The Emperor Of Scent (Paperback)
  • The Emperor Of Scent (Paperback)
zoom

The Emperor Of Scent (Paperback)

(author)
£10.99
Paperback 496 Pages
Published: 04/03/2004
  • 5+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 48 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
In the tradition of Susan Orlean's The Orchid Thief and James Gleick's Genius, The Emperor of Scent tells the story of Luca Turin, an utterly unusual, stubborn scientist, his otherworldly gift for perfume, his brilliant, quixotic theory of how we smell, and his struggle to set before the world the secret of the most enigmatic of our senses.

Publisher: Cornerstone
ISBN: 9780099460237
Number of pages: 496
Weight: 341 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 29 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
The Emperor of Scent is a gem of a book- I was mesmerised and enlightened by the many perfect asides woven into the main body of this incredible true tale. -- Alexandra Fuller
With the contagious enthusiasm of a nerd given the run of a chemistry lab, he has transformed a chance meeting with a curious biophysicist named Luca Turin into an amusing and poetic adventure in science and art. * Washington Post *
Ebullient- a book that celebrates the randomness and arbitrariness of discovery while also translating complex science into the colloquial- as its title indicates, The Emperor of Scent presents a larger-than-life autocrat and his interesting, engaging eccentricities-an inspired, exhilarating view of idiosyncratic science * New York Times *
Fascinating and lucid- the details of Turin's work unfold like a revelation. For his part, Burr does a fine job of turning both the science and the academic jockeying around a possible publication in Nature into a pulse-racing affair. * New Yorker *
A brilliant, feisty scientist at the center of a nasty, back-stabbing, utterly absorbing, cliff-hanging scramble for the Nobel Prize. The Emperor of Scent is a quirky, wonderful book. -- John Berendt

You may also be interested in...

Diddly Squat
Added to basket
£9.99   £6.99
Paperback
Spare
Added to basket
£28.00   £14.00
Hardback
Friends, Lovers and the Big Terrible Thing
Added to basket
A Village in the Third Reich
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
Windswept & Interesting
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Freezing Order
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
In Wartime
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Free
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
And Away...
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Taste
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
My Body
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Light We Carry
Added to basket
£25.00   £19.99
Hardback
Conversations on Love
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.99
Paperback
Madly, Deeply
Added to basket
£25.00   £19.99
Hardback
Ukraine Diaries
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
This Much is True
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.