The End of Magic (Paperback)
  • The End of Magic (Paperback)
zoom

The End of Magic (Paperback)

(author)
£11.99
Paperback Published: 07/02/2019
  • 5+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Two powerful mages. One steeped in privilege, the other bound by a moral code. Their world is thrown into chaos by the end of magic.

Rosheen Katell is a wandering mage and, with Anzu her griffin, she's worked hard to build a reputation as a trustworthy truth seer. She never lies, never kills.
Sander Bree is a royal mage. He lives an easy life advising the king on matters of court and politics, but dreams of an apocalypse are giving him massive anxiety attacks.
Very soon, their magic will be gone. A cataclysmic event will change their lives and world forever. Sander must keep a promise to save the life of a young girl that would have been difficult enough with magic, but is a suicide mission without it. Rosheen is forced to side with a murderous warlord, and her once-solid principles are tested and found wanting. Both will be set against one another in a war unlike anything the world has seen before, in this sweeping fantasy of magic's ending.
A stand alone fantasy novel for readers of Joe Abercrombie and Scott Lynch

** "The sort of book you give to people who say "prove to me why I should read fantasy"... A simply terrific read." - James Barclay, author of the Legends of the Raven series

"Mark Stay paints his world and characters with deft, confident and dark strokes." - RJ Barker, author of the Wounded Kingdom Trilogy

"The sort of book you give to people who say "prove to me why I should read fantasy"... A simply terrific read." - James Barclay, author of the Legends of the Raven series

"Takes the tropes of high fantasy and uses them to wield an original, compelling and intricately plotted story... exactly the kind of fantasy that we need more of." - Gavin G. Smith, author of the Veteran series

"Stay does for George RR Martin what Pratchett did for Tolkien." - Julian Barr, author of The Way Home

"The End of Magic has one of the most compelling narratives as well as a strong authorial voice." Amazon UK Reviewer

"Like Game of Thrones without the boobs!" - Amazon UK Reviewer

"This was a blast, hints of Joe Abercrombie's books and his dark humour, but presented in a world in chaos." - Amazon UK Reviewer

"The most fun I've had reading a fantasy novel since Red Country by Joe Abercrombie." - Amazon UK Reviewer

"This book grabbed me in the first couple of pages... Couldn't stop. Really want more!" - Amazon UK Reviewer

"I may never forgive the author for that (spoiler) death scene... *When you read it you'll understand* Rarely have I shed tears so early on in a book." - Amazon UK Reviewer

"A fun and intense read." - Amazon UK Reviewer

"A fresh take on the perennial story of the golden catastrophe/age. The author has created a completely authentic fantasy world." - Amazon UK Reviewer

"Normal fantasy conventions are distorted, magic is not dependable and there are evil, bloodthirsty villains at work." - Amazon UK Reviewer

"The humour in the writing offset the blood and gore that featured throughout." - Amazon UK Reviewer

"The author effortlessly creates a world that is both wonderfully fantastical and at the same time strangely real." - Amazon UK Reviewer

"Gripping and entertaining." - Amazon UK Reviewer

Publisher: Unbound
ISBN: 9781789650044
Dimensions: 216 x 135 mm

You may also be interested in...

Amongst Our Weapons
Added to basket
£18.99   £16.99
Hardback
The Poppy War
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Piranesi
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Atlas Six
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Toilet-bound Hanako-kun, Vol. 13
Added to basket
Toilet-bound Hanako-kun, Vol. 0
Added to basket
The Dream Weavers
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Twin Crowns
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
These Violent Delights
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Last Graduate
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Wild and Wicked Things
Added to basket
Solo Leveling, Vol. 4 (comic)
Added to basket
Twin Crowns
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Book of Night
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Solo Leveling, Vol. 1 (manga)
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.