The Dublin Railway Murder (Hardback)
  • The Dublin Railway Murder (Hardback)
zoom

The Dublin Railway Murder (Hardback)

(author)
£14.99
Hardback 400 Pages / Published: 05/11/2020
  • Coming soon

Awaiting publication

  • This item has been added to your basket

An astonishing real-life locked-room murder mystery set in Victorian Dublin, packed with gripping, perplexing twists. This meticulously researched true-crime tale reads like a quintessential Victorian thriller and is perfect for fans of The Suspicions of Mr Whicher.

One morning in November 1856 George Little, the chief cashier of the Broadstone railway terminus in Dublin, was found dead, lying in a pool of blood beneath his desk. His head had been almost severed; a knife lay nearby, but strangely the office door was locked, apparently from the inside. This was a deed of almost unheard-of brutality for the peaceful Irish capital: while violent crime was commonplace in Victorian London, the courts of Dublin had not convicted a single murderer in more than thirty years.

From the first day of the police investigation it was apparent that this was no ordinary case. Detectives struggled to understand how the killer could have entered and then escaped from a locked room, and why thousands of pounds in gold and silver had been left untouched at the scene of the crime. Three of Scotland Yard's most celebrated sleuths were summoned to assist the enquiry, but all returned to London baffled. It was left to Superintendent Augustus Guy, the head of Ireland's first detective force, to unravel the mystery.

Five suspects were arrested and released, with every step of the salacious case followed by the press, clamouring for answers. Under intense public scrutiny, Superintendent Guy found himself blocked at almost every turn. But then a local woman came forward, claiming to know the murderer....

Publisher: Vintage Publishing
ISBN: 9781787302396
Number of pages: 400
Dimensions: 240 x 156 mm

You may also be interested in...

The Shankill Butchers
Added to basket
Complete Jack The Ripper
Added to basket
The Real Peaky Blinders
Added to basket
Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil
Added to basket
Underground
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Jigsaw Man
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Pembrokeshire Murders
Added to basket
Glasgow: The Real Mean City
Added to basket
Escobar
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Gangs Of Manchester
Added to basket
Underworld London
Added to basket
Gang Wars of the North
Added to basket
World's Top Twenty Worst Crimes
Added to basket
The Ice Man
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Complete and Essential Jack the Ripper
Added to basket
I Heard You Paint Houses
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.