Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
Click & Collect from 2 Hours
Last Christmas Delivery Dates
Free UK Standard Delivery on orders £20 and over Order in time for Christmas 18th December 2nd Class | 19th December 1st Class Free Click & Collect to shops From 2 hours of your order*
The Emperor Of Scent (Paperback)
  • The Emperor Of Scent (Paperback)
zoom

The Emperor Of Scent (Paperback)

(author)
£10.99
Paperback 496 Pages / Published: 04/03/2004
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket
In the tradition of Susan Orlean's The Orchid Thief and James Gleick's Genius, The Emperor of Scent tells the story of Luca Turin, an utterly unusual, stubborn scientist, his otherworldly gift for perfume, his brilliant, quixotic theory of how we smell, and his struggle to set before the world the secret of the most enigmatic of our senses.

Publisher: Cornerstone
ISBN: 9780099460237
Number of pages: 496
Weight: 341 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 31 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
"The Emperor of Scent is a gem of a book- I was mesmerised and enlightened by the many perfect asides woven into the main body of this incredible true tale." -- Alexandra Fuller
"With the contagious enthusiasm of a nerd given the run of a chemistry lab, he has transformed a chance meeting with a curious biophysicist named Luca Turin into an amusing and poetic adventure in science and art." * Washington Post *
"Ebullient- a book that celebrates the randomness and arbitrariness of discovery while also translating complex science into the colloquial- as its title indicates, The Emperor of Scent presents a larger-than-life autocrat and his interesting, engaging eccentricities-an inspired, exhilarating view of idiosyncratic science" * New York Times *
"Fascinating and lucid- the details of Turin's work unfold like a revelation. For his part, Burr does a fine job of turning both the science and the academic jockeying around a possible publication in Nature into a pulse-racing affair." * New Yorker *
"A brilliant, feisty scientist at the center of a nasty, back-stabbing, utterly absorbing, cliff-hanging scramble for the Nobel Prize. The Emperor of Scent is a quirky, wonderful book." -- John Berendt

You may also be interested in...

How to Be a Footballer
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Becoming
Added to basket
£25.00   £19.99
Hardback
We Need to Weaken the Mixture
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
Brutally Honest
Added to basket
£17.99   £13.99
Hardback
Roger Daltrey: Thanks a lot Mr Kibblewhite
Added to basket
Born Lippy
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Adventures of a Young Naturalist
Added to basket
Educated
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Tour According to G
Added to basket
£20.00   £14.99
Hardback
Churchill
Added to basket
£35.00   £29.99
Hardback
Tina Turner: My Love Story (Official Autobiography)
Added to basket
The Diary of a Bookseller
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Spy and the Traitor
Added to basket
£25.00   £21.99
Hardback
This is Going to Hurt
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Made In Scotland
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.