The Doctor Will See You Now: The highs and lows of my life as an NHS GP (Hardback)
  • The Doctor Will See You Now: The highs and lows of my life as an NHS GP (Hardback)
zoom

The Doctor Will See You Now: The highs and lows of my life as an NHS GP (Hardback)

(author)
9 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£16.99 £14.99
Hardback 272 Pages / Published: 20/08/2020
  • Save £2.00
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

A fascinating, heart-warming and frequently hilarious memoir of life as an NHS general practitioner, Khan’s riveting account of patient consultations is a profoundly revealing portrait of healthcare in twenty-first century Britain. Perfect for fans of Adam Kay and Joanna Canon, The Doctor Will See You Now is non-fiction in the rudest of health.    

SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER


60 hours a week

240 patients


10 minutes to make a diagnosis


Welcome to the surgery.


Charting his 15 years working as a GP, from rookie to becoming a partner in one of the UK's busiest surgeries, Dr Amir Khan's stories are as much about community and care as they are about blood tests and bodily fluids.

Along the way, he introduces us to the patients that have taught him about love, loss and family - from the regulars to the rarities - giving him the most unbelievable highs and crushing lows, and often in just 10 minutes. There is the unsuspecting pregnant woman about to give birth at the surgery; the man offering to drop his trousers and take a urine sample there and then; the family who needs support through bereavement, the vulnerable child who will need continuing care for a long-term health condition; and, of course, the onset of COVID-19 that tested the surgery at every twist and turn. But, it's all in a day's work for Amir.

The Doctor Will See You Now is a powerful story of hope, love and compassion, but it's also a rare insider account of what really goes on behind those surgery doors.

Publisher: Ebury Publishing
ISBN: 9781529107401
Number of pages: 272
Weight: 468 g
Dimensions: 240 x 160 x 25 mm

You may also be interested in...

Yearbook
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
Becoming
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Paperback
Three Women
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Salt Path
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Secret Barrister
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
In Black and White
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
House of Glass
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
One Two Three Four: The Beatles in Time
Added to basket
Some Kids I Taught and What They Taught Me
Added to basket
Philip
Added to basket
£25.00   £21.99
Hardback
Women Don't Owe You Pretty
Added to basket
Making It
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
The Power Of Hope
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Adventures Of The Yorkshire Shepherdess
Added to basket
Real Estate
Added to basket
£10.99
Hardback
The Bell Jar
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.99
Paperback

“Such a great honest read”

From when i saw Amir Khan on GP Behind Closed doors i thought he was great. - the perfect definition of what a GP should be. When i heard he was releasing a book i was very curious to read it.. I was lucky to get a... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 5

“A Wonderful Memoir!”

Author, Dr Amir Khan first came to the attention of the British public, in a TV series entitled ‘GP’s Behind Closed Doors’, which followed a typical day in the lives of hard working GP’s in a busy NHS inner city... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 4

“Decent medical memoir from NHS GP”

This book is another in the trend of doctor’s memoirs of the careers, this one from a GP rather than the perspective of a hospital doctor. If you enjoy medical memoirs, you will probably enjoy this. It’s got some... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 4

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.