The Education of Ivy Edwards (Paperback)
  • The Education of Ivy Edwards (Paperback)
zoom

The Education of Ivy Edwards (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99 £7.49
Paperback 336 Pages / Published: 13/08/2020
  • Save £1.50
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

'Funny, very frank, filthy . . . will delight fans of Fleabag' Yorkshire Times

'An absolute joy' Daisy Buchanan, author of Insatiable

'Raw, unapologetic and pretty damn relatable' Heat

'Gritty, surprising, honest' Laura Jane Williams, author of Our Stop

*A No. 1 Bestseller in Dark Humorous Comedy on Kindle*

_____________________

Adult life is hard. Send help.

Ivy Edwards is thirty-one years old, funny, shameless, and a bit of a romantic.

She's also currently trying not to cry in the office toilet.

Partly because she's just run out of money for fags. A bit because her mum continues to annoy her. Definitely not because she's just been dumped by her fiance.

With her London life in shambles and her family miles away in the Welsh valleys, Ivy doesn't actually feel like she belongs anywhere.

At least, she has her friends - and a bottle of vodka.

Embarking on a journey of singlehood, Ivy is about to discover that sometimes, having your life fall apart can be surprisingly fun.

_____________________

Get ready for Ivy...

The Education of Ivy Edwards is perfect for fans of Dolly Alderton's Everything I Know About Love, Holly Bourne's How Do You Like Me Now?, Emer McLysaght's Oh My God, What a Complete Aisling, and Phoebe Waller-Bridge's Fleabag.

'Bloody brilliant. Grab a copy and some vodka' Melanie Blake, author of The Thunder Girls

'Gritty, surprising, redemptive' Laura Jane Willams

'Smart, bittersweet and extremely funny . . . so perceptive and REAL' Daisy Buchanan, author of How to Be a Grown Up

'This book will make you laugh out loud one minute and have you reaching for the tissues the next' Heat

'Tovey hits that sweet spot of sharp dialogue and authentic characters that are well-rounded, real, and messy' Abigail Mann, author of The Lonely Fajita

'Like that trusted friend who'll give you a 'cwtch' (Welsh hug), check your mascara and then take you to get hammered on vodka martinis. . . warm, witty and occasionally filthy . . . and full of heart' Nicola Mostyn, author of The Gods of Love

'Reminiscent of Laura and Tyler's escapades in Emma Jane Unsworth's Animals . . . gets into the nitty gritty of heartbreak' Netgalley reviewer

'Feel good and hilarious' Netgalley reviewer

'31-year-old Ivy's life is derailed dramatically when her fiance dumps her, with no warning, just 5 minutes after they've had sex. A feel good and hilarious look at breaking up, self-indulgence and self-discovery' Girl Reads Books

'I could really empathise with . . . the struggles of not belonging and trying to survive London when life has not gone to plan' Netgalley reviewer

'The Education of Ivy Edwards is a whirlwind of a read and proved to be a great distraction from the current climate. . . .Ivy's mum might be my favourite character, she's bonkers and I loved her!' Eleanor Reads Books

'A very enjoyable read' Netgalley reviewer

'Rich in dialogue . . . it's a novel about realising that sometimes your greatest enemy is yourself' Netgalley reviewer

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780349424705
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 230 g
Dimensions: 196 x 126 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A warm, witty and occasionally filthy story of breaking up, breaking down and becoming a truer version of yourself. Quirky, astute and full of heart, like that trusted friend who'll give you a 'cwtch' (Welsh hug), check your mascara and then take you to get hammered on vodka martinis. - Nicola Mostyn, author of The Gods of Love

One of the most accurate depictions I've come across about the tipping point that is your late twenties.

'Raw, unapologetic and pretty damn relatable . . . a brilliant debut' - Heat

Gritty, surprising, redemptive, honest and confronting, there's an Ivy Edwards in all of us!

Smart, bittersweet and extremely funny . . . so perceptive and REAL

An absolute joy. . . reminds me of some of my all time favourites - Adults, Not Working, The To-Do List

You may also be interested in...

The Dark Remains
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
The Beekeeper of Aleppo
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
The Sentinel
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Hamnet
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
Klara and the Sun
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Freed
Added to basket
£8.99   £4.49
Paperback
The Girl with the Louding Voice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Blunt Force
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Pine
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Darkest Evening
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£14.99   £7.49
Hardback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£14.99   £10.99
Hardback
A Slow Fire Burning
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback

“A fabulously riotous debut”

This has probably already been said but The Education of Ivy Edwards reminded me very much of a cross between the rude candour of Fleabag and the chaos of Bridget Jones. Win/win for me!

Ivy lives in London but is... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1
Micky - bookphenomena

“A gritty break-up read”

THE EDUCATION OF IVY EDWARDS was months of a journey in Ivy’s life as she navigated some of the biggest life changes imaginable. Ivy was a thirty-something protagonist that was incredibly real, irritations to boot.... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“Where's the story?”

I found this book to have a complete lack of storyline. I kept waiting for SOMETHING to happen, but the entire book felt like a boring one-sided conversation. It was unfortunately littered with spelling mistakes too,... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.