Find your perfect holiday reading
The Eagle's Prey (Eagles of the Empire 5) - Eagle (Paperback)
  • The Eagle's Prey (Eagles of the Empire 5) - Eagle (Paperback)
zoom

The Eagle's Prey (Eagles of the Empire 5) - Eagle (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 480 Pages / Published: 13/11/2008
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket

IF YOU DON'T KNOW SIMON SCARROW, YOU DON'T KNOW ROME!

THE EAGLE'S PREY is the thrilling fifth novel in Simon Scarrow's bestselling Eagles of the Empire series. A must read for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden. Praise for Simon Scarrow's gripping historical novels: 'Ferocious and compelling' Daily Express

Britannia, AD 44. The time has come to claim Britain for the Empire. Centurions Cato and Macro are preparing for what their leaders say will be the final battle against those natives refusing to accept the civilising force of Rome. The British savages will surely stand no chance against the might of the unstoppable Roman army.

But young Cato is more concerned about hot-headed cohort commander, Maximius, than about the enemy, and with Roman troops being brutally slaughtered, even grizzled veteran Macro is having doubts about the promised ease of their success. Will they be victorious - or will the battle cost both of them more than they could ever imagine?

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9780755349999
Number of pages: 480
Weight: 382 g
Dimensions: 199 x 132 x 30 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Praise for Simon Scarrow's novels: 'I really don't need this kind of competition... It's a great read' -- Bernard Cornwell
Scarrow's [novels] rank with the best * Independent *
Gripping and moving * The Times *
A satisfyingly bloodthirsty, bawdy romp...perfect for Bernard Cornwell addicts who will relish its historical detail and fast-paced action. Storming stuff * Good Book Guide *
Ferocious and compelling * Daily Express *
A Rome full of HOUSE OF CARDS treachery... Roman soldiering at its very best - even by Scarrow's high standards - in this winning chunk of historical fiction * Sunday Sport *
Rollicking good fun * Mail on Sunday *
A fast-moving and exceptionally well-paced historical thriller * BBC History Magazine *

You may also be interested in...

An American Marriage
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Paris Echo
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Labyrinth of the Spirits
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Secret Commonwealth: The Book of Dust Volume Two
Added to basket
Agent Running in the Field
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Clock Dance
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Sweet Sorrow
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Secret Hours
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Transcription
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Nine Perfect Strangers
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
When All is Said
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Conversations with Friends
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Middle England
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
I Owe You One
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine
Added to basket
Unsheltered
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

“wow, wow, wow and more wow”

i just love simon scarrow, by far the top dog in historical fiction
i have read all of them so far and there are just amazing. this book has a lot of betrayel involved and a lot of daring acts. the general plan to... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 11

“The Eagle's Prey”

Anyone who likes Bernard Cornwell will be Blown away by Simon Scarrows books, The Eagle series has been one I have HAD to find them all and read them in sequence.They are nail biting but clenching eye popping action... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 11

“Action-full”

The other 2reviewers are accurate - Mr Scarrow's books are something else and I agree, if you like Bernard C., you will also apprecaite Simon S's books.
I am sure a major tv film would be a hit and if he has... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 8

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.