The First Lie (Paperback)
  • The First Lie (Paperback)
zoom

The First Lie (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 384 Pages
Published: 25/06/2020
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
The most gripping psychological thriller you'll read this year - perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell, Mark Edwards, Claire McGowan, TM Logan and KL Slater...

'This is a real page turner. I finished it in one go!' MARTINA COLE

'A.J. Park is a master of suspense who knows how to keep readers hovering tensely over the edges of their seats' SOPHIE HANNAH

*****

THEY HID THE BODY. THEY KEPT THE SECRET. BUT WHAT WAS THE FIRST LIE?

When Paul Reeve comes home to find his wife in the bathroom, bloodied and shaking, his survival instinct kicks in.

Alice never meant to kill the intruder. She was at home, alone, and terrified. She doesn't deserve to be blamed for it. Covering up the murder is their only option.

But the crime eats away at the couple and soon they can't trust anyone - even one another...

*****
READER REVIEWS:

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 'Gone Girl-esque but much better in my view'

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 'I was gripped from the get go'

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 'Unexpected twists and turns and a spine chilling conclusion'

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 'A great read, a real fast paced thriller'

⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ 'AMAZING ... Great suspense.'


Praise for THE FIRST LIE:

'A great thriller that will keep you turning the pages well into the night' LUCA VESTE

'Twisty, layered and compelling. A genuine page-turner' MW CRAVEN

'Tightly plotted, well-drawn characters and an edge of your seat page-turner' CATHY KELLY

'Splendidly twisty, it keeps its secrets until the final pages' DAILY MAIL

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781409187431
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 263 g
Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Splendidly twisty, with a compelling inner momentum, it keeps its secrets until the final pages - Daily Mail

This is a real page turner. I finished it in one go! - Martina Cole

A.J. Park is a master of suspense who knows how to keep readers hovering tensely over the edges of their seats - Sophie Hannah

The First Lie has everything I want in a thriller. Riveting, fast-paced, and full of twists and unforgettable characters, and that one rare quality: I absolutely could not put it down. - Chris Mooney

A great thriller that will keep you turning the pages late into the night. A story that will continuously make you question what you would do in the same position. Great read! - Luca Veste

Where nothing is as it seems, The First Lie is twisty, layered and compelling. A genuine page-turner, A.J. Park has a big future in British crime fiction - M.W. Craven

What a fantastic read it was! It's a superbly gripping and brilliantly twisty tale - Simon Lelic

Fast-moving, gripping, the ground shifting perpetually beneath your feet as you read... I read it in one sitting - Alex Marwood

What an incredible thriller it is. So many twists and turns that I didn't see coming, and extremely engrossing - Susan Lewis

Tightly plotted, well-drawn characters and an edge of your seat page-turner - Cathy Kelly

In this gripping debut, we see how one lie leads to another, leaving the couple to wonder who they can trust - if anyone - Woman's Weekly

A terrific debut - Alex Gray

Full of drama and suspense - My Weekly

A gripping read - The Sun

You may also be interested in...

The List
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
I Will Find You
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Ferryman
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Silent Patient
Added to basket
Birnam Wood
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
In Too Deep
Added to basket
£22.00
Hardback
The Housemaid
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Resurrection Walk
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Strange Sally Diamond
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Yellowface
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Butter
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
Think Twice
Added to basket
£22.00   £11.00
Hardback
No One Saw a Thing
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
In The Blink of An Eye
Added to basket
The Raging Storm
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
My Father's House
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Stu Cummins

“It’s no lie...this is excellent!”

The First Lie is a gripping, dark and entertaining debut from A. J. Park, which is equal mixes of psychological thriller, police procedural and emotional drama. It beautifully blends the lines between crime mystery... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 17

“A thrilling 4.5 stars. Don’t expect to sleep...”

The First Lie is a thrilling, twisty, edge of your seat read.
One of those books which you’ll lose track of time when reading into the night,

The ending for me was guessed but it didn’t spoil my enjoyment of the... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 15

“Good idea, but poorly executed”

The book started with such potential -a husband comes home to a traumatised wife and a dead body in the bathroom. Add in the complexity that he has just been appointed a court judge and doesn't want to jeopardise... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 9

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: