Your Waterstones card is changing, introducing...
TELL ME MORE
The Girl From Everywhere - The Girl From Everywhere (Paperback)
  • The Girl From Everywhere - The Girl From Everywhere (Paperback)
zoom

The Girl From Everywhere - The Girl From Everywhere (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 368 Pages / Published: 02/03/2017
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
'One of my absolute favourite reads of 2016, Heidi Heilig's debut captured me completely from the first page. A lushly written time-traveling adventure with an imaginative magical twist, real heart and real heartbreak, and a major dash of swoon.' - Alwyn Hamilton, author of Rebel of the Sands It was the kind of August day that hinted at monsoons, and the year was 1774, though not for very much longer. Sixteen-year-old Nix Song is a time-traveller. She, her father and their crew of time refugees travel the world aboard The Temptation, a glorious pirate ship stuffed with treasures both typical and mythical. Old maps allow Nix and her father to navigate not just to distant lands, but distant times - although a map will only take you somewhere once. And Nix's father is only interested in one time, and one place: Honolulu 1868. A time before Nix was born, and her mother was alive. Something that puts Nix's existence rather dangerously in question . . . Nix has grown used to her father's obsession, but only because she's convinced it can't work. But then a map falls into her father's lap that changes everything. And when Nix refuses to help, her father threatens to maroon Kashmir, her only friend (and perhaps, only love) in a time where Nix will never be able to find him. And if Nix has learned one thing, it's that losing the person you love is a torment that no one can withstand. Nix must work out what she wants, who she is, and where she really belongs before time runs out on her forever.

Publisher: Hot Key Books
ISBN: 9781471406652
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 293 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 22 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
[A] skillful mashup of science fiction and eclectic mythology, enlivened by vivid sensory detail and moments of emotional and philosophical depth that briefly resonate before dissolving into the next swashbuckling adventure. A nonstop time-travel romp. * Kirkus *
This must-have fantasy adventure will appeal to fans of Rick Riordan's Kane Chronicles and Amie Kaufman and Meagan Spooner's Starbound trilogy * School Library Journal *
One of my absolute favourite reads of 2016, Heidi Heilig's debut captured me completely from the first page. A lushly written time-traveling adventure with an imaginative magical twist, real heart and real heartbreak, and a major dash of swoon -- Alwyn Hamilton, author of Rebel of the Sands
This beautifully written story full of love, magic, mystery and heartbreak will captivate the heart and mind of any reader * Inis Reading Guide *
The Girl from Everywhere is a stand-out in a year that loved a good time-travel story. (And side note: could I be more obsessed with the cover?) (...) Heidi Heilig's twist of including mythical and legendary places to her lush time-traveling family adventure story is a game-changer, allowing for a collision of ancient stories and real-life history in a way that separates the novel from the rest * Bustle.com *

You may also be interested in...

Goodnight Mister Tom
Added to basket
A Darkest Minds Novel: Never Fade
Added to basket
All These Beautiful Strangers
Added to basket
A Darkest Minds Novel: The Darkest Minds
Added to basket
Are We All Lemmings and Snowflakes?
Added to basket
Moonrise
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
It Only Happens in the Movies
Added to basket
Catwoman: Soulstealer (DC Icons series)
Added to basket
The Maze Runner
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Darkest Legacy
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Eve of Man
Added to basket
£12.99   £8.99
Hardback
One Of Us Is Lying
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.49
Paperback
Everything, Everything
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Gone
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda
Added to basket
Thirteen Reasons Why
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“A highly imaginative and intricately written swashbuckling time travel YA”

Nix Song is sixteen years old and she's a time traveller. She lives aboard the ship the Temptation with her father Slate, who is the captain, and an assorted crew of people they've picked up on their... More

Paperback edition
9th April 2016
Helpful? Upvote 12

“Totally absorbing”

One of my favourite fantasies of the year!

Paperback edition
14th September 2017
Helpful? Upvote 2

“Part pirate-heist romp, part family story, and part political examination of history”

In The Girl From Everywhere, Heidi Heilig introduces readers to a time traveling pirate ship, The Temptation, and its charming crew; made up of four chromatic characters, including two chromatic women (one still... More

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.