Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
The Forgotten Seamstress (Paperback)
  • The Forgotten Seamstress (Paperback)
zoom

The Forgotten Seamstress (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 16/01/2014
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

A stunning book set in the Edwardian era about a seamstress working at Buckingham Palace. Full of drama, betrayal and compelling historical detail - The Forgotten Seamstress by Liz Trenow is perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Joanne Harris.

It is 1914 and Maria, a shy teenager, is appointed to Buckingham Palace as a seamstress for the royal family. She is lucky enough to meet the Prince of Wales and is captivated by his glamour and intensity. But theirs is a doomed love affair and soon Maria's life takes a tragic turn. Torn between passion and integrity, she makes a choice that has devastating consequences ...
Can a beautiful quilt, discovered many years later reveal the truth behind what happened to Maria?

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780007480845
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 280 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 24 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Praise for Liz Trenow:

`Extraordinary, fascinating ...deeply rooted in history' Midweek, Radio 4

"Liz Trenow sews together the strands of past and present as delicately as the exquisite stitching on the quilt which forms
the centerpiece of the story."
Lucinda Riley

`An assured debut with a page-turning conclusion.' Daily Express

"An intriguing patchwork of past and present, upstairs
and downstairs, hope and despair." Daisy Goodwin,

`A novel about the human spirit - Liz Trenow paints with able prose a picture of the prejudices that bind us and the love that sets us free ... Splendid.' Pam Jenoff, author of The Kommandant's Girl

`This absorbing novel delves into the secrets of wartime silk production and makes them totally fascinating ... Tremendously atmospheric and convincing in its details, with characters that touch the heart. A book to savour.' Kate Furnivall, author of The Russian Concubine

You may also be interested in...

The Midnight Line
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Lethal White
Added to basket
£20.00   £13.99
Hardback
Normal People
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Into the Water
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Conversations with Friends
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Snap
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Middle England
Added to basket
£16.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Sixteen Trees of the Somme
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
If Cats Disappeared From The World
Added to basket
Past Tense
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Heads You Win
Added to basket
£20.00   £12.00
Hardback
Macbeth
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Blood of Rome (Eagles of the Empire 17)
Added to basket
The Librarian
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Uncommon Type
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

“A Cleverly Layered Story”

This is a cleverly interwoven story, with many layers that has at its centre, a beautifully crafted quilt. Caroline Meadows has come to a crossroads in her life. Her relationship is over, her career is not what she... More

Paperback edition
6th December 2013
Helpful? Upvote 23

“An enjoyable read”

I bought this book to take on holiday as I am a quilter. Liz Trenow is not a quilter but received advice from an expert quilter, who has also generously allowed anyone to download the pattern of the quilt described in... More

Paperback edition
8th July 2014
Helpful? Upvote 15

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.