• Sign In
  • Help
  • My Basket0
The Dragon Round (Hardback)
  • The Dragon Round (Hardback)
zoom

The Dragon Round (Hardback)

(author)
£16.99
Hardback 336 Pages / Published: 11/08/2016
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

Check Marketplace availability

A swashbuckling adventure with a dark side for fans of George R.R. Martin and Naomi Novik-when a ship captain is stranded on a deserted island by his mutinous crew; he finds a baby dragon that just might be the key to his salvation...and his revenge.
He only wanted justice. Instead he got revenge.
Jeryon has been the captain of the Comber for over a decade. He knows the rules. He likes the rules. But not everyone on his ship agrees. After a monstrous dragon attacks the galley, the surviving crewmembers decide to take the ship for themselves and give Jeryon and his self-righteous apothecary "the captain's chance": a small boat with no rudder, no sails, and nothing but the clothes on his back to survive on the open sea.
Fighting for their lives against the elements, Jeryon and his companion land on an island that isn't as deserted as they originally thought. They find a baby dragon that, if trained, could be their way home. But as Jeryon and the dragon grow closer, the captain begins to realize that even if he makes it off the island, his old life won't be waiting for him and in order get justice, he'll have to take it for himself.
From a Pushcart Prize nominated poet and speculative short story writer, The Dragon Round combines a rich world, desperate characters and gorgeous, literary fiction into a timeless tale of revenge.

Publisher: Simon & Schuster
ISBN: 9781501133206
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 492 g
Dimensions: 229 x 152 x 33 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
"Power paints his scenes with vivid and meticulous detail, lending real force to the struggles his characters face, and takes his tale of revenge in unexpected and refreshing directions. Think you know where this story is going? Think again." -- Marie Brennan, author of the Natural History of Dragons series and the Doppelganger duology
"A brilliant story of dragons, trade, treachery, and the sea, told with scintillating immediacy--the best fantasy I've read in years." -- K.M. McKinley, author of The Iron Ship
"Power's promising first novel mixes dark naval adventure with classic fantasy in a tale of mutiny with a twist...[He] adeptly mashes together Horatio Hornblower-style adventure with the art of training dragons and a hint of backstabbing treachery for a thoroughly enjoyable tale." * Publishers Weekly *
"Drawing inspiration from The Count of Monte Cristo, Pushcart Prize nominee Stephen S. Power uses his poetic power to narrate a tale of a man living only for retribution. . . . Power contrasts the captain's example of sacrifice, discipline, and honor with the self-interest, indolence, and infamy of his enemies. The captain's primary motivation, revenge, leads to a surprising but fitting conclusion." * World Magazine *
"[The Dragon Round] had me hooked from the very beginning and didn't let me go until the epic conclusion. Even then, it left me wanting more. . . . This book will appeal to many readers as it has the aspects of a murder mystery, a swashbuckling adventure, and a vengeance story all rolled into one." * LitPick.com *
"Power's debut brings to mind Naomi Novik's "Temeraire" series, with its dragons and maritime themes, and will keep readers engrossed as they follow his protagonist's quest for survival and -vengeance." * Library Journal *

You may also be interested in...

An Unkindness of Magicians
Added to basket
World of Warcraft: Arthas
Added to basket
Prey: Book One: Hell's Heart
Added to basket
World of Warcraft: Stormrage
Added to basket
Elusive Salvation
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Urban Enemies
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Ascendance
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
World of Warcraft: War Crimes
Added to basket
Borderline
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
World of Warcraft: Wolfheart
Added to basket
The Philosopher's Flight
Added to basket
Legacies #2: Best Defense
Added to basket
Legacies: Book 1: Captain to Captain
Added to basket
World of Warcraft: War Crimes
Added to basket
World of Warcraft: The Shattering
Added to basket

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.