The First Lie (Paperback)
  • The First Lie (Paperback)
zoom

The First Lie (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 384 Pages / Published: 25/06/2020
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

The most gripping psychological thriller you'll read this year - perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, Mark Edwards, Claire McGowan, TM Logan and KL Slater...

'This is a real page turner. I finished it in one go!' - MARTINA COLE

'A.J. Park is a master of suspense who knows how to keep readers hovering tensely over the edges of their seats' - SOPHIE HANNAH

******************

A freak accident. An impossible choice. But what was...

THE FIRST LIE?

When Paul Reeve comes home to find his wife in the bathroom, bloodied and shaking, his survival instinct kicks in.

Alice never meant to kill the intruder. She was at home, alone, and terrified. She doesn't deserve to be blamed for it. Covering up the murder is their only option.

But the crime eats away at the couple and soon they can't trust anyone - even one another...


******************

Praise for THE FIRST LIE:

'A great thriller that will keep you turning the pages well into the night' LUCA VESTE

'Twisty, layered and compelling. A genuine page-turner' MW CRAVEN

'Tightly plotted, well-drawn characters and an edge of your seat page-turner' CATHY KELLY

'Splendildy twisty, it keeps its secrets until the final pages' DAILY MAIL

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781409187431
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 263 g
Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Splendidly twisty, with a compelling inner momentum, it keeps its secrets until the final pages * Daily Mail *
This is a real page turner. I finished it in one go! * Martina Cole *
A.J. Park is a master of suspense who knows how to keep readers hovering tensely over the edges of their seats * Sophie Hannah *
The First Lie has everything I want in a thriller. Riveting, fast-paced, and full of twists and unforgettable characters, and that one rare quality: I absolutely could not put it down. * Chris Mooney *
A great thriller that will keep you turning the pages late into the night. A story that will continuously make you question what you would do in the same position. Great read! * Luca Veste *
Where nothing is as it seems, The First Lie is twisty, layered and compelling. A genuine page-turner, A.J. Park has a big future in British crime fiction * M.W. Craven *
What a fantastic read it was! It's a superbly gripping and brilliantly twisty tale * Simon Lelic *
Fast-moving, gripping, the ground shifting perpetually beneath your feet as you read... I read it in one sitting * Alex Marwood *
What an incredible thriller it is. So many twists and turns that I didn't see coming, and extremely engrossing * Susan Lewis *
Tightly plotted, well-drawn characters and an edge of your seat page-turner * Cathy Kelly *
In this gripping debut, we see how one lie leads to another, leaving the couple to wonder who they can trust - if anyone * Woman's Weekly *
A terrific debut * Alex Gray *
Full of drama and suspense * My Weekly *
A gripping read * The Sun *

You may also be interested in...

20th Victim
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Find Them Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Lockdown
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The President's Daughter
Added to basket
American Dirt
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Private Moscow
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Song for the Dark Times
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Invisible Girl
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Guest List
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Cry Baby
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Freed
Added to basket
£8.99   £4.49
Paperback
The Family Upstairs
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Fair Warning
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Little Disasters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Goodbye Man
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

“A thrilling 4.5 stars. Don’t expect to sleep...”

The First Lie is a thrilling, twisty, edge of your seat read.
One of those books which you’ll lose track of time when reading into the night,

The ending for me was guessed but it didn’t spoil my enjoyment of the... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 10

“It’s no lie...this is excellent!”

The First Lie is a gripping, dark and entertaining debut from A. J. Park, which is equal mixes of psychological thriller, police procedural and emotional drama. It beautifully blends the lines between crime mystery... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 9

“Good idea, but poorly executed”

The book started with such potential -a husband comes home to a traumatised wife and a dead body in the bathroom. Add in the complexity that he has just been appointed a court judge and doesn't want to jeopardise... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 6

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.