrior Bards series

A beautiful, mesmerizing retelling I wish I'd had when I was growing up . . . A heartfelt tale that I will be recommending for years to come - Elizabeth Lim, New York Times bestselling author of Six Crimson Cranes

A true jewel of a story that shines in the world of fantasy . . . This beautifully woven tale brimming with heart, spirit, and love is a dream you'll never want to end - Janella Angeles, bestselling author of Where Dreams Descend

Shim Cheong is Korea's most famous legend and one I've heard all my life, but as a feminist it has always been my least favorite. Axie's book retells the fairy tale and empowers the girl protagonist while still preserving the beloved classic tale, set in a fantastical world so unique and fascinating. I absolutely loved every word! - Ellen Oh, author of Prophecy and co-founder of We Need Diverse Books

Axie Oh's The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea is a beautifully written fantasy inspired by Spirited Away and steeped in Korean mythology. Lyrical prose, incredible world building, and a heroine worth rooting for - this story is everything and then some. A stunning feat of storytelling and an un-put-downable read. I wish I could read it again for the first time. Absolutely exquisite! - Kalynn Bayron, bestselling author of Cinderella is Dead and This Poison Heart

Get ready to be swept into a world of gods, spirits, surprising twists, and mingled destinies. The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea is a breathtaking cinematic fairy tale with a courageous heroine at its heart - Traci Chee, New York Times bestselling author of A Thousand Steps into Night

Nicely paced and beautifully written, this engrossing fantasy is packed with memorable characters, starting with the headstrong Mina, and including the mysterious Shin, with whom she becomes inexplicably tied . . . A perfect for fit readers who love Spirited Away - Booklist

[A] majestic magical marvel of a book - Buzzfeed

A luscious and beautiful experience - Bookish Brews

Oh weaves an intricate and engaging tale . . . Captivated readers will long to be pulled deeper into the story. A fantastical world to get lost in - Kirkus

'A wondrous, richly imagined tale of love, family, and sacrifice. Axie Oh's lyrical prose sweeps you into an extraordinary world of myth and legend, where gods of lore live and breathe, and one girl's determination to change her fate will capture your heart. Fans of Studio Ghibli will adore this magical story! - June CL Tan, author of Jade Fire Gold

This YA fantasy is an enthralling mix of magic, romance, and high stakes, with lovely worldbuilding at its centre - BuzzFeed News SFF round-up

The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea captivated me with its depiction of a spirit realm rooted in Korean myth and moved me with the power of love and family in its story. A beautiful new favorite of mine! - Xiran Jay Zhao, New York Times bestselling author of Iron Widow

A world deep down under the sea, a motley crew of demons and spirits, and a young girl willing to do anything to save her brother - a recipe for a great new fantasy - Mr B’s Bookseller’s Dozen

A magical odyssey of gods, mythical beasts and enchanted spirits - Lifestyle Northeast

Majestic, magical marvel of a book - BuzzFeed

A soulful story with big-hearted characters and a truly whimsical setting, The Girl Who Fell Beneath The Sea offers readers a dose of pure fantasy escapism. Something we need now more than ever - Culturefly

At all times it's fanciful and vibrant, a love letter to the mythology of Oh's childhood... It's beautifully written, its poetry-tinged prose elevating it above other similarly themed YA novels - SFX

Swept me away to another world - an enchanting and lyrical tale, perfect for fans of Midnight in Everwood - Armadillo Magazine

Spellbinding - The New York Times

A lush, compassionate reimagining - Tor.com

A beautiful, poetic, heartfelt, and mesmerising retelling - The Nerd Daily

Tender, precious feminist retelling of Korean The Tale of Shim Cheong ... An enigmatic, epic achievement - Australian Women’s Weekly

A breathtaking aquatic fantasy, The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea mines mythology and folklore to tell the bewitching story of a slumbering sea god, a ritual sacrifice and a sweeping adventure to release a community from the grip of a sinister power - Waterstones

A modernised, mythological tale about fate and courage with a young heroine at the very heart of it. Oh's well-paced novel poses an intriguing and critical question for young adults - should we believe everything we hear? Oh's world is comprised of much more than just gods, spirits, and mythical creatures, it really gives the reader something to chew on after the final pages. Recommended for ages 13 to 17 - Irish Examiner

A beautiful and enchanting re-telling of a Korean legend ... mesmerising - ReadingZone

You may also be interested in...

Paper Dragons: The Fight for the Hidden Realm
Added to basket
Wrath of the Triple Goddess
Added to basket
Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Chalice of the Gods
Added to basket
Howl’s Moving Castle
Added to basket
Girl, Goddess, Queen
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Christmasaurus Carol
Added to basket
Powerless
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Impossible Creatures
Added to basket
Shatter Me
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
The Cruel Prince (The Folk of the Air)
Added to basket
Shatter Me
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Ruthless Vows
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
One Dark Window
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Wonka
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback

“Exquisite and captivating”

Beneath the sea, the dragon sleeps
What is he dreaming of?

Beneath the sea, the dragon sleeps
When will he wake?

On a dragons pearl, your wish will leap
On a dragons pearl, your wish will leap


5 ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

A beautiful... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 20

“For fans of Spirited Away”

‘Only you could change your mind from a compliment to an insult halfway through’

BEAUTIFUL

MAGICAL

ELEGANT

CAPTIVATING

ETHEREAL

HEARTWARMING

Honestly my heart is just so wonderfully full from this book. As... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 16
Dan - Clifton, Bristol.

“Fall into another realm.”

Mina’s homeland has suffered for generations. Storms which threaten everyday life, ravaging everything it touches without a single care in the world.
The people believe a curse hangs heavy across their lands due to... More

Hardback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 12

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: