The First Stone: Dystopian crime noir with a killer twist - Strange Trilogy (Paperback)
  • The First Stone: Dystopian crime noir with a killer twist - Strange Trilogy (Paperback)
zoom

The First Stone: Dystopian crime noir with a killer twist - Strange Trilogy (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 336 Pages / Published: 07/01/2010
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

Email me when available

Stay one step ahead and let us notify you when this item is next available to order

***Perfect for fans of Black Mirror and The Handmaid's Tale***

America has been redeemed.

Felix Strange, veteran of a disastrous war in the Middle East, has returned to his native New York, to find his home nation changed. With a Christian extremist administration in the White House, and the Crusade of Love preparing the Untied States for the Second Coming, a new America is about to be born.

When a high-ranking preacher is found dead, Strange is tasked with bringing his murderer to justice. But what begins as a routine investigation will soon reveal the terrifying ways in which America is lurching towards totalitarianism itself.

The First Stone is the first novel in Elliott Hall's cult hit Strange Trilogy: the eerily prescient series which foresaw the advent of new puritanism, and the rise of the American right.

************

Praise for The First Stone

'The First Stone is a knockout . . . Strange's sardonic wit makes him the perfect guide to his troublingly familiar landscape' - Guardian

'Ingenious and witty' - Daily Telegraph

'Outstanding' - Independent

'Wonderful' - The Times

'An ingenious twist . . . Hall's novel combines pacy storytelling with a disturbing dystopian vision' - Mail on Sunday

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
ISBN: 9781848540729
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 218 g
Dimensions: 197 x 132 x 23 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
'The First Stone is a knockout debut with the confidence to establish its world gradually ... Strange's sardonic wit makes him the perfect guide to his troublingly familiar landscape' * Guardian *
'This debut crime novel is best read under a sweltering sun . . . against a deftly drawn backdrop, it is ingenious and witty' * Daily Telegraph *
'In many ways the most intriguing of new John Murray crop ... Strange is a very sympathetic hero, who does what private eyes do best by stirring the hornets' nest (and these are some pretty whacky hornets) and a fabulous sense of pace is engendered from page one. This is a very impressive first thriller indeed. More are promised; or if they're not, should be' * Shots *
'The prose style is smooth and entertaining ... Hall's world-building remains excellent throughout, creating a truly unsettling future America' * SFX Magazine *
'A sharp and original debut novel' * Tangled Web *
'It's a really good, traditional private eye story in its own right, coupled with a subtle and believable picture of a fundamentalist state' * Morning Star *
'A menacing portrait of an all too plausible future ... a very readable, fast-paced thriller' * The Big Issue *
'An outstanding first novel by a new Canadian author we should hear more of' * Independent *
'A debut novel of considerable quality and great imagination' * reviewing the evidence.com *
'An ingenious twist ... The first in a trilogy, Hall's novel combines pacy storytelling with a disturbing dystopian vision' * Mail on Sunday *

You may also be interested in...

V2
Added to basket
V2
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Marlow Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
American Dirt
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Night She Disappeared
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Still Life
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Judas Horse
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
If It Bleeds
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Time for Mercy
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Guest List
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Song for the Dark Times
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Castaways
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Leave the World Behind
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Daylight
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Missing Pieces
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
People of Abandoned Character
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.