The Girl in the Letter (Paperback)
  • The Girl in the Letter (Paperback)
zoom

The Girl in the Letter (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£14.99
Paperback 384 Pages / Published: 10/01/2019
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

'A great book, truly hard to put down. Fast paced, brilliantly plotted and desperately sad at times - all hallmarks of a bestseller' Lesley Pearse on The Girl in the Letter

'I was gripped by The Girl in the Letter. The story is compelling, twisty, heart-wrenching and thought-provoking. A novel that stays with you' Sophie Kinsella

Perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Kathryn Hughes, this gripping novel of long-buried secrets will stay with you for ever.

A heartbreaking letter. A girl locked away. A mystery to be solved.

1956. When Ivy Jenkins falls pregnant she is sent in disgrace to St Margaret's, a dark, brooding house for unmarried mothers. Her baby is adopted against her will. Ivy will never leave.

Present day. Samantha Harper is a journalist desperate for a break. When she stumbles on a letter from the past, the contents shock and move her. The letter is from a young mother, begging to be rescued from St Margaret's. Before it is too late.
Sam is pulled into the tragic story and discovers a spate of unexplained deaths surrounding the woman and her child. With St Margaret's set for demolition, Sam has only hours to piece together a sixty-year-old mystery before the truth, which lies disturbingly close to home, is lost for ever...

Read her letter. Remember her story...

'What a heartfelt emotional story, made even more so because it's based on a shocking truth. I raced through it, involved, moved and gripped' Fanny Blake

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472255105
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 270 g
Dimensions: 198 x 138 x 27 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A great book, truly hard to put down. Fast-paced, brilliantly plotted and desperately sad at times - all hallmarks of a bestseller -- Lesley Pearse
Compelling, twisty, heart-wrenching and thought-provoking. A novel that stays with you -- Sophie Kinsella
What a heartfelt emotional story, made even more so because it's based on a shocking truth. I raced through it, involved, moved and gripped * Fanny Blake *

You may also be interested in...

The Empty Throne
Added to basket
Wars of the Roses: Trinity
Added to basket
London
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
The Paying Guests
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Sisters Brothers
Added to basket
Ross Poldark
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Name Of The Rose
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Remarkable Creatures
Added to basket
The White Queen
Added to basket
The King's Curse
Added to basket
Bring up the Bodies
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Pale Horseman
Added to basket
The Constant Princess
Added to basket
Written in My Own Heart's Blood
Added to basket
Heresy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Master and Commander
Added to basket

“Mind-blowing - brilliant”

This book is mind-blowing, in my opinion. It is heart rending in so many ways. The Roman Catholic church was still all powerful to their parishoners in the 1950s and they used their power to humiliate - and worse -... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“Terrors of Unmarried Pregnant girls in the 1950's”

This is a heartbreaking story set in the 1950's and is centred around St. Margaret's, a home for unmarried pregnant girls. Although this is a fictional story, establishments like this really existed and the... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

“A mystery set in true life tales of mother and baby homes of the 1950's”

A fast paced ‘mystery’ set around the heartbreaking background story of Mother and Baby homes of the 1950/60’s.

The two main characters Ivy, who becomes pregnant at a young age in the 1950’s and Samantha, a... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.