The Four Winds (Paperback)
  • The Four Winds (Paperback)
zoom

The Four Winds (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 464 Pages
Published: 17/02/2022
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Perfect reading for fans of Where the Crawdads Sing, Hannah’s beautifully wrought dustbowl drama traces the conflicts and challenges faced by a woman and her family journeying to California in search of a better life.

The Four Winds is a deeply moving, powerful story about the strength and resilience of women and the bond between mother and daughter, by the multi-million copy number one bestselling author of The Nightingale, Kristin Hannah.

She will discover the best of herself in the worst of times ...

Texas, 1934. Elsa Martinelli had finally found the life she'd yearned for. A family, a home and a livelihood on a farm on the Great Plains. But when drought threatens all she and her community hold dear, Elsa's world is shattered to the winds.

Fearful of the future, when Elsa wakes to find her husband has fled, she is forced to make the most agonizing decision of her life. Fight for the land she loves or take her beloved children, Loreda and Ant, west to California in search of a better life. Will it be the land of milk and honey? Or will their experience challenge every ounce of strength they possess?

From the overriding love of a mother for her child, the value of female friendship and the ability to love again - against all odds, Elsa's incredible journey is a story of survival, hope and what we do for the ones we love.

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 9781529054583
Number of pages: 464
Weight: 315 g
Dimensions: 197 x 131 x 30 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Wow. I have been left with a bursting heart . . . a story of love, family, unbreakable bonds, bravery and hope. I loved this book so much! - Christy Lefteri, bestselling author of The Beekeeper of Aleppo

Powerful and compelling - Delia Owens, author of Where the Crawdads Sing

A powerful, stirring, wind-swept tale set in Depression-era America that makes your heart break and soar in equal measure. - Matt Haig, author of Reasons to Stay Alive and The Humans

I didn’t just love this book, I became obsessed with it - Karen Swan on The Great Alone

Epic . . . By the end, I was surrounded by snow-drifts of tissues damp with my tears - Washington Post on The Great Alone

Great characters, great plots, great emotions: who could ask for more in a novel? - Isabel Allende on The Nightingale

Movingly written and plotted with the skill of Greek tragedy. You’ll keep turning the pages until the last racking sob - Daily Mail on The Nightingale

A rich, compelling novel of love, sacrifice and survival, as epic as the Alaskan landscape it so vividly describes - Kate Morton on The Great Alone

A real page-turning read. Best book I’ve read all year - Martina Cole 

You may also be interested in...

Tom Lake
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Bee Sting
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Butter
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
The Guest
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Last Devil To Die
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Yellowface
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Serpent and the Wings of Night
Added to basket
A Court of Thorns and Roses
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Fourth Wing
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Secret
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow
Added to basket
Homecoming
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Dune
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
When the Moon Hatched
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
You Like It Darker
Added to basket
£25.00   £20.00
Hardback
Long Island
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Prophet Song
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
One Day
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Barnsey's Books

“An Outstanding Read”

What a fantastic read! I truly feel as though I've been on an epic journey with an incredibly resilient woman, Elsa, and her children. Never before have I experienced such a powerful surge of emotion. It was... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 77

“The Great Depression”

Don’t worry about dying - worry about not living.

The four winds is a heart-wrecking and gravely moving story of an indomitable woman Elsa, whose life, filled with hardships and grief, exceptionally shows resilience... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 70

“Heartbreaking Dust Bowl epic that feels relevant to these times”

The year is 1921, and bookworm Elsa feels like an outsider in her small town. After getting pregnant, she’s forced to marry a virtual stranger and move onto his family’s farm.

The Four Winds is an epic read that... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 65

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: