The Edge of Dark (Paperback)
  • The Edge of Dark (Paperback)
zoom

The Edge of Dark (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99
Paperback 480 Pages / Published: 12/03/2015
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Be careful what you wish for. Jane believes in keeping her promises, but a deathbed vow sets her on a twisting path of deceit and joy that takes her from the dark secrets of Holmwood House in York to the sign of the golden lily in London's Mincing Lane. Getting what you want, Jane discovers, comes at a price. For the child that she longed for, the child she promised to love and to keep safe, turns out to be a darker spirit than she could ever have imagined.
Over four centuries later, Roz Acclam remembers nothing of the fire that killed her family - or of the brother who set it. Trying on a beautiful Elizabethan necklace found in the newly restored Holmwood House triggers disturbing memories of the past at last - but the past Roz remembers is not her own . . .
A dark, page-turning tale from Pamela Hartshorne, author of The Memory of Midnight and Time's Echo, and a perfect read for fans of Barbara Erskine and Diana Gabaldon's Outlander series.

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 9781447249559
Number of pages: 480
Weight: 343 g
Dimensions: 198 x 130 x 30 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
What can I say? I LOVED this book . . . . I loved the whole time-slip part of the novel, and it was so well-written that it became completely believable . . . If you enjoy historical fiction, and have enjoyed previous authors such as Barbara Erskine and Deborah Harkness (although less of the supernatural in this novel!) then you will LOVE Pamela Hartshorne. * Reading Room With A View *
With each successive novel, Pamela Hartshorne's writing goes from strength to strength. There is no doubt that she has captured the idea of the time slip/dual narrative historical novel to perfection and she continues to enthral, beguile and entertain. Recommended if you like dual time narratives by Barbara Erskine, Susanna Kearsley, Rachel Hore. * JaffaReadsToo *
With richly evocative depictions of Jane's life in the sixteenth century, I loved how the historical period was brought to life. Coupled with the creepy atmosphere of the present Holmwood House and some dark, vengeful characters haunting both Jane and Roz, The Edge Of Dark is a deliciously compulsive read. I became so completely engrossed in this book, the world around me disappeared along with several hours of my day. I loved this book, and would highly recommend it to fans of historical fiction and timeslip novels. It's one of my personal favourites. * Cosybooks.com *
An entertaining, compelling and genuinely eerie read. * shereadsnovels.wordpress.com *
The Edge of Dark is the first Pamela Hartshorne novel I've read but it certainly won't be the last . . . This is a fantastic page turner, filled with twists and turns and a great cast of characters. It is at times thrillingly dark as the title suggests and I can't wait to read the author's previous books. This novel will be perfect for fans of Tudor fiction such as Philippa Gregory and of course fans of time slip fiction such as that of Barbara Erskine. * LisaReadsBooks *

You may also be interested in...

If Cats Disappeared From The World
Added to basket
An Unsuitable Match
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Crazy Rich Asians
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Break
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Winter
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Milkman
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Conversations with Friends
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Lethal White
Added to basket
£20.00   £13.99
Hardback
In a House of Lies
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
After the Party
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Macbeth
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Book of Life
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Norse Mythology
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Uncommon Type
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine
Added to basket

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.