The Forgotten Village (Paperback)
  • The Forgotten Village (Paperback)
zoom

The Forgotten Village (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 400 Pages
Published: 04/04/2019
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

‘I would give this book ten stars if I could. I read it within two days and just could not put it down… A real page turner… Heart-wrenching and just fabulous. I can usually guess the ending of most books, but not this one’ Goodreads review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

1943: The world is at war, and the villagers of Tyneham are being asked to make one more sacrifice: to give their homes over to the British army. But on the eve of their departure, a terrible act will cause three of them to disappear forever.

2018: Melissa had hoped a break on the coast of Dorset would rekindle her stagnant relationship, but despite the idyllic scenery, it’s pushing her and Liam to the brink. When Melissa discovers a strange photograph of a woman who once lived in the forgotten local village of Tyneham, she becomes determined to find out more about her story.

But Tyneham hides a terrible secret, and Melissa’s search for the truth will change her life in ways she never imagined possible…

An absolutely gripping and heartbreaking tale of the legacy of courage and sacrifice in wartime. Perfect for fans of Fiona Valpy, Dinah Jefferies and Kate Quinn.

Readers love The Forgotten Village:

‘Wow… I was gripped and sitting on the edge of my seat with every chapter, right to the very end… I literally could not turn the pages fast enough’ Goodreads review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘I ended up reading this far too late into the night… Wonderful’ Goodreads review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Amazing novel, which I read completely in an afternoon and evening, I simply couldn't put it down… Weaves its magic over the reader from the first paragraph… Incredible’ Goodreads review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘OMG what a wonderful, wonderful book… Brilliant’ Goodreads review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘FANTASTIC… Has you sitting on the edge till the last page… Deserves more stars than I can give’ Goodreads review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Absolutely brilliant!… Captivating… A real page turner’ Goodreads review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘I couldn't turn the pages fast enough!… Fabulous’ Goodreads review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

‘Gripping… I couldn’t put it down… A great story, kept me going page after page’ Goodreads review ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780008321857
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 260 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 23 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'I was so absorbed that I read it in a single day' Kate Riordan, author of The Girl in the Photograph ‘A highly captivating, dramatic and emotional read, I literally could not turn the pages fast enough’ Mixing Reality with Fiction ‘Utterly brilliant… a fabulous work of intrigue that keeps you captivated ‘til the very last page. Worth more stars than I can give’ Reader review ‘Compelling, rich in detail and vividly told… Perfect for readers of Rachel Hore and Kate Morton’ Nikola Scott, author of My Mother’s Shadow ‘An unforgettable and emotional read, The Forgotten Village had me gripped from the beginning… a beautifully written highly captivating dual timeline story that is so easy to be swept up in’ Stina the Bookaholic ‘A fantastic book… the characters are engaging and heartwarming and honest, the scenery was beautiful and the story heart-wrenching and wonderful all at the same time’ Reader review ‘This is a perfect debut from a talented new author’ Reader review ‘An intriguing mystery that will keep you wanting to read more’ Gill Paul, bestselling author of The Lost Daughter ‘A gripping tale of secrets and love… I loved it’ Liz Fenwick, author of The Cornish House ‘I was utterly sucked in and swept away by the story, the vivid scenery, the characters, the secrets… I can't wait to read whatever Lorna writes next!’ Jenny Ashcroft, author of Island in the East ‘An extremely well-written story, plotted perfectly to keep the reader guessing . . . I loved it’ Nudge Books

You may also be interested in...

The Guest
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Bee Sting
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Babel
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
You Like It Darker
Added to basket
£25.00   £12.50
Hardback
Someone Else’s Shoes
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Housemaid
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Close to Home
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Yellowface
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Tom Lake
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Housekeepers
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow
Added to basket
Kairos
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Happy Place
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Prophet Song
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
A Little Life
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback

“Not a great read”

A bought this book thinking it would be interesting reading as I live in Dorset. However it is a complete load of waffle, a predictable story line with lots of sickly phrases Would not recommend it to anyone.

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 16

“Worth a read!”

Melissa had hoped a holiday in Dorset with her boyfriend Liam might cheer up their relationship. Instead she finds herself twiddling her thumbs whilst Liam goes off surfing! In an attempt to find something interesting... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 15

“The Forgotten Village”

What a brilliant book! A fast-paced mystery. Well written. I couldn't put this down and did not see the twist coming.

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: