• Sign In
  • Help
  • My Basket0
The English Girl: A compelling, sweeping novel of love, loss, secrets and betrayal (Paperback)
  • The English Girl: A compelling, sweeping novel of love, loss, secrets and betrayal (Paperback)
zoom

The English Girl: A compelling, sweeping novel of love, loss, secrets and betrayal (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 464 Pages / Published: 17/11/2016
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

From Sunday Times Top Ten bestselling author, Katherine Webb, The English Girl is perfect for fans of Dinah Jefferies, Kate Morton and Santa Montefiore.

In a land full of secrets, you can make your own rules.

Joan Seabrook has fulfilled her lifelong dream to travel to Arabia and has arrived in the ancient city of Muscat with her fiance, Rory. Desperate to escape the pain of a personal tragedy, she longs to explore the desert fort of Jabrin and unearth the wonders held within.

But Oman is a land lost in time, and gaining permission to explore could prove impossible. Joan's disappointment is only eased by the thrill of meeting her childhood heroine, pioneering explorer Maude Vickery, and hearing the stories that captured her imagination as a child.

The friendship that forms between the two women will change everything.

Both have desires to fulfil and secrets to keep. As their bond grows, Joan is inspired by the thrill of her new friend's past and finds herself swept up in a bold and dangerous adventure of Maude's making. Only too late does she begin to question her actions - actions that will spark a wild, and potentially devastating, chain of events.

'A compelling and beautifully written tale of adventure, mystery and love, The English Girl enthralled me from the first page. Set against the exotic backdrop of Arabia, Webb brings her world to life with skill and passion.' Santa Montefiore

'I've loved all Katherine Webb's books and this is a wonderful addition to my collection. After I finished, I found myself missing the searing heat and huge blue skies of the Omani desert.' Kate Riordan

Your favourite authors love Katherine Webb's sweeping novels:

'An enormously talented writer' Santa Montefiore

'Webb has a true gift for uncovering the mysteries of the human heart and exploring the truth of love' Kate Williams

'Katherine Webb's writing is beautiful' Elizabeth Fremantle

'A truly gifted writer of historical fiction' Lucinda Riley

'Katherine's writing is rich, vivid and evocative' Iona Grey

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781409148548
Number of pages: 464
Weight: 322 g
Dimensions: 155 x 201 x 32 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
I loved THE ENGLISH GIRL. I was really drawn to both Maude and Joan and was completely absorbed by their exotic adventures. I thought it was a really original working of a dual narrative historical story and felt as authentically and thoroughly researched as The Night Falling. I've loved all Katherine Webb's books and this is a wonderful addition to my collection. After I finished, I found myself miss the searing heat and huge blue skies of the Omani desert. * Kate Riordan *
A vivid tale of adventure, love and friendship set in '50s Arabia. * HEAT MAGAZINE *
A compelling and beautifully written tale of adventure, mystery and love, The English Girl enthralled me from the first page. Set against the exotic backdrop of Arabia, which is both unforgiving and romantic, Webb brings her world to life with skill and passion. * Santa Montefiore *
Katherine's writing is rich, vivid and evocative and her characters breathtakingly real * Iona Grey *
With memorable characters and wonderful detail, Katherine evokes a little-known episode of British history to give a fascinating perspective on a region so much in the news today. Her depiction of the desert kingdom captures all its beauty and danger. * Vanessa Lafaye *

You may also be interested in...

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society
Added to basket
Call Me By Your Name
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
House of Names
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Circe
Added to basket
£16.99   £13.99
Hardback
Little Fires Everywhere
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Conversations with Friends
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Tell Tale
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Anything is Possible
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Last Secret of the Deverills
Added to basket
Reservoir 13
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Insidious Intent
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Stars are Fire
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Norse Mythology
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Ready Player One
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
History of Wolves
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The History of Bees
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“Unforgettable Arabian adventure....”

" The English Girl " has got a very interesting dual narrative of the history of Maud and Joan, and their incredible exotic Arabian adventures.

It beautifully captures the beauty and dangers of the Omani... More

Hardback edition
28th April 2016
Helpful? Upvote 69

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.