The Dragons of Heaven - Dragons of Heaven (Paperback)
  • The Dragons of Heaven - Dragons of Heaven (Paperback)
zoom

The Dragons of Heaven - Dragons of Heaven (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 04/06/2015
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Would you deal with the devil to save the world? Street magician Missy Masters inherited more than the usual genetic cocktail from her estranged grandfather - she also got his preternatural control of shadow and his legacy as the vigilante hero, Mr Mystic. Problem is, being a pulp hero takes more than a good fedora and a knack for witty banter, and Missy lacks the one thing Mr Mystic had: experience. Determined to live up to her birthright, Missy journeys to China to seek the aid of Lung Huang, the ancient master who once guided her grandfather. Lung Huang isn't quite as ancient as Missy expected, and she finds herself embroiled in the politics of Lung Huang and his siblings, the nine dragon-guardians of creation. When Lung Di, Lung Huang's brother and mortal enemy, raises a magical barrier that cuts off China from the rest of the world, it falls to the new Mr Mystic to prove herself by taking down the barrier. But is it too great a task for a lone adventure hero? File Under: Fantasy [ Sins of the Grandfather | Missy and Master | Geek Fu | Little Trouble in Big China ]

Publisher: Watkins Media
ISBN: 9780857664327
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 366 g
Dimensions: 197 x 130 x 30 mm
Edition: New edition


MEDIA REVIEWS
"All the fun of pulp adventure, filtered through a twenty-first century lens. Helms isn't content simply to play in the genre; she questions it, complicates it, adds layers it didn't have eighty years ago. Missy's journey to become Mr. Mystic isn't the usual heroic training montage - but it's a hell of a lot of fun." - Marie Brennan, author of A Natural History of Dragons-"Dragons of Heaven combines superheroes, romance, ancient mythological China, and does it right." - Cassie Alexander, author of the Edie Spence series; "A tough, witty young woman who inherited her superhero grandfather's powers barrels through a rollicking Big Trouble in Little China-esque tale filled with magic, monsters and wisecracks. I loved it." - Alex Bledsoe, author of The Hum and the Shiver; "In her first novel The Dragons of Heaven, Alyc Helms explores various San Franciscos (the city as it is, was, and looks to passing tourists), as well as the creatures different cultures and their myths collectively call "dragons", with an emphasis on the Chinese version. Helms keeps this complicated mix of genres, worlds, and eras (modern, historic, mythic) in balance and in motion throughout the book, leaving me eager for more." - Farren Miller, Locus magazine; "The Dragons of Heaven combines superheroes, romance, ancient mythological China, and does it right. The world-building is stunning, and Missy's challenges feel incredibly real as do her reactions to amazing worlds she's put in. In fighting against the machinations of overly honorable yet incredibly nefarious ancient dragons, its clear she's the best chance humanity's got." - Cassie Alexander, author of the Edie Spence series; "The Dragons of Heaven is a fun read. It is a genre blend that combines urban fantasy with folkloric myth, the superhero comic, romance, and the complex family dynamics featured in 'mainstream' fiction. There is magical action driving the plot aplenty, there are moments of humor and pop culture reference. But there are also great doses of introspection, of character development for Missy, and deep themes at its core." - Skiffy & Fanty; "If you are looking for a fresh urban fantasy with superheroes, Chinese folklore, realistic heroine and a great story, then you must try it out!" - Bookworm Dreams; "The Dragons of Heaven straddles the divisions between mythology, pulp adventure, superhero comic, and bathetic tragedy. The Dragons of Heaven is fun. It's a mashup of epic genres. It's an action-packed romance spanning decades and continents. Recommended for fans of Jack Burton, Astro City, and Tea from an Empty Cup." - The Dinglehopper; "A fun debut novel that mashes up Chinese folklore, urban fantasy, comic book heroes and martial arts adventure in a lively package." - Wyrmflight; "If you want a book that is fun, funny, action-packed, thrilling, a bit romantic and sexy, joyful, whip-smart, and a good romp, The Dragons of Heaven really should be up your street." - Bastian's Book Reviews; "A nice spin on the superhero novel genre and a rather delightful reading experience as well." - The Geeky Guide to Nearly Everything

You may also be interested in...

Six Crimson Cranes
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Piranesi
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Wisdom of Crowds
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue
Added to basket
£17.99   £15.99
Hardback
Norse Mythology
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.99
Paperback
House of Earth and Blood
Added to basket
Ninth House
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Priory of the Orange Tree
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback
Piranesi
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Mordew
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
Added to basket
The Last House on Needless Street
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
If It Bleeds
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Fahrenheit 451
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone
Added to basket
The Winter Garden
Added to basket

“Dragons, Foxes, Magic and Myth.”

Missy Masters has inherited her grandfather’s ability to control shadows, so she uses that skill to continue his legacy.

Like a more feminist The Shadow, 'The Dragons of Heaven' is an action-packed blend of... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 13

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.