The Emperor Of Scent (Paperback)
  • The Emperor Of Scent (Paperback)
zoom

The Emperor Of Scent (Paperback)

(author)
£10.99
Paperback 496 Pages / Published: 04/03/2004
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
In the tradition of Susan Orlean's The Orchid Thief and James Gleick's Genius, The Emperor of Scent tells the story of Luca Turin, an utterly unusual, stubborn scientist, his otherworldly gift for perfume, his brilliant, quixotic theory of how we smell, and his struggle to set before the world the secret of the most enigmatic of our senses.

Publisher: Cornerstone
ISBN: 9780099460237
Number of pages: 496
Weight: 341 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 31 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
The Emperor of Scent is a gem of a book- I was mesmerised and enlightened by the many perfect asides woven into the main body of this incredible true tale. -- Alexandra Fuller
With the contagious enthusiasm of a nerd given the run of a chemistry lab, he has transformed a chance meeting with a curious biophysicist named Luca Turin into an amusing and poetic adventure in science and art. * Washington Post *
Ebullient- a book that celebrates the randomness and arbitrariness of discovery while also translating complex science into the colloquial- as its title indicates, The Emperor of Scent presents a larger-than-life autocrat and his interesting, engaging eccentricities-an inspired, exhilarating view of idiosyncratic science * New York Times *
Fascinating and lucid- the details of Turin's work unfold like a revelation. For his part, Burr does a fine job of turning both the science and the academic jockeying around a possible publication in Nature into a pulse-racing affair. * New Yorker *
A brilliant, feisty scientist at the center of a nasty, back-stabbing, utterly absorbing, cliff-hanging scramble for the Nobel Prize. The Emperor of Scent is a quirky, wonderful book. -- John Berendt

You may also be interested in...

More Than a Woman
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Women Don't Owe You Pretty
Added to basket
The Salt Path
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Windswept & Interesting
Added to basket
£25.00   £19.99
Hardback
The Storyteller
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Women Don't Owe You Pretty
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
This Much is True
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Agent Sonya
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
And Away...
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
PRIVATE EYE
Added to basket
£30.00   £24.99
Hardback
Odd Boy Out
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
Windswept & Interesting
Added to basket
£25.00   £19.99
Hardback
The Bell Jar
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Wild Silence
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Brothers in Arms
Added to basket
£25.00   £21.99
Hardback
The Comfort Book
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.