The Four Winds (Hardback)
  • The Four Winds (Hardback)
zoom

The Four Winds (Hardback)

(author)
£16.99
Hardback 464 Pages / Published: 02/02/2021
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

Perfect reading for fans of Where the Crawdads Sing, Hannah’s beautifully wrought dustbowl drama traces the conflicts and challenges faced by a woman and her family journeying to California in search of a better life.  

The Four Winds is a deeply moving, powerful story about the strength and resilience of women and the bond between mother and daughter, by the multi-million copy number one bestselling author of The Nightingale, Kristin Hannah.

She will discover the best of herself in the worst of times ...

Texas, 1934. Elsa Martinelli had finally found the life she'd yearned for. A family, a home and a livelihood on a farm on the Great Plains. But when drought threatens all she and her community hold dear, Elsa's world is shattered to the winds.

Fearful of the future, when Elsa wakes to find her husband has fled, she is forced to make the most agonizing decision of her life. Fight for the land she loves or take her beloved children, Loreda and Ant, west to California in search of a better life. Will it be the land of milk and honey? Or will their experience challenge every ounce of strength they possess?

From the overriding love of a mother for her child, the value of female friendship and the ability to love again - against all odds, Elsa's incredible journey is a story of survival, hope and what we do for the ones we love.

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 9781529054569
Number of pages: 464
Weight: 690 g
Dimensions: 245 x 163 x 46 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Powerful and compelling' - Delia Owens, author of Where The Crawdads Sing

'The Four Winds seems eerily prescient in 2021 ... Its message is galvanizing and hopeful' - The New York Times

You may also be interested in...

Master and Commander
Added to basket
Heresy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Silver Pigs
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Grand Sophy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Pale Horseman
Added to basket
The Lady of the Rivers
Added to basket
Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Emperor's Babe
Added to basket
The Name of the Rose
Added to basket
Cinderella Sister
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
American Pastoral
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Paying Guests
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Constant Princess
Added to basket
Girl With a Pearl Earring
Added to basket
The Red Queen
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The White Queen
Added to basket
Barnsey's Books

“An Outstanding Read”

What a fantastic read! I truly feel as though I've been on an epic journey with an incredibly resilient woman, Elsa, and her children. Never before have I experienced such a powerful surge of emotion. It was... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 64

“The Great Depression”

Don’t worry about dying - worry about not living.

The four winds is a heart-wrecking and gravely moving story of an indomitable woman Elsa, whose life, filled with hardships and grief, exceptionally shows resilience... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 55

“Heartbreaking Dust Bowl epic that feels relevant to these times”

The year is 1921, and bookworm Elsa feels like an outsider in her small town. After getting pregnant, she’s forced to marry a virtual stranger and move onto his family’s farm.

The Four Winds is an epic read that... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 51

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.