The Girl in the Photograph (Paperback)
  • The Girl in the Photograph (Paperback)
zoom

The Girl in the Photograph (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 448 Pages
Published: 15/01/2015
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

For fans of Kate Mosse and Kate Morton comes a haunting novel about two women separated by decades but entwined by fate.

When Alice Eveleigh arrives at Fiercombe Manor during the long, languid summer of 1933, she finds a house steeped in mystery and brimming with secrets. Sadness permeates its empty rooms and the isolated valley seems crowded with ghosts, none more alluring than Elizabeth Stanton whose only traces remain in a few tantalisingly blurred photographs. Why will no one speak of her? What happened a generation ago to make her vanish?

As the sun beats down relentlessly, Alice becomes ever more determined to unearth the truth about the girl in the photograph - and stop her own life from becoming an eerie echo of Elizabeth's . . .

Lifelong fans of Daphne du Maurier's Rebecca will adore Kate Riordan's exquisite novel, The Girl in the Photograph.


Praise for The Girl in the Photograph:

'Full of slow-burning tension' Essentials

'A sweeping saga of secrets and ghosts' Good Housekeeping

'A well executed, brooding, creepy atmosphere' Sunday Mirror

'A prickly story full of tension' Sunday Express

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781405917421
Number of pages: 448
Weight: 309 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 27 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Beautifully written, with intrigue and mystery. I was itching for answers as the two narratives unfolded - Dinah Jefferies

A sweeping saga of secrets and ghosts - Good Housekeeping

Intelligent, poignant and highly recommended - Louise Candlish

Full of slow-burning tension - Essentials

Rich and atmospheric - Rachel Hore

Well-executed and brooding, with a creepy atmosphere - Sunday Mirror

You may also be interested in...

The Housekeepers
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Satsuma Complex
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Close to Home
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Yellowface
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Happy Place
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Last Devil To Die
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Guest
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Someone Else’s Shoes
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Bee Sting
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
You Like It Darker
Added to basket
£25.00   £12.50
Hardback
Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow
Added to basket
Kairos
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Tom Lake
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Prophet Song
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Babel
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Butter
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback

“”

I was fortunate to be sent this wonderful book by Real Readers. The writing style of the first short chapter told me that it was going to be good. What a joy to read such atmospheric prose. Kate Riordan takes her... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 27

“The Girl in the Photograph is enjoyable, and well written ”

The novel opens with a short prologue, narrated by Alice in 1936 and sets the scene for the fairly long and complex story to follow.

Alice then goes back four years, to 1932 when she finds herself left heartbroken by... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 26

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: