The Dust Never Settles (Hardback)
  • The Dust Never Settles (Hardback)
zoom

The Dust Never Settles (Hardback)

(author)
6 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£16.99
Hardback 384 Pages / Published: 07/10/2021
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 48 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

A breathtaking work of new magic realism, Lickorish Quinn’s debut follows a pregnant woman who returns to Lima to sell her ancestral home, only to find the house inhabited by ghosts that won’t let her be.

'I have seen ghosts. They will not rest. The whispers of the past are all around...'

Anais Echevarria is returning to Lima to sell her ancestral home, the notorious 'yellow house' that looms over the sprawling capital below, its history woven into the fabric of the city. But concealed within its walls are spectres from the past that demand her attention, the echoing voices of the family who lived in this grand home, and the injustices on which both the country and the house were built.

In Lima, where elapsed time coats every surface like a layer of fine dust, these ghosts will not rest until the sins of the past are atoned for. And, while Anais comes to terms with her history, the present threatens to overwhelm her. Pregnant, nervous and alone, what begins as an uneasy homecoming soon becomes a reckoning with secrets that refuse to stay buried.

Perfect for fans of Isabel Allende and Kazuo Ishiguro, this hauntingly beautiful debut will seduce, entice and mesmerise.

Publisher: Oneworld Publications
ISBN: 9780861540440
Number of pages: 384
Dimensions: 234 x 153 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Once inside this decaying mansion, [Anais] and we are transfixed by a series of spectres from the Echeverrias' history. Lickorish Quinn's best sentences... flow through present participles that conjure sights and sounds... strange, and spectacular.'

-- Sunday Telegraph

'A heady blend of Isabel Allende and Gabriel Garcia Marquez, in which stories and visions proliferate dizzyingly in all directions, this is an impressive first outing.'

-- Daily Mail

'An absolute must-read. I was glued to its pages from the first to the last and am still struggling to believe that such an accomplished creation is Quinn's debut... A wonderfully immersive experience.'

-- Literary Flits

'The writing is brilliant, the scope of the novel is quite astounding especially given it is a debut... Did it make my head spin - yes it did. Would I recommend it on to others - yes I would. Would I read her next novel - yes I would.'

-- Independent Book Reviews

'Lickorish Quinn's magnificent debut enchants from first page to last... A breath-taking writer of singular voice.'

-- Patrick Flanery, author of Absolution

'A mesmerising feat of imagination and a masterful debut.'

-- Paul Lynch, author of Irish Novel of the Year winner, Grace

'Karina Lickorish Quinn is the new face of magic realism. She has given it, through Anais, a female body and soul... She makes it sing, she makes it work and she has built a world that stands on its own three feet. Like its title, The Dust Never Settles will stay floating inside the reader, impossible to forget or unsee.'

-- Laia Jufresa, author of Umami

'An innovative and precisely imagined exploration of identity, family, ghosts, and the intersection between personal and national history. It swept me away.'

-- Clare Fisher, author of All the Good Things

'The Dust Never Settles is ambitious, fascinating and endlessly inventive - a time-bending, kaleidoscopic fever dream in which the living coexist with the dead, and the past with present.'

-- Luiza Sauma, author of Everything You Ever Wanted

'Karina Lickorish Quinn has rendered on the page a person and a place in all their conflicted histories so convincingly and dizzyingly and singularly that the very ink haunts. It leaves a shadow text on the reader's psyche. The Dust Never Settles is a marvelous, vertiginous work that mercilessly conveys the post-colonial state.'

-- Caoilinn Hughes, author of The Wild Laughter

'Always colourful, its magical realism beautifully realised, this novel brims with Peruvian folklore and history as Anais negotiates ghosts from the past and comes to terms with long-buried secrets.'

-- Daily Mail

'The sheer scope and ambition of this extraordinary novel mesmerises with its lucidity and force of imagination... A superb debut novel by one of the most exciting British Latinx voices of a generation.'

-- Morning Star

'A love letter to Peru and Latin America as a whole, to the author's ancestors, and to the endless ghosts of the past. This ambitiously crafted book stayed with me long after I finished reading.'

-- Leo Boix, author of Ballad of a Happy Immigrant

'Rarely has a haunting been so eloquent and arresting, so painterly and polyphonic, demanding urgently to be read.'

-- Chloe Aridjis, author of Sea Monsters

You may also be interested in...

How to Kill Your Family
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
It Ends With Us
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Murder On The Christmas Express
Added to basket
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
Beautiful World, Where Are You
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
It Starts With Us
Added to basket
£14.99   £7.49
Hardback
The Island of Missing Trees
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Klara and the Sun
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Mad Honey
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Satsuma Complex
Added to basket
£16.99   £8.49
Hardback
Lessons in Chemistry
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Snow Country
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Ink Black Heart
Added to basket
£25.00   £19.99
Hardback
The Bullet That Missed
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback

“What a debut!”

Thank you to the publishers for this early review copy, I will confess I was entirely sold by the cover.
The genre however, is not something that I would usually pick up, so I am prepared to admit I had a few aborted... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 7
kendrafortune

“Not for me”

On the one hand, reading this book I can tell it is beautifully written in terms of the prose, but on the other hand any book where it takes pages and pages and pages for a girl to fall off a balcony isn't my cup... More

Hardback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 5

“Absorbing, Intriguing, and Unsettling”

My thanks to Oneworld Publications and NetGalley for a review copy of this book.

The Dust Never Settles is described by the author as her ‘love letter’ to her country Peru. Opening with mythology/origin stories which... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 4

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.