Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
The Girl Who Couldn't Read (Hardback)
  • The Girl Who Couldn't Read (Hardback)
zoom

The Girl Who Couldn't Read (Hardback)

(author)
£14.99
Hardback 304 Pages / Published: 28/08/2014
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
A sinister Gothic tale in the tradition of The Woman in Black and The Fall of the House of Usher New England, the 1890s. A man calling himself Doctor John Shepherd arrives at an isolated women's mental hospital to begin work as assistant to the owner Dr Morgan. As Shepherd struggles to conceal his own dark secrets, he finds the asylum has plenty of its own. Who is the woman who wanders the corridors by night with murderous intent? Why does the chief nurse hate him? And why is he not allowed to visit the hospital's top floor? Shocked by Morgan's harsh treatment of the patients, and intrigued by one of them, Jane Dove, a strange amnesiac girl who is fascinated by books but cannot read, Shepherd embarks upon an experiment to help her. As he attempts to solve the mystery of Jane's past his own troubled history begins to catch up with him and she becomes his only hope of escape, as he is hers. In this chilling literary thriller everyone has something to hide and no one is what he or she seems. The Girl Who Couldn't Read is the long-awaited sequel to the critically acclaimed international bestseller Florence and Giles but can also be read as a gripping standalone novel.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780007324231
Number of pages: 304
Weight: 490 g
Dimensions: 222 x 141 x 31 mm

You may also be interested in...

The Librarian
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Macbeth
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Sixteen Trees of the Somme
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
An Unsuitable Match
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Winter
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Heads You Win
Added to basket
£20.00   £12.00
Hardback
Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine
Added to basket
Middle England
Added to basket
£16.99   £12.99
Hardback
In a House of Lies
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
Norse Mythology
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Snap
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Lethal White
Added to basket
£20.00   £13.99
Hardback
Past Tense
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
The Moon Sister
Added to basket
£18.99   £12.99
Hardback
If Cats Disappeared From The World
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.