The Electricity of Every Living Thing: A Woman's Walk in the Wild to Find Her Way Home (Paperback)
  • The Electricity of Every Living Thing: A Woman's Walk in the Wild to Find Her Way Home (Paperback)
zoom

The Electricity of Every Living Thing: A Woman's Walk in the Wild to Find Her Way Home (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 288 Pages / Published: 16/05/2019
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Perfect for fans of The Salt Path and The Outrun, this book is a life-affirming exploration of wild landscapes, what it means to be different and, above all, how we can all learn to make peace within our own unquiet minds.

'A windswept tale, beautifully told' Raynor Winn - The Salt Path

'A manifesto for the value of difficult people. I loved it' Amy Liptrot - The Outrun

In August 2015, Katherine May set out to walk the 630-mile South West Coast Path. She wanted to understand why she had stopped coping with everyday life; why motherhood had been so overwhelming and isolating, and why the world felt full of inundation and expectations she can't meet. Setting her feet down on the rugged and difficult path by the sea, the answer begins to unfold. It's a chance encounter with a voice on the radio that sparks a realisation that she has Asperger's Syndrome.

The Electricity of Every Living Thing tells the story of the year in which Katherine comes to terms with her diagnosis. It leads to a re-evaluation of her life so far - a kinder one, which finally allows her to be different rather than simply awkward, arrogant or unfeeling. The physical and psychological journeys become inextricably entwined, and as Katherine finds her way across the untameable coast, she also finds the way to herself.

What readers are saying about The Electricity of Every Living Thing:

'This book showed a realistic view of how autism feels to some people, and it's explained so well'

'The astonishing sensitivity and awareness in her writing, both about the beautiful landscapes and nature around on her walks, and in relation to her family, friends and self put paid to many outdated myths about what it is like to be autistic'

'Compelling and transformative'

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781409172512
Number of pages: 288
Weight: 270 g
Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 26 mm

You may also be interested in...

This is Going to Hurt
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Lowborn
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
Made In Scotland
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
In Your Defence
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Salt Path
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Educated
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Becoming
Added to basket
£25.00   £19.99
Hardback
Break Point
Added to basket
£20.00   £14.99
Hardback
Queen Victoria
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback
First Man In
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Corfu Trilogy
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
Unnatural Causes
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Notes on a Nervous Planet
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Listening to the Animals: Becoming The Supervet
Added to basket
The Secret Barrister
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Language of Kindness
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.