The Gift - The Five Books of Pellinor (Paperback)
  • The Gift - The Five Books of Pellinor (Paperback)
zoom

The Gift - The Five Books of Pellinor (Paperback)

(author)
7 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 512 Pages / Published: 07/07/2016
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Alison Croggon's highly acclaimed fantasy The Gift is a captivating and lyrical story that takes readers deep into the world of the Books of Pellinor, "a great series of fantasy novels that will delight fans of Garth Nix." (The Bookseller) Perfect for readers of The Lord of the Rings, Ursula le Guin and Trudi Canavan, Alison Croggon's bestselling high fantasy novel is the first part of Maerad's compelling saga, as she begins to learn how to use her Gift to battle the dark forces that wish to destroy her. Maerad is a slave in a desperate and unforgiving settlement, taken there as a child when her family is destroyed in war. She is unaware that she possesses a powerful Gift, a Gift that marks her as a member of the School of Pellinor. It is only when she is discovered by Cadvan, one of the great Bards of Lirigon, that her true heritage and extraordinary destiny unfolds. Now she and her teacher, Cadvan, must survive a punishing and uncertain journey through a time and place where the dark forces they battle with stem from the deepest recesses of other-worldly terror.

Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781406369885
Number of pages: 512
Weight: 351 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 30 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
What makes this different is the enormous length given to detailed description, often of place (and some clever mock academic introduction and notes) which leaves you with the most thorough of backgrounds. * Books For Keeps *
This is a tale with passion, inspiring characters, an enchanting protagonist and vividly described landscapes. The Gift is a powerful story and marks the beginning of a great series of fantasy novels that will delight fans of Gareth Nix and G P Taylor. * The Bookseller *
The plot is intriguing and vividly described and the story enthralls. * Newcastle Upon Tyne Evening Chronicle *

You may also be interested in...

Belgariad 2: Queen of Sorcery
Added to basket
Silence
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Clariel
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
His Dark Materials
Added to basket
Witch Child
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Princess Bride
Added to basket
The Calling
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Land
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Northern Lights
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
A Song for Ella Grey
Added to basket
The Shadowmagic Trilogy
Added to basket
£14.99
Mixed media product
The Chronicles of Narnia
Added to basket
The Amulet Of Samarkand
Added to basket

Reviews

View all

“a must read”

I bought it literally by accident. I meant to get the book next to it and i was running late. But my disappointment soon gave way, finding myself drawen into Mearad's word. It is brilliant, took me 3 days to... More

Paperback edition
19th October 2009
Helpful? Upvote 48

“The Gift”

Fantastic! best book out of the three released so far, it's enchanting and has you completely hooked with intrigue all the way long, packed with action, deception, trust and danger this book will leave you... More

Paperback edition
29th May 2008
Helpful? Upvote 21

“The ultimate remedy for the jaded fantasist.”

The opening book of Pellinor, The Gift opens with Maerad. A slave in an isolated backwater settlement, despised and feared even by her fellow slaves - who befriends a stranger who will spring her from a life where she... More

Paperback edition
4th January 2012
Helpful? Upvote 19

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.