The Gilded Ones - Gilded (Paperback)
  • The Gilded Ones - Gilded (Paperback)
zoom

The Gilded Ones - Gilded (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 416 Pages
Published: 04/02/2021
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Set in a West African-inspired Ancient Kingdom under oppressive patriarchal rule, Forna’s breathtaking novel follows sixteen-year-old Deka and her quest to discover her destiny as a near-immortal with magical powers.

Shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize Older Readers Prize 2022

The must-read epic fantasy of 2021, as featured on Cosmo, Buzzfeed, BookRiot and Refinery 29.

In this West African-inspired world, girls are outcasts by blood and warriors by choice, perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone and Black Panther.

Sixteen-year-old Deka lives in Otera, a deeply patriarchal ancient kingdom, where a woman's worth is tied to her purity, and she must bleed to prove it. But when Deka bleeds gold - the colour of impurity, of a demon - she faces a consequence worse than death.

She is saved by a mysterious woman who tells Deka of her true nature: she is an Alaki, a near-immortal with exceptional gifts. The stranger offers her a choice: fight for the Emperor, with others just like her, or be destroyed...

Publisher: Usborne Publishing Ltd
ISBN: 9781474959575
Number of pages: 416
Weight: 310 g
Dimensions: 199 x 138 x 27 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Fans of Children of Blood and Bone and Black Panther are going to adore this one. - Buzzfeed

[A] stormingly good debut - The Observer

Utterly transporting and on a massive scale, this is the new series you've been searching for. - Stylist

The first in a fantasy trilogy with battles, betrayals and a search for identity. - S Magazine

Namina Forna could be the Toni Morrison of YA Fantasy. - Refinery 29

This is an empowering read that you won't want to put down and that will be enjoyed by teenagers and adults alike. - Press Association

This story has real credibility and depth. To be enjoyed by teenagers and adults alike. - Irish Examiner

Namina has been called the Toni Morrison of YA Fantasy so this is worth reading. - The Irish News

You may also be interested in...

If He Had Been with Me
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Powerful
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
If Only I Had Told Her
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Powerless
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
One of Us is Back
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Dark Stands Still
Added to basket
Lightlark
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Thieves' Gambit
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Shatter Me
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Girl in Pieces
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Cruel Prince (The Folk of the Air)
Added to basket
One Of Us Is Lying
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Throne of Glass
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Hunger Games
Added to basket
The Inheritance Games
Added to basket
Five Survive
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Stolen Heir
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Amazing, humbling and an awakening.”

Thank you to Netgalley and Usborne Publishing for my digital copy of this fantastic book!

Namina Forna weaves a world that parallels our own in so many ways but also one that is layered in magic.

From the... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 39

“Super enjoyable and a not so subtle dig at the patriarchy!”

A super enjoyable read! I loved the way the story built and built and built. However, there were moments where I felt the writing was perhaps a little slow or predictable? It is a YA so I tend to expect that with at... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 34

“Amazing Feminist Fantasy”

Wow, this book grabbed my attention from page one! The world-building truly is (*chefs kiss*) stunning and brilliantly done.

This story was a lot gorier and more harrowing than I expected going into it but I kind of... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 31

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: