The Gifts (Hardback)
  • The Gifts (Hardback)
zoom

The Gifts (Hardback)

(author)
£14.99
Hardback 400 Pages / Published: 17/02/2022
  • Coming soon

Awaiting publication

  • This item has been added to your basket
The luminous debut adult novel from the Waterstones Prize Winner, perfect for fans of The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock and The Doll Factory In an age defined by men, it will take something extraordinary to show four women who they truly are . . . October 1840. A young woman staggers alone through a forest in Shropshire as a huge pair of impossible wings rip themselves from her shoulders. Meanwhile, when rumours of a 'fallen angel' cause a frenzy across London, a surgeon desperate for fame and fortune finds himself in the grips of a dangerous obsession, one that will place the women he seeks in the most terrible danger . . . THE GIFTS is the astonishing debut adult novel from the lauded author of BEARMOUTH. A gripping and ambitious book told through five different perspectives and set against the luminous backdrop of nineteenth century London, it explores science, nature and religion, enlightenment, the role of women in society and the dark danger of ambition. 'Haunting, thrilling, wonderful. I loved it' Stacey Halls 'Fierce and touching. A beautiful, riveting novel suffused with luminous magic against the grimy backdrop of 19th century London. Wild female power clashes with dark scientific ambition in this compelling story' Jenny Saint, Sunday Times bestselling author of Ariadne 'From the moment the Thames gave up its astonishing secret, I was transfixed by this fantastical tale of winged women and their quest for liberation in the face of science turned into dark obsession. A deliciously intriguing mix of moral bankruptcy and resilience, with a captivating female friendship at its heart' Sonia Velton, author of Blackberry & Wild Rose 'An extraordinary novel - resonant, propulsive and utterly absorbing. Once I'd picked it up, I truly couldn't put it down - I didn't want to leave Liz Hyder's vividly realised world, and I cannot wait to follow wherever she takes us next' Katie Lowe, author of The Furies 'I devoured The Gifts, eager to find out the fate of its wonderfully drawn characters. A wonderful, atmospheric book that immersed me in the dirty streets of nineteenth century London and swept me away to the hills of Shropshire. A real gem' Louise Hare, author of This Lovely City 'Ambitious and darkly brilliant . . . provocative, tender, claustrophobic and epic. It blew my mind' Kiran Millwood Hargrave on Bearmouth 'Extraordinary... compelling and original' Sunday Times, Book of the Year on Bearmouth 'Devastating, genre breaking... I can't wait to see what Hyder does next, I will go wherever she takes me' Daisy Johnson on Bearmouth 'Hand-in-mouth gripping... Hyder will become a household name' The Times on Bearmouth

Publisher: Bonnier Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781786580733
Number of pages: 400
Dimensions: 216 x 135 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Haunting, thrilling, wonderful. I loved it. * Stacey Halls *
Fierce and touching... a beautiful, riveting novel suffused with luminous magic against the grimy backdrop of 19th century London. Wild female power clashes with dark scientific ambition in this compelling story. * Jennifer Saint, Sunday Times bestselling author of Ariadne *
An extraordinary weaving together of the lives of four women. One is an artist who loves the names of colours, another a botanist who loves the shapes of plants. One of its fascinations is the blend of myth and magic, city and country, urban and wild. There are threads that spin a yarn and make this book a page turning success. For any who loved The Essex Serpent, this is one that will sing to your soul. For myself, I found it to be a dream of a book, one that I could lose myself in and escape from these curious times we live in. There's a darkness to it also, but also a fierce light, passion. It is utterly absorbing. * Jackie Morris, The Lost Words *
I devoured The Gifts, eager to find out the fate of its wonderfully drawn characters. A wonderful, atmospheric book that immersed me in the dirty streets of nineteenth century London and swept me away to the hills of Shropshire. A real gem. * Louise Hare, author of This Lovely City *
From the moment the Thames gave up its astonishing secret, I was transfixed by this fantastical tale of winged women and their quest for liberation in the face of science turned into dark obsession. A deliciously intriguing mix of moral bankruptcy and resilience, with a captivating female friendship at its heart. * Sonia Velton, author of Blackberry and Wild Rose *
An extraordinary novel-resonant, propulsive, and utterly absorbing. Once I'd picked it up, I truly couldn't put it down-I didn't want to leave Liz Hyder's vividly realised world, and I cannot wait to follow wherever she takes us next. * Katie Lowe, author of The Furies *
I loved The Gifts. Brilliant storytelling, magical realism, historical fiction that discusses feminism, religion, art and motherhood. Shades of Angela Carter and fans of Elizabeth MacNeal will enjoy it too. * Kate Sawyer, author of The Stranding *

You may also be interested in...

The Emperor's Babe
Added to basket
The White Queen
Added to basket
The Lady of the Rivers
Added to basket
The King's Curse
Added to basket
The Name of the Rose
Added to basket
Girl With a Pearl Earring
Added to basket
The Other Boleyn Girl
Added to basket
Shogun
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
The Sisters Brothers
Added to basket
The Constant Princess
Added to basket
The Grand Sophy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The White Princess
Added to basket
Tipping The Velvet
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Dissolution
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Pale Horseman
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.