The French Photographer (Paperback)
  • The French Photographer (Paperback)
zoom

The French Photographer (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 448 Pages / Published: 28/11/2019
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

From the INTERNATIONALLY BESTSELLING author of The Paris Seamstress comes a story of courage, family and forgiveness from New York to war-torn Europe.

Perfect for fans of Kate Furnivall, Lucinda Riley, Kate Morton and Gill Paul

'Divine'
GILL PAUL, bestselling author of The Secret Wife

'An emotional and sweeping tale'
CHANEL CLEETON, bestselling author of Next Year in Havana

'A splendid, breathtaking novel, full of mystery and passion...a must read!'
JEANNE MACKIN, author of The Last Collection

********

1942
When Jessica May's successful modelling career is abruptly cut short, Vogue send her to war-torn Paris to cover the conflict as a correspondent. She's courageous and a fast-learner, but of course the military men make her life as difficult as possible.

Three friendships change that: journalist Martha Gellhorn encourages Jess to bend the rules; paratrooper Dan Hallworth shows her how to take pictures and write stories that matter; and a little girl, Victorine, who shows Jess how to open hear heart.

2005
Australian curator D'Arcy Hallworth arrives at a beautiful French chateau to manage a famous collection of photographs. What begins as just another job becomes far more disquieting as D'Arcy uncovers the true identity of the mysterious French photographer...

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780751573091
Number of pages: 448
Weight: 300 g
Dimensions: 196 x 126 x 36 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Lester has often been compared to author Kate Morton but with this novel, Lester's fourth, she has come into her own... What Lester does brilliantly is mingle fiction with fact * The Daily Telegraph (Sydney) *
An emotional and sweeping tale set against the backdrop of World War II...Rich detail, compelling characters, and an interwoven dual timeline make this an engrossing read for historical fiction fans -- Chanel Cleeton * USA Today bestselling author of Next Year in Havana *
[A] splendid, breathtaking novel, full of mystery and passion...a must read! -- Jeanne Mackin * author of The Last Collection *
An intensely powerful, beautiful, emotional and moving story that was so hard to put down... I don't think I am going to forget this story for a long time to come' * Historical Romance Reviews *
Historical fiction at its best * Who Weekly (Australia) *
A fascinating and impeccably researched evocation of the New York fashion world during World War Two... and some divine-sounding dresses! -- Gill Paul * on The Paris Seamstress *

A fantastically engrossing story. I loved it.

-- Kelly Rimmer * on The Paris Seamstress *
This rich, memorable novel unfolds beautifully from start to finish. -- Publishers Weekly * on The Paris Seamstress *
Intrigue, heartbreak and, ultimately not one, but two heart stopping love stories. I cannot tell you how much I loved this book and I cannot recommend it enough. -- Rachel Burton * on The Paris Seamstress *
A gorgeously rich and romantic novel about young women finding their way in the world. -- Kate Forsyth * on The Paris Seamstress *
A beautiful story in every way. -- The Lady * on The Paris Seamstress *
Mystery and romance are expertly combined into one emotionally charged, unforgettable story. * Publishers Weekly *
It's one of those wonderful books that sweeps you along, whisking you away from the real world, immersing you in the love, drama and mysteries within its pages. Epic, heart-breaking, it's a book that will stay with me for a very long time. I loved it. -- Jenny Ashcroft

Jessica May is an extraordinary heroine . . . Natasha Lester's research goes deep, based on the life stories of such iconic figures as Lee Miller and Martha Gellhorn. It's a perfect novel for those who like their heroines gritty, witty, and capable of anything.

You may also be interested in...

Flying Angels
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
Afterlives
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Doll Factory
Added to basket
Winter Wedding
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Nightingale
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Viscount Who Loved Me
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Bridgerton: The Duke and I (Bridgertons Book 1)
Added to basket
The Wolf Den
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
We'll Meet Again
Added to basket
£18.99   £15.99
Hardback
A Marvellous Light
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
The Essex Serpent
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Last Night at the Telegraph Club
Added to basket
The Moon Sister
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Winter Rose
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Missing Sister
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.