• Sign In / Register
  • Help
  • Basket0
The Eagle's Conquest (Eagles of the Empire 2) - Eagle (Paperback)
  • The Eagle's Conquest (Eagles of the Empire 2) - Eagle (Paperback)
zoom

The Eagle's Conquest (Eagles of the Empire 2) - Eagle (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 448 Pages / Published: 02/10/2008
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

IF YOU DON'T KNOW SIMON SCARROW, YOU DON'T KNOW ROME!

THE EAGLE'S CONQUEST is the thrilling second novel in Simon Scarrow's bestselling Eagles of the Empire series. Essential reading for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden. Praise for Simon Scarrow's compelling historical novels: 'Gripping and moving' The Times

Britannia, AD 43. Bleak, rainy and full of vicious savages, Britannia is a land that Cato, solider of the Second Legion, wishes Rome didn't want to conquer.

And as right-hand man to Centurion Macro, Cato sees the very worst of his native Britons, battling alongside his commander in bloodier combat than he could ever have imagined.

But the Britons are fighting back with Roman weapons - which means someone in their own ranks is supplying arms to the enemy. Cato and Macro are about to discover even deadlier adversaries than the British barbarians...

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9780755349968
Number of pages: 448
Weight: 303 g
Dimensions: 197 x 130 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Praise for Simon Scarrow's novels: 'I really don't need this kind of competition... It's a great read' * Bernard Cornwell *
Scarrow's [novels] rank with the best * Independent *
Gripping and moving * The Times *
A satisfyingly bloodthirsty, bawdy romp...perfect for Bernard Cornwell addicts who will relish its historical detail and fast-paced action. Storming stuff * Good Book Guide *
Ferocious and compelling * Daily Express *
A Rome full of HOUSE OF CARDS treachery... Roman soldiering at its very best - even by Scarrow's high standards - in this winning chunk of historical fiction * Sunday Sport *
Rollicking good fun * Mail on Sunday *
A fast-moving and exceptionally well-paced historical thriller * BBC History Magazine *

You may also be interested in...

The Stars are Fire
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
How to Stop Time
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Into the Water
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Little Fires Everywhere
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Call Me By Your Name
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine
Added to basket
A Gentleman in Moscow
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Norse Mythology
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The House of Unexpected Sisters
Added to basket
A Family Recipe
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Midnight Line
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Reservoir 13
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The History of Bees
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Handmaid's Tale
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Silent Companions
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The End We Start From
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“Awesome sequel, must read!”

When reading the first eagle series book "UNDER THE EAGLE" I greatly enjoyed the first book and then set my eyes on the the second one "THE EAGLES CONQUEST". This book is a rip-roaring read and has... More

Paperback edition
4th June 2010
Helpful? Upvote 19

“What more can a book give?”

I don't often read or review adult books - as a teenager, I often long for the simplicity of genres that ignore real-life problems. But this series is different. Historically accurate and deviously gripping, this... More

Paperback edition
20th October 2011
Helpful? Upvote 12

“The Eagle's Conquest”

Fantastic read, Scarrow, in my opinion is up there with the likes of Conn iggulden and bernard cromwell.

Paperback edition
30th December 2008
Helpful? Upvote 12

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.