The Gift - The Five Books of Pellinor (Paperback)
  • The Gift - The Five Books of Pellinor (Paperback)
zoom

The Gift - The Five Books of Pellinor (Paperback)

(author)
7 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 512 Pages / Published: 07/07/2016
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

Email me when available

Stay one step ahead and let us notify you when this item is next available to order

Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Alison Croggon's highly acclaimed fantasy The Gift is a captivating and lyrical story that takes readers deep into the world of the Books of Pellinor, "a great series of fantasy novels that will delight fans of Garth Nix." (The Bookseller)

Perfect for readers of The Lord of the Rings, Ursula le Guin and Trudi Canavan, Alison Croggon's bestselling high fantasy novel is the first part of Maerad's compelling saga, as she begins to learn how to use her Gift to battle the dark forces that wish to destroy her.

Maerad is a slave in a desperate and unforgiving settlement, taken there as a child when her family is destroyed in war. She is unaware that she possesses a powerful Gift, a Gift that marks her as a member of the School of Pellinor. It is only when she is discovered by Cadvan, one of the great Bards of Lirigon, that her true heritage and extraordinary destiny unfolds. Now she and her teacher, Cadvan, must survive a punishing and uncertain journey through a time and place where the dark forces they battle with stem from the deepest recesses of other-worldly terror.

Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781406369885
Number of pages: 512
Weight: 351 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 30 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
What makes this different is the enormous length given to detailed description, often of place (and some clever mock academic introduction and notes) which leaves you with the most thorough of backgrounds. * Books For Keeps *
This is a tale with passion, inspiring characters, an enchanting protagonist and vividly described landscapes. The Gift is a powerful story and marks the beginning of a great series of fantasy novels that will delight fans of Gareth Nix and G P Taylor. * The Bookseller *
The plot is intriguing and vividly described and the story enthralls. * Newcastle Upon Tyne Evening Chronicle *

You may also be interested in...

Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows Book 2)
Added to basket
Lore
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Serpent & Dove
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
You & Me at the End of the World
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Heartless
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Girl of Ink & Stars
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
A Curse So Dark and Lonely
Added to basket
Gods & Monsters
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Hardback
Redemptor
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Miss Peregrine's Home For Peculiar Children
Added to basket
Coraline
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Twilight
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Queen of Nothing (The Folk of the Air #3)
Added to basket
Six of Crows
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Court of Frost and Starlight
Added to basket
The Gilded Ones
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“a must read”

I bought it literally by accident. I meant to get the book next to it and i was running late. But my disappointment soon gave way, finding myself drawen into Mearad's word. It is brilliant, took me 3 days to... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 63

“The Gift”

Fantastic! best book out of the three released so far, it's enchanting and has you completely hooked with intrigue all the way long, packed with action, deception, trust and danger this book will leave you... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 39

“The ultimate remedy for the jaded fantasist.”

The opening book of Pellinor, The Gift opens with Maerad. A slave in an isolated backwater settlement, despised and feared even by her fellow slaves - who befriends a stranger who will spring her from a life where she... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 37

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.