The Excursion - Eighteenth-century Novels by Women (Paperback)
  • The Excursion - Eighteenth-century Novels by Women (Paperback)
zoom

The Excursion - Eighteenth-century Novels by Women (Paperback)

(author), (volume editor), (volume editor)
£48.50
Paperback 224 Pages / Published: 31/12/1996
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

Frances Brooke (1724-1789), journalist, translator, playwright, novelist, and even co-manager of a theater, was described as "perhaps the first female novel-writer who attained a perfect purity and polish of style." Today, Brooke is known primarily for The History of Emily Montague, one of the earliest novels about Canada, where she lived for a number of years. But it is her third novel, The Excursion, that is an important example of the fashionable and popular English novels of the late 1770s.

Written for the very audience it portrays, this novel introduces the heroine, Maria Villiers, to London's "gentle" society and its glittering pastimes. Brooke drew upon the English courtship novel in the tradition of Eliza Haywood, Henry Fielding, and Frances Burney for her novel's overarching plot structure. But instead of concentrating on Maria's romantic adventures, she experiments with unusual treatments of subplots and unconventional characters.

The most interesting aspect of her story is the development of Maria's ambition to win fame and fortune as a writer; it is one of the few portraits of a woman with literary ambitions by an early woman writer. Brooke's wry narrative voice foreshadows that of Jane Austen.

The editors' introduction places The Excursion firmly in the tradition of the English novel, provides a fresh biography of Brooke, and brings together the most important eighteenth- and twentieth-century criticism of Brooke's work.

The second volume in the series Eighteenth-Century Novels by Women, The Excursion contributes to our understanding of the development of the novel and offers a lively view of women's position in eighteenth-century English society.

Publisher: The University Press of Kentucky
ISBN: 9780813108810
Number of pages: 224
Weight: 386 g
Dimensions: 241 x 165 x 16 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

"A valuable addition to the range of texts currently available." -- British Journal for Eighteenth-Century Studies

You may also be interested in...

The Doors of Perception
Added to basket
Bookshops
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Books v. Cigarettes
Added to basket
The Power of the Powerless
Added to basket
We Should All Be Feminists
Added to basket
Call Them by Their True Names
Added to basket
A Room of One's Own
Added to basket
Fame
Added to basket
£1.00
Paperback
Me Talk Pretty One Day
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Tipping Point
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Notes to Self
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Dark Days
Added to basket
£1.00
Paperback
The Good Immigrant
Added to basket
The Road to Wigan Pier
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.