The Emperor's Blades (Paperback)
  • The Emperor's Blades (Paperback)
zoom

The Emperor's Blades (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£11.99
Paperback 480 Pages / Published: 17/09/2014
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
The emperor of Annur is dead, slain by enemies unknown. His daughter and two sons, scattered across the world, do what they must to stay alive and unmask the assassins. But each of them also has a life path on which their father set them, their destinies entangled with both ancient enemies and inscrutable gods. Kaden, the heir to the Unhewn Throne, has spent eight years sequestered in a remote mountain monastery, learning the enigmatic discipline of monks devoted to the Blank God. Their rituals hold the key to an ancient power he must master before it's too late. An ocean away, Valyn endures the brutal training of the Kettral, elite soldiers who fly into battle on gigantic black hawks. But before he can set out to save Kaden, Valyn must survive one horrific final test. At the heart of the empire, Minister Adare, elevated to her station by one of the emperor's final acts, is determined to prove herself to her people. But Adare also believes she knows who murdered her father, and she will stop at nothing - and risk everything - to see that justice is meted out.

Publisher: St Martin's Press
ISBN: 9780765336439
Number of pages: 480
Weight: 522 g
Dimensions: 235 x 156 x 30 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

"A complex and richly detailed world filled with elite soldier-assassins, mystic warrior monks, serpentine politics, and ancient secrets. Readers of Sara Douglass's Wayfarer novels and George R.R. Martin's Song of Ice and Fire series should enjoy this opener." --Library Journal, starred review

"Will hold your attention until the last page. This intense novel is impossible to put down." --RT Book Reviews

"Filled to the brim with history, lore and potential...a modern epic fantasy mixed in with a nice dose of Lovecraftian weirdness." --io9

"Familiar ingredients come to life in the hands of a promising new master chef." --Locus

"Staveley creates a richly layered world that melds together elements of ancient magic, religion, political intrigue and battles large and small. The suspense is relentless and the moral compromises the protagonists confront, often accompanied by violence, are wrenching." --Shelf Awareness

"An enchanting union of old and new, Staveley's debut will keep you turning pages late into the night." --Pierce Brown, New York Times bestselling author of Red Rising

"Come for the intrigue, assassination, death priests, black-ops bird riders, and giant poisonous hive-lizards. Stay for Staveley's characters, his language, and his way-cool fantasy Zen." --Max Gladstone, author of the Craft Sequence

" Intricate characters, complex relationships, and plots within plots... these are the hallmarks of great fantasy and Staveley succeeds across the board. A brilliant debut!" --Jason Hough, New York Times bestselling author of The Darwin Elevator

"Takes a story of family, loss, conspiracy and revenge and gives it new legs. It's epic fantasy with a sharp, jagged edge to it, a modern sensibility, prose as tight as the leather wrapped around a sword's hilt, and characters that you can relate to and give a damn about. I look forward to the next installment of Staveley's chronicle." --R. S. Belcher, author of The Six-Gun Tarot

You may also be interested in...

Beneath the Sugar Sky
Added to basket
Trial of Intentions (Vault of Heaven)
Added to basket
The Armored Saint
Added to basket
£13.99
Hardback
The Mongrel Mage
Added to basket
£21.99
Hardback
The Descent of Monsters
Added to basket
£11.99
Paperback
Alector's Choice
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Shape of Water
Added to basket
Madness in Solidar
Added to basket
Somewhere in Time
Added to basket
The Merchants' War
Added to basket
The Geek Feminist Revolution
Added to basket
The Adventure Zone
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
Witchmark
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Treachery's Tools
Added to basket

Reviews

View all
Charis Bookseller Inverness

“Excellent New Series For Fans of Rothfuss and Martin”

This relatively new fantasy series is EPIC.

Treading in the footsteps of authors such as Rothfuss, this series is rife with plots and intrigue from the offset. Though Staveley is markedly different in his writing... More

“Top class fantasy writing”

This is an exceptional read. Brian Staveley manages to balance everything you want from modern fantasy writing, without overdoing or underdoing any of it. I'd put him right up there with Patrick Rothfuss as the... More

Paperback edition
10 similar books recommended
1st February 2017
Helpful? Upvote 45

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.