The Escape (Paperback)
  • The Escape (Paperback)
zoom

The Escape (Paperback)

(author)
5 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 432 Pages
Published: 07/12/2023
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

'Atmospheric and page-turning, The Escape is this winter’s The Hunting Party' – Veronica Henry

From bestselling author Ruth Kelly, The Escape is an electrifying thriller of influencers, secrets and lies set in a grand mansion in rural France. Perfect for fans of Lisa Jewell and Sarah Pearse.

The Perfect Offer

When struggling influencer couple Adele and Jack post a crowdfunding video online, they’re amazed when a mysterious benefactor offers to buy them a crumbling French chateau. It’s the lifeline they need to leave all their troubles behind.

The Perfect Dream

For Adele, it’s a dream come true. She will post videos of the renovation as thousands of online subscribers follow their journey. But the chateau is not all it seems and the local community is far from welcoming.

The Perfect Nightmare

Then Adele’s videos suddenly stop. Her sister Erin visits to make sure she’s OK, but the couple have vanished. Between the obsession of Adele’s fans and the claustrophobic secrecy of the nearby town, Erin must unravel the shocking truth behind the couple’s disappearance . . .

'A deliciously dark look at the world of influencers set against the backdrop of a glamorous French chateau - tense and shocking' – Catherine Cooper, author of The Chalet

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 9781035025367
Number of pages: 432
Weight: 294 g
Dimensions: 198 x 168 x 27 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Dark, immersive, and tantalisingly atmospheric, The Escape is wholly absorbing and completely addictive - Andrea Mara, Sunday Times bestselling author of No One Saw a Thing

The French countryside is well drawn and the structure of the book has a zippy contemporary feel. An original and fun read - Daily Mail

I was gripped by the unravelling of the dark secrets in The Escape - Louise Jensen, bestselling author of The Date

Dark, chilling, atmospheric and page-turning, The Escape is this winter’s ‘The Hunting Party’. Ruth has her finger on the (racing) pulse of contemporary thrillers, and has delivered yet another winner that reflects the zeitgeist of our somewhat twisted social media-driven age - Veronica Henry

Devastatingly dark, I couldn't stop turning the pages - Nikki Smith, author of The Beach Party

A beautifully paced and darkly twisted thriller. It’s like being in a deliciously crafted nightmare - Katy Brent, author of How To Kill Men and Get Away With It

A deliciously dark look at the world of influencers set against the backdrop of a glamorous French chateau - tense and shocking - Catherine Cooper, author of The Chalet

A chilling tale of a lost sister and a mystery benefactor overflowing with tension ramped up through gorgeous, atmospheric writing and epic twists. The perfect read for dark, cosy nights Loved it - Lucy Baker, author of The Other Side of Mrs Wood

A slick, dark and chilling thriller, the tension dripped off the pages until the shocking reveal. I was on tenterhooks all the way! - A.A. Chaudhuri

A deliciously addictive thriller that will hook you in like the best – and scariest – reality TV show you’ve ever seen - T. M. Logan, author of The Holiday and The Mother, on The Villa

A Pacy page-turner - Woman & Home

A terrific page-turning thriller for dark winter nights - B.P. Walter

An electrifying thriller of influencers, secrets and lies set in a grand mansion in rural France - Irish Examiner

A deliciously dark and contemporary thriller that sets the more twisted side of social media alight with tension and suspense - LoveReading.co.uk

The Escape is a dark, atmospheric and menacing thriller that makes the most of its wintry French setting. You’ll really feel the chills with this one - Culture Fly

Gripping - Bella

A clever look at the truth behind the facade when it comes to the world of being an influencer, and a real page-turner - Woman's Weekly

You may also be interested in...

Butter
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
The Murder Game
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Past Lying
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Skeleton Key
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
In Too Deep
Added to basket
£22.00
Hardback
In The Blink of An Eye
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Secret
Added to basket
£22.00
Hardback
The Housemaid's Secret
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
I Will Find You
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Damascus Station
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Running Grave
Added to basket
£25.00   £20.00
Hardback
The Shadows of London
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Silent Patient
Added to basket
The Trial
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Secret
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Housemaid
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback

“Dark and twisted with some epic shocks!”

When Adele and Jack, struggling influencers post a crowdfunding video on line, they are amazed when a mysterious benefactor offers to buy them an old French chateau. It’s the lifeline they need and the answer to... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“Dark, original and totally gripping”

After reading Ruth Kelly's previous novel, The Villa, I was really looking forward to reading The Escape and I've come to realise that this is an author who writes absolutely addictive stories.

The Escape... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“The Escape by Ruth Kelly”

Adele, a budding influencer, dreams of more from life. Things just don’t seem to be going right for her and partner, Jack. So when, in the middle of the night, the idea of reaching out to her followers and asking them... More

Paperback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: