The End of Your Life Book Club (Hardback)
  • The End of Your Life Book Club (Hardback)
zoom

The End of Your Life Book Club (Hardback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£16.99
Hardback 352 Pages / Published: 11/10/2012
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

'A wonderful book about wonderful books and mothers and sons and the enduring braid between them.' - Mitch Albom, author of Tuesdays With Morrie
'a true meditation on what books can do.' - Edmund de Waal, author of The Hare with Amber Eyes
Mary Anne Schwalbe is waiting for her chemotherapy treatments when Will casually asks her what she's reading. The conversation they have grows into tradition: soon they are reading the same books so they can have something to talk about in the hospital waiting room. Their choices range from classic (Howards End) to popular (The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo), from fantastic (The Hobbit) to spiritual (Jon Kabat-Zinn), with many in between. We hear their passion for reading and their love for each other in their intimate and searching discussions.
A profoundly moving testament to the power of love between a child and parent, and the power of reading in our lives.

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
ISBN: 9781444706369
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 480 g
Dimensions: 224 x 142 x 32 mm
Edition: Digital original


MEDIA REVIEWS
I was so moved by this marvellous book. Schwalbe has done something extraordinary: made a personal journey public in the most engaging, funny and revealing way possible. It is a true meditation on what books can do. * Edmund de Waal, author of The Hare with Amber Eyes *
Will Schwalbe gives us two love stories in one: That of his relationship with his dynamo of a mother as her horizons shrink, and that of their mutual devotion to the printed word, infinitely and insistently engaging. Tender and touching and beautifully done. * Stacy Schiff, Pulitzer Prize winning author of Cleopatra *
A perfect book-club book about books and the community they create that also portrays the love between mother and son. * Library Journal *
Will Schwalbe's brave and soulful elegy to his remarkable mother, his recollection of their sparklingly literate conversations, is a timely reminder that one exceptional person, or one exceptional book, can be a torch in the darkness. You'll turn the last page wishing you'd met Mary Anne Schwalbe, vowing to be worthy of her incandescent example - and promising yourself to read more. * J. R. Moehringer, author of The Tender Bar *
A wonderful book about wonderful books and mothers and sons and the enduring braid between them. Like the printed volumes it celebrates, this story will stay with you long after the last page. * Mitch Albom, author of Tuesdays With Morrie and The Time Keeper *
At last a book that celebrates the role books play within our own story. Will Schwalbe has created a tender, moving and honest portrayal of the precious relationship between a mother and son - an ode to that beautiful thing called love. * Cecilia Ahern, author of PS, I Love You *
an astonishing, pertinent, and wonderfully welcome work. * Publishers Weekly starred review *
An extraordinarily wise, witty, and quietly wrenching book about parental love, filial love, profound grief, and literature's great consolations. How wonderful to encounter a writer who combines erudition with great emotional honesty, and who isn't afraid of addressing life's most profound and baffling questions. * Douglas Kennedy, author of Leaving the World and The Pursuit of Happiness *
This touching and insightful memoir about the slow process of dying will appeal to readers of Tuesdays With Morrie and The Last Lecture, but also to people who love delving into books and book discussions. Like Mary Anne, who reads the ending first, you know how this book is going to end, but while it is a story about death, it is mostly a celebration of life and of the way books can enrich it. * Booklist (starred review) *
a moving and inspiring story * Choice Magazine *
What self-respecting reader isn't a sucker for a great book about other great books? The End of Your Life Book Club is that much and more. * BookPage *
a graceful, affecting testament to a mother and a life well lived. * Entertainment Weekly *
a tribute to a remarkable woman and an exemplary reader. * Salon *
Literature bridges generations in Will Schwalbe's thoughtful tribute to his late mother * Vogue.com *
A truly poignant read . . . a moving tribute to a wonderful-sounding mum and the power of fiction. * Good Housekeeping *
It helps of course if you are a book lover and can relate to the passion for reading, but even prolific readers will find that the book teaches them not only about life and death but about the power of a really good book to move you and peel off the onion skin layers of "what you already know" and reveal truths. * Curious Book Fans *
a life-enhancing celebration of the power of books and reading, very much in the vein of Tuesdays with Morrie * Independent *

You may also be interested in...

My Thoughts Exactly
Added to basket
£20.00   £14.00
Hardback
Reasons to Stay Alive
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Spy and the Traitor
Added to basket
£25.00   £20.00
Hardback
Roger Daltrey: Thanks a lot Mr Kibblewhite
Added to basket
Tina Turner: My Love Story (Official Autobiography)
Added to basket
Churchill
Added to basket
£35.00   £29.99
Hardback
Unnatural Causes
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Diary of a Bookseller
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
My Life in Football
Added to basket
£20.00   £14.99
Hardback
The Flame
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
How to Be a Footballer
Added to basket
£20.00   £14.99
Hardback
The Choice
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.49
Paperback
Everything I Know About Love
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Hardback
We Need to Weaken the Mixture
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Notes on a Nervous Planet
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
Blowing the Bloody Doors Off
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback

Reviews

View all

“Powerful family memoir”

Will Schwalbe has managed to write a book that not only commemorates his late mothers life, but celebrates it as well. Following her diagnosis of pancreatic cancer, they start an informal book club together, hence the... More

Hardback edition
23rd August 2013
Helpful? Upvote 17

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.