The Gilded Ones - Gilded (Paperback)
  • The Gilded Ones - Gilded (Paperback)
zoom

The Gilded Ones - Gilded (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99 £7.49
Paperback 416 Pages / Published: 04/02/2021
  • Save £1.50
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

Set in a West African-inspired Ancient Kingdom under oppressive patriarchal rule, Forna’s breathtaking novel follows sixteen-year-old Deka and her quest to discover her destiny as a near-immortal with magical powers.

The must-read epic fantasy of 2021, as featured on Cosmo, Buzzfeed, BookRiot and Refinery 29.

In this West African-inspired world, girls are outcasts by blood and warriors by choice, perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone and Black Panther.

Sixteen-year-old Deka lives in Otera, a deeply patriarchal ancient kingdom, where a woman's worth is tied to her purity, and she must bleed to prove it. But when Deka bleeds gold - the colour of impurity, of a demon - she faces a consequence worse than death.

She is saved by a mysterious woman who tells Deka of her true nature: she is an Alaki, a near-immortal with exceptional gifts. The stranger offers her a choice: fight for the Emperor, with others just like her, or be destroyed...

Publisher: Usborne Publishing Ltd
ISBN: 9781474959575
Number of pages: 416
Dimensions: 198 x 130 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Fans of Children of Blood and Bone and Black Panther are going to adore this one. * Buzzfeed *
[A] stormingly good debut * The Observer *
Utterly transporting and on a massive scale, this is the new series you've been searching for. * Stylist *
The first in a fantasy trilogy with battles, betrayals and a search for identity. * S Magazine *
Namina Forna could be the Toni Morrison of YA Fantasy. * Refinery 29 *
This is an empowering read that you won't want to put down and that will be enjoyed by teenagers and adults alike. * Press Association *
This story has real credibility and depth. To be enjoyed by teenagers and adults alike. * Irish Examiner *
Namina has been called the Toni Morrison of YA Fantasy so this is worth reading. * The Irish News *

You may also be interested in...

The Girl of Ink & Stars
Added to basket
Lore
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
King of Scars
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Twilight
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Serpent & Dove
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Witches Steeped in Gold
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Heartless
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Redemptor
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Aurelia Curse
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Eragon
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Six of Crows
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Blood & Honey
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows Book 2)
Added to basket

“Amazing, humbling and an awakening.”

Thank you to Netgalley and Usborne Publishing for my digital copy of this fantastic book!

Namina Forna weaves a world that parallels our own in so many ways but also one that is layered in magic.

From the... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 23

“Amazing Feminist Fantasy”

Wow, this book grabbed my attention from page one! The world-building truly is (*chefs kiss*) stunning and brilliantly done.

This story was a lot gorier and more harrowing than I expected going into it but I kind of... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 22

“Super enjoyable and a not so subtle dig at the patriarchy!”

A super enjoyable read! I loved the way the story built and built and built. However, there were moments where I felt the writing was perhaps a little slow or predictable? It is a YA so I tend to expect that with at... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 21

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.