The Emperor's Blades - Chronicle of the Unhewn Throne (Paperback)
  • The Emperor's Blades - Chronicle of the Unhewn Throne (Paperback)
zoom

The Emperor's Blades - Chronicle of the Unhewn Throne (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 592 Pages / Published: 09/10/2014
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

The Emperor's Blades is the first novel in Brain Staveley's epic Chronicle of the Unhewn Throne series.

The circle is closing. The stakes are high. And old truths will live again . . .

The Emperor has been murdered, leaving the Annurian Empire in turmoil. Now his progeny must prepare to unmask a conspiracy. His son Valyn, training for the empire's deadliest fighting force, hears the news an ocean away. And after several 'accidents' and a dying soldier's warning, he realizes his life is also in danger. Yet before Valyn can act, he must survive the mercenaries' brutal final initiation.

The Emperor's daughter, Minister Adare, hunts her father's murderer in the capital. Court politics can be fatal, but she needs justice. Lastly Kaden, heir to the empire, studies in a remote monastery. Here, the Blank God's disciples teach their harsh ways, which Kaden must master to unlock ancient powers. But when an imperial delegation arrives, has he learnt enough to keep him alive, as long-hidden powers make their move?

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 9781447235828
Number of pages: 592
Weight: 420 g
Dimensions: 197 x 130 x 36 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A vividly imagined story of conspiracy and empire * Col Buchanan *
A richly imagined world and vibrant characters . . . an exhilarating adventure * Elspeth Cooper *
A complex and fast-moving fantasy set in a world where treachery and intrigue are everywhere, accomplished through ferocious brutality, subtle intrigues, and everything in between * L. E. Modesitt, Jr. *
An enchanting union of old and new, Staveley's debut will keep you turning pages late into the night * Pierce Brown *
Well-written and fat with promise, and we look forward to book two * SFX *
He's constructed a fantastic and compelling fantasy world and has started an interesting story that rests on the strengths of its characters. He's proven to be an excellent author, and he's set up a compelling narrative * io9.com *
Brian Staveley does true justice to the term Fantasy with his The Emperor's Blades and the Chronicle of the Unhewn Throne, this is what I seek in reading fantasy, authors that go the distance to deliver you a brilliant story . . . It has everything that you seek when you read an epic fantasy story, from great, relatable characters all throughout the solid storyline, interesting environments and a lot of pretty darn cool action! * The Bookplank *
An interesting and enjoyable start to the Chronicle of the Unhewn Throne and if this is only Staveley's first novel I'm excited to see how he'll grow into his craft. If you love traditional epic fantasy, but would like to see a more updated version, then The Emperor's Blades is a book you'll want to read * A Fantastical Librarian *
A blistering narrative and keen sense of both action and wonder . . . Brian Stavely is one to watch and if you enjoy epic fantasy I think that The Emperor's Blades is definitely worth checking out * King of the Nerds blog *
Very readable, hard to put down, and flat-out entertaining * Nethspace blog *

A fun read . . . It was engaging, it was fun to read and the series has serious potential

* Fantasy-faction.com *

An amazing debut . . . Highly recommended

* Speculative Book Review *
Really great writing, tight world building, and complex characters. Truly, the author is on to something special with this series and I can't wait for it to continue * Ageless Pages Reviews *
This was a book that reminded me, in different ways, of my first encounters with the likes of Brandon Sanderson and Patrick Rothfuss. It managed to feel fresh and original, yet familiar at the same time . . . This is epic fantasy for a new generation, gritty and grim at times, but never losing sight of the awe and the wonder * Beauty In Ruins blog *
This book made my heart happy. If you like fantasy it will probably make yours happy as well * Between the Pages blog *
A well-imagined tale rife with violence and Machiavellian scheming that hits all the right notes * Fantasy Smorgasbord blog *
I cannot wait to read the sequel . . . Fans of epic fantasy novels featuring conspiracies and fighting for the throne will enjoy reading it * BookWormDreams.com *
Filled to the brim with history, lore and potential...a modern epic fantasy mixed in with a nice dose of Lovecraftian weirdness * Io9 *

You may also be interested in...

The Hyena and the Hawk
Added to basket
City of Saints and Madmen
Added to basket
Malice
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Ruin
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Spinning Silver
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
A Time of Dread
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Tiger and the Wolf
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Iron Council
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Truthwitch
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Last Days of New Paris
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Uprooted
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Wrath
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Starborn
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Bear and the Serpent
Added to basket
Windwitch
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Lost Plot
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all
Charis Bookseller Inverness

“Excellent New Series For Fans of Rothfuss and Martin”

This relatively new fantasy series is EPIC.

Treading in the footsteps of authors such as Rothfuss, this series is rife with plots and intrigue from the offset. Though Staveley is markedly different in his writing... More

“Top class fantasy writing”

This is an exceptional read. Brian Staveley manages to balance everything you want from modern fantasy writing, without overdoing or underdoing any of it. I'd put him right up there with Patrick Rothfuss as the... More

Paperback edition
10 similar books recommended
1st February 2017
Helpful? Upvote 45

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.