The Emperor Of Scent (Paperback)
  • The Emperor Of Scent (Paperback)
zoom

The Emperor Of Scent (Paperback)

(author)
£10.99
Paperback 496 Pages
Published: 04/03/2004
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

In the tradition of Susan Orlean's The Orchid Thief and James Gleick's Genius, The Emperor of Scent tells the story of Luca Turin, an utterly unusual, stubborn scientist, his otherworldly gift for perfume, his brilliant, quixotic theory of how we smell, and his struggle to set before the world the secret of the most enigmatic of our senses.

Publisher: Cornerstone
ISBN: 9780099460237
Number of pages: 496
Weight: 341 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 29 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

The Emperor of Scent is a gem of a book- I was mesmerised and enlightened by the many perfect asides woven into the main body of this incredible true tale. - Alexandra Fuller

With the contagious enthusiasm of a nerd given the run of a chemistry lab, he has transformed a chance meeting with a curious biophysicist named Luca Turin into an amusing and poetic adventure in science and art. - Washington Post

Ebullient- a book that celebrates the randomness and arbitrariness of discovery while also translating complex science into the colloquial- as its title indicates, The Emperor of Scent presents a larger-than-life autocrat and his interesting, engaging eccentricities-an inspired, exhilarating view of idiosyncratic science - New York Times

Fascinating and lucid- the details of Turin's work unfold like a revelation. For his part, Burr does a fine job of turning both the science and the academic jockeying around a possible publication in Nature into a pulse-racing affair. - New Yorker

A brilliant, feisty scientist at the center of a nasty, back-stabbing, utterly absorbing, cliff-hanging scramble for the Nobel Prize. The Emperor of Scent is a quirky, wonderful book. - John Berendt

You may also be interested in...

Charles III
Added to basket
£22.00   £18.99
Hardback
Rambling Man
Added to basket
£25.00   £18.99
Hardback
Loosely Based On A Made-Up Story
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
Strong Female Character
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
Landlines
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback
My Name is Barbra
Added to basket
£35.00   £27.99
Hardback
Broadly Speaking
Added to basket
£25.00   £18.99
Hardback
Rambling Man
Added to basket
£25.00
Hardback
Politics On the Edge
Added to basket
£22.00   £18.99
Hardback
I Want to Die but I Want to Eat Tteokbokki
Added to basket
Agatha Christie
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback
Keira & Me
Added to basket
£18.99   £13.99
Hardback
T.V.
Added to basket
£25.00   £20.00
Hardback
The Woman in Me
Added to basket
£25.00   £19.99
Hardback
Diddly Squat: Pigs Might Fly
Added to basket
£22.00   £16.99
Hardback
Everything I Know About Love
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: