The Gilded Ones - Gilded (Paperback)
  • The Gilded Ones - Gilded (Paperback)
zoom

The Gilded Ones - Gilded (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 416 Pages
Published: 04/02/2021
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 48 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Set in a West African-inspired Ancient Kingdom under oppressive patriarchal rule, Forna’s breathtaking novel follows sixteen-year-old Deka and her quest to discover her destiny as a near-immortal with magical powers.

Shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize Older Readers Prize 2022

The must-read epic fantasy of 2021, as featured on Cosmo, Buzzfeed, BookRiot and Refinery 29.

In this West African-inspired world, girls are outcasts by blood and warriors by choice, perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone and Black Panther.

Sixteen-year-old Deka lives in Otera, a deeply patriarchal ancient kingdom, where a woman's worth is tied to her purity, and she must bleed to prove it. But when Deka bleeds gold - the colour of impurity, of a demon - she faces a consequence worse than death.

She is saved by a mysterious woman who tells Deka of her true nature: she is an Alaki, a near-immortal with exceptional gifts. The stranger offers her a choice: fight for the Emperor, with others just like her, or be destroyed...

Publisher: Usborne Publishing Ltd
ISBN: 9781474959575
Number of pages: 416
Weight: 310 g
Dimensions: 199 x 138 x 27 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Fans of Children of Blood and Bone and Black Panther are going to adore this one' - Buzzfeed

'[A] stormingly good debut' - The Observer

'Utterly transporting and on a massive scale, this is the new series you've been searching for' - Stylist

'The first in a fantasy trilogy with battles, betrayals and a search for identity' - S Magazine

'Namina Forna could be the Toni Morrison of YA Fantasy' - Refinery 29

'This is an empowering read that you won't want to put down and that will be enjoyed by teenagers and adults alike' - Press Association

'This story has real credibility and depth. To be enjoyed by teenagers and adults alike' - Irish Examiner

'Namina has been called the Toni Morrison of YA Fantasy so this is worth reading' - The Irish News

You may also be interested in...

Heartstopper Volume 1
Added to basket
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Girl in Pieces
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Inheritance Games
Added to basket
The Heartstopper Yearbook
Added to basket
£14.99   £7.49
Hardback
Shatter Me
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
One Of Us Is Lying
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
They Both Die at the End
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Good Girl, Bad Blood
Added to basket
Nothing More to Tell
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Cruel Prince (The Folk of the Air)
Added to basket
The First to Die at the End
Added to basket
£12.99   £6.49
Hardback
Win Lose Kill Die
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The School for Good and Evil
Added to basket
Heartstopper Volume 2
Added to basket
Nick and Charlie
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Five Survive
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Summer I Turned Pretty
Added to basket

“Amazing, humbling and an awakening.”

Thank you to Netgalley and Usborne Publishing for my digital copy of this fantastic book!

Namina Forna weaves a world that parallels our own in so many ways but also one that is layered in magic.

From the... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 34

“Super enjoyable and a not so subtle dig at the patriarchy!”

A super enjoyable read! I loved the way the story built and built and built. However, there were moments where I felt the writing was perhaps a little slow or predictable? It is a YA so I tend to expect that with at... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 32

“Amazing Feminist Fantasy”

Wow, this book grabbed my attention from page one! The world-building truly is (*chefs kiss*) stunning and brilliantly done.

This story was a lot gorier and more harrowing than I expected going into it but I kind of... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 29

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.