The Erstwhile: Book Two in the Vorrh Trilogy - Vorrh Trilogy (Paperback)
  • The Erstwhile: Book Two in the Vorrh Trilogy - Vorrh Trilogy (Paperback)
zoom

The Erstwhile: Book Two in the Vorrh Trilogy - Vorrh Trilogy (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 480 Pages / Published: 22/03/2018
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

In the tradition of China Mieville, Michael Moorcock and Alasdair Gray, B. Catling's The Vorrh is literary dark fantasy which wilfully ignores boundaries, crossing over into surrealism, magic-realism, horror and steampunk.

The Erstwhile is the second book in the Vorrh trilogy.

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
ISBN: 9781473636408
Number of pages: 480
Weight: 330 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 30 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Brian Catling's The Vorrh blew me away (along with my ideas of what fantasy novels should do) when it came out in 2012. I've just finished the second of the trilogy - The Erstwhile - and it's even better. Set in London, Germany and Africa, the book features William Blake alongside its cast of monsters and adventurers. These are luminous and visionary novels - Gormenghast reimagined by Alan Moore on opium. -- Alex Preston * The Observer *
The Erstwhile almost revels in its status as the hiatus between Genesis and Apocalypse. It applies the sleight of hand that many of the best middle-books do, for a shift of focus...Even in the most extreme moments Catling has an eye to the wry, to the momentous absurdity of just being a thing made of flesh in a world that is not. In something as fluorescently psychedelic as this novel and its predecessor, the reader still requires an affective hook; and in Schumann's explorations of why the past seems clearer to the elderly than the future, we get just that. * The Guardian *
A fascinating world to get lost in. * SciFiNow *
Brian Catling's great trilogy The Voorh, The Erstwhile and The Cloven are for me the most exciting literary fantasy novels since Peake's. Influenced by Raymond Roussel's surrealistic writing, it is full of images that won't leave your mind and is like Guillermo del Toro in print. -- Michael Moorcock * SFX Magazine *

You may also be interested in...

Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone
Added to basket
The Power
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Clash of Kings (Reissue)
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Good Omens
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Fire and Blood
Added to basket
£25.00   £19.99
Hardback
The Handmaid's Tale
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Good Omens
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
Added to basket
Lies Sleeping
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
Added to basket
The October Man
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Hardback
Ghosts of the Shadow Market
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
VOX
Added to basket
VOX
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
Added to basket

“The Erstwhile. Superb second book in the series.”

Great book following on from the Vorrh. Read it in one hit on a train journey to London and back. Got to the end and all is set up for the third. If you haven't read the Vorrh make sure you do first. Tremendous... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 19

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.