The Farm (Hardback)
  • The Farm (Hardback)
zoom

The Farm (Hardback)

(author)
£12.99
Hardback 336 Pages / Published: 07/05/2019
  • 10+ in stock

In stock online

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

This unnerving dystopian thriller, ideal for fans of Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale, asks big questions about how much of ourselves we are prepared to trade in return for a comfortable life. Luxury fertility clinic Golden Oaks houses a group of women in varying stages of pregnancy. But the babies growing inside them are destined for the rich and powerful and the women soon come to realise that their surrogacies come at a chilling cost. A prescient page turner with a lot to say about the human condition.

Welcome to The Farm.

Life is a lucrative business, as long as you play by the rules...

Ambitious businesswoman Mae Yu runs Golden Oaks - a luxury retreat transforming the fertility industry. There, women get the very best of everything: organic meals, fitness trainers, daily massages and big money. Provided they dedicate themselves to producing the perfect baby. For someone else.

Jane is a young immigrant in search of a better future. Stuck living in a cramped dorm with her baby daughter and her shrewd aunt Ate, she sees an unmissable chance to change her life. But at what cost?

Perfect for fans of Celeste Ng, Margaret Atwood, Naomi Alderman, Sophie Mackintosh, Christine Dalcher and anyone who loved The Help or Orange Is the New Black

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
ISBN: 9781526605252
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 642 g
Dimensions: 234 x 153 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'This topical, provocative debut anatomises class, race and the American dream.' - Guardian

'Utterly brilliant. I couldn't put it down!' - Christie Watson, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Language of Kindness

'Chillingly plausible.' - Sophie Mackintosh, author of the Booker-longlisted The Water Cure

'Couldn't be more relevant or timely.' - O Magazine

'Ramos is good at making the dystopian feel contemporary, or perhaps that should be the other way round ... Ramos's debut smuggles a sharp attack on America's entrenched inequality into a Handmaid's Tale-style chiller about surrogacy.' - Metro

'Brilliantly cutting.' - Reni Eddo-Lodge, author of Why I'm No Longer Talking to White People About Race

'A knock-out debut novel.' - Paula Daly, author of Open Your Eyes

'Wow ... Truly unforgettable.' - Gary Shteyngart

'One of the most hotly anticipated debuts this year - and for good reason.' - Cosmopolitan

'Smart and thought-provoking.' - Stylist

'An unsettling, unputdownable read.' - Elle

'The first debut of 2019 to grab the top spot for me ... Don't miss this one.' - Bookseller, Book of the Month 

'The Farm terrifies with a simple question: How much of ourselves are we willing to sell? With characters so real they leap off the page, Ramos yanks the reader into a world of Haves and Have-Nots, and her question lingers long after we turn the final page.' - Christina Dalcher, author of Vox

'Amazing. It's hard to explain what The Farm is about, because it's about everything a book SHOULD be about. Race and class and power and inequality, and it's dark & funny ALL AT THE SAME TIME.' - Joanna Cannon, Sunday Times bestselling author of Three Things About Elsie and The Trouble with Goats and Sheep

'Ramos has written a firecracker of a novel, at once caustic and tender, page-turning and thought-provoking. This is a fierce indictment of the vampiric nature of modern capitalism, which never loses sight of the very human stories at its center. Highly recommended.' - Madeline Miller, author of Circe

'The debut to order now ... Think Never Let Me Go meets The Handmaid's Tale.' - Sunday Times

'A highly original and provocative story about the impossible choices in so many women's lives. These characters will stay with me for a long time.' - Karen Thompson Walker, author of The Age of Miracles

'Consider this The Handmaid's Tale of 2019 ... In the vein of The Circle, but somehow more penetrating and realistic.' - Marie Claire

'Ramos creates a believable dystopian future where poor women try to make money and change their societal standing by offering up their bodies to house and deliver healthy babies for the rich. The novel alternates perspectives between four women and provides notes on fundamental inequalities.' - The best books to look forward to in 2019, Evening Standard

'Excellent, both as a reproductive dystopian narrative and as a social novel about women and class.' - Starred Review, Kirkus

You may also be interested in...

The Confession
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Long Call
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
The Testaments
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Single Thread
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Law of Innocence
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Pine
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Troubled Blood
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Firewatching
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Troy
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
One August Night
Added to basket
£14.99   £11.99
Hardback
A Song for the Dark Times
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Girl, Woman, Other
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“The cost of the American Dream....”

Golden Oaks is the Farm where rich can hire a body to have children using surrogate mothers. It is the story of young Filipino woman Jane, working as a surrogate and her meeting with other women being used as vehicles... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 60

“Well written but not for me”

I really enjoyed some aspects of this book but overall it was a bit underwhelming. It was well written and was an interesting character study but nothing really happens, I think it's just a question of personal... More

Hardback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 30

“Unforgettable”

This is an incredible novel! When I saw it described as The Handmaid's Tale meets Never Let Me Go I was desperate to read this and it certainly didn't disappoint. This was even better than I'd hoped,... More

Hardback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 28

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.