The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea: the New York Times bestselling magical fantasy (Hardback)
  • The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea: the New York Times bestselling magical fantasy (Hardback)
zoom

The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea: the New York Times bestselling magical fantasy (Hardback)

(author)
£16.99
Hardback 336 Pages
Published: 22/02/2022
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 48 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

A breathtaking aquatic fantasy, The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea mines mythology and folklore to tell the bewitching story of a slumbering sea god, a ritual sacrifice and a sweeping adventure to release a community from the grip of a sinister power.

Deadly storms. An ancient curse. Will her sacrifice save them all?

For generations, deadly storms have ravaged Mina's homeland. Her people believe the Sea God, once their protector, now curse them with death and despair. To appease him, each year a maiden is thrown into the sea, in the hopes that one day the 'true bride' will be chosen and end the suffering.

Many believe Shim Cheong - Mina's brother's beloved - to be the legendary true bride. But on the night Cheong is sacrificed, Mina's brother follows her, even knowing that to interfere is a death sentence. To save her brother, Mina throws herself into the water in Cheong's stead.

Swept away to the Spirit Realm, a magical city of lesser gods and mythical beasts, Mina finds the Sea God, trapped in an enchanted sleep. With the help of a mysterious young man and a motley crew of demons, gods and spirits, Mina sets out to wake him and bring an end to the storms once and for all. But she doesn't have much time: a human cannot live long in the land of the spirits. And there are those who would do anything to keep the Sea God from waking...

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
ISBN: 9781529391695
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 553 g
Dimensions: 236 x 158 x 36 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'A clever, creative, and exquisitely written tale of sacrifice, love, and fate' - Stephanie Garber, author of Caraval

'With its captivating world-building, fast-paced story and cast of memorable characters, The Girl Who Fell Beneath the Sea will charm, delight and surprise readers' - Juliet Marillier, author of the Warrior Bards series

'A beautiful, mesmerizing retelling I wish I'd had when I was growing up... A heartfelt tale that I will be recommending for years to come' - Elizabeth Lim, author of Six Crimson Cranes

'A true jewel of a story that shines in the world of fantasy... This beautifully woven tale brimming with heart, spirit, and love is a dream you'll never want to end' - Janella Angeles, author of Where Dreams Descend

'Shim Cheong is Korea's most famous legend and one I've heard all my life, but as a feminist it has always been my least favorite. Axie's book retells the fairy tale and empowers the girl protagonist while still preserving the beloved classic tale, set in a fantastical world so unique and fascinating. I absolutely loved every word!' - Ellen Oh, author of Prophecy

'A sumptuous fairytale world to dive into full of whimsy and heart. Perfect for fans of Studio Ghibli!' - Natasha Ngan, author of Girls of Paper and Fire

You may also be interested in...

Skandar and the Unicorn Thief
Added to basket
£12.99   £6.49
Hardback
Coraline
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Matilda
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Daughter of the Pirate King
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Shadows Between Us
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
A Court of Thorns and Roses
Added to basket
Northern Lights
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Throne of Glass
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Skandar and the Unicorn Thief
Added to basket
£12.99   £6.49
Hardback
Six of Crows
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Space Band
Added to basket
£14.99   £7.49
Hardback
Kingdom of the Wicked
Added to basket
Shatter Me
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Smeds and the Smoos
Added to basket
A Dark Inheritance
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Smeds and the Smoos
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback

“Exquisite and captivating”

Beneath the sea, the dragon sleeps
What is he dreaming of?

Beneath the sea, the dragon sleeps
When will he wake?

On a dragons pearl, your wish will leap
On a dragons pearl, your wish will leap


5 ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

A beautiful... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 5
Dan - Clifton, Bristol.

“Fall into another realm.”

Mina’s homeland has suffered for generations. Storms which threaten everyday life, ravaging everything it touches without a single care in the world.
The people believe a curse hangs heavy across their lands due to... More

“For fans of Spirited Away”

‘Only you could change your mind from a compliment to an insult halfway through’

BEAUTIFUL

MAGICAL

ELEGANT

CAPTIVATING

ETHEREAL

HEARTWARMING

Honestly my heart is just so wonderfully full from this book. As... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 4

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.