• Sign In / Register
  • Help
  • Basket0
The books you love, the emails you want
Time is running out, opt in before 25 May or you'll stop hearing from us
Yes Please
The Fair Fight (Hardback)
  • The Fair Fight (Hardback)
zoom

The Fair Fight (Hardback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£12.99
Hardback 448 Pages / Published: 28/08/2014
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

Check Marketplace availability

Some call the prize ring a nursery for vice . . .

Born into a brothel, Ruth's future looks bleak until she catches the eye of Mr Dryer. A rich Bristol merchant and enthusiast of the ring, he trains gutsy Ruth as a pugilist. Soon she rules the blood-spattered sawdust at the infamous Hatchet Inn.

Dryer's wife Charlotte lives in the shadows. A grieving orphan, she hides away, scarred by smallpox, ignored by Dryer, and engaged in dangerous mind games with her brother.

When Dryer sidelines Ruth after a disastrous fight, and focuses on training her husband Tom, Charlotte presents Ruth with an extraordinary proposition. As the tension mounts before Tom's Championship fight, two worlds collide with electrifying consequences.

THE FAIR FIGHT will take you from a filthy brothel to the finest houses in the town, from the world of street-fighters to the world of champions. Alive with the smells and the sounds of the streets, it is a raucous, intoxicating tale of courage, reinvention and fighting your way to the top.

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9780297871958
Number of pages: 448
Weight: 588 g
Dimensions: 222 x 143 x 38 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
The Fair Fight is a hugely exciting and entertaining novel, written with warmth, charm, authority and, above all, terrific flair. I loved it. * SARAH WATERS *
(A) cracking debut... It is a lively, rambunctious read which captures Bristol street life brilliantly and niftily sets the scene for a memorable collection of characters who are prepared to gamble everything to gain hope and some form of happiness. -- Eithne Farry * SUNDAY EXPRESS *
Anna Freeman's familiarity with this rough and raunchy period of history and her wonderfully imagined cast of characters, often down but never out, makes this a brilliant debut novel. -- Rose Wild * THE TIMES *
This storming debut is fiction at its most absorbing. It'll be first in line for Freeman's next offering. -- Kat Poole * STYLIST *
For lovers of the evocative historical romps of Sarah Waters and Michel Faber this is a visceral and funny debut. * EMERALD STREET *
(Anna's) enthusiasm for the subject matter and her skill at creating powerful narrative voices are in strong evidence in this gritty, vividly evoked historical novel. Fans of Sarah Waters and Emma Donoghue, take note. * DIVA MAGAZINE *
An accomplished first novel that reminded me somewhat of Peter Carey's Jack Maggs. -- NED DENNY * DAILY MAIL *
lively and original * THE SUNDAY TIMES *
Passion and pugilism ...(an) original, memorable debut novel. -- Nick Rennison * BBC HISTORY MAGAZINE *
Freeman's first novel is shocking but a cracker. The writing is good and the characters totally believable. I loved it. -- LESLEY PEARSE * SAINBURYS MAGAZINE *
This truly bears comparison with Michel Faber's THE CRIMSON PETAL AND THE WHITE as first-time author Freeman (a performance poet who has appeared at Latitude and Glastonbury) brings the 18th century to throbbing life, in an immersive novel rich with extraordinary characters and a cracking plot. * THE BOOKSELLER *
this highly enjoyable read that packs a punch. * HISTORY REVEALED *
A brilliant, bold and unforgettable debut. Freeman transports us to a history we'd never have imagined and makes it viscerally real. * NATHAN FILER *
The Fair Fight is, I think, just about the most well-written novel I have read in five years. The depiction of the situation and characters is very clearly done with great economy of effort. Even the title is clever. ..this is an excellent read, and one that will stay with you for a long time. -- Alan Fisk * HISTORICAL NOVEL SOCIETY *
'[The] novel, though written in a fashion long past, feels quite natural and free. She [Anna Freeman] has taken the late 18th century, language and all, and pummelled life into it. THE FAIR FIGHT breathes, shouts and swears, confident in its form and bold as brass in its execution. If Anna Freeman ever puts up her fives and takes to milling, I'll not volunteer as an opponent.' * New York Times *

You may also be interested in...

Master and Commander
Added to basket
Heresy
Added to basket
£8.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Sisters Brothers
Added to basket
Shogun
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Lamentation
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Lords of the North
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Mightier than the Sword
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Edge of Eternity
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Restoration
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Name Of The Rose
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
A Place Called Winter
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Tea Planter's Wife
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Sepulchre
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Bring Up the Bodies
Added to basket
The Empty Throne
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“A stunning, gritty historical novel. Loved it!”

A riveting tale of greed and morality in an 18th Century underworld as Bristol’s female boxers fight for independence and survival.
If we ever needed a reason to thank Terry Deary and his marvellous Horrible Histories... More

Hardback edition
16th August 2014
Helpful? Upvote 13

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.