The Double Life of Mistress Kit Kavanagh (Paperback)
  • The Double Life of Mistress Kit Kavanagh (Paperback)
zoom

The Double Life of Mistress Kit Kavanagh (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99
Paperback 448 Pages / Published: 11/02/2016
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

First published in hardback as Kit.

An unforgettable historical romance based on an astonishing true story from international bestseller Marina Fiorato - perfect for fans of Poldark and The Scandalous Lady W.

Dublin 1702. Irish beauty Kit Kavanagh has everything she could want in life. Newly married, she runs a successful alehouse with her beloved husband Richard. The wars that rage in Europe over the Spanish throne seem a world away.

But everything changes on the night that Richard simply disappears. Finding the Queen's shilling at the bottom of Richard's tankard, Kit realizes that her husband has been taken for a soldier.

Kit follows Richard's trail across the battlefields of Italy in the Duke of Marlborough's regiment. Living as a man, risking her life in battle, she forms a close bond with her wry and handsome commanding officer Captain Ross.

When she is forced to flee the regiment following a duel, she evades capture by dressing once more as a woman. But the war is not over for Kit. Her beauty catches the eye of the scheming Duke of Ormonde, who recruits her to spy upon the French. In her finery she meets Captain Ross once again, who seems just as drawn to the woman as he was to the soldier.

Torn between Captain Ross and her loyalty to her husband, and under the orders of the English Crown, Kit finds that her life is in more danger now than on the battlefield.

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
ISBN: 9781473610491
Number of pages: 448
Weight: 314 g
Dimensions: 196 x 131 x 29 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Fiorato has written a delightful, if undemanding, adventure story. Our heroine is feisty, the captain is dashing and the plot rollicks along. Great fun. * Times *
Wonderful . . . hard to put down. A truly imaginative piece, both touching and delightful. * Jenny Agutter *
Richly detailed and evocative . . . an unforgettable historical love story. Beautifully written and worth losing yourself in. * Candis Magazine *
In Marina Fiorato's beautifully imagined novel, these two witty, fierce characters once again get to take centre stage . . . Not only does she fill out the details of the protagonists' lives, transforming them into characters with backgrounds, histories and contexts, but she creates meaningful and inventive narratives that inform the play . . . this book is a real pleasure. * We Love This Book *
Entertaining and witty * Daily Mail *
Fiorato creates her own masterpiece * Booklist *
A great read * Best *
Excellent, swashbuckling fun, with a perfectly judged ending * Daily Mail *

You may also be interested in...

The Empty Throne
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Bella Poldark
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Shogun
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Heresy
Added to basket
£8.99   £5.99
Paperback
Wars of the Roses: Trinity
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.49
Paperback
Tipping The Velvet
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Ross Poldark
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Name Of The Rose
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Lamentation
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
An Echo in the Bone
Added to basket
The Tea Planter's Wife
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Leopard
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Written in My Own Heart's Blood
Added to basket
Bring up the Bodies
Added to basket
The King's Curse
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.49
Paperback

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.