The Doctor Will See You Now: The highs and lows of my life as an NHS GP (Hardback)
  • The Doctor Will See You Now: The highs and lows of my life as an NHS GP (Hardback)
zoom

The Doctor Will See You Now: The highs and lows of my life as an NHS GP (Hardback)

(author)
£16.99
Hardback 272 Pages / Published: 20/08/2020
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10-15 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

A fascinating, heart-warming and frequently hilarious memoir of life as an NHS general practitioner, Khan’s riveting account of patient consultations is a profoundly revealing portrait of healthcare in twenty-first century Britain. Perfect for fans of Adam Kay and Joanna Canon, The Doctor Will See You Now is non-fiction in the rudest of health.    

SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER


60 hours a week

240 patients


10 minutes to make a diagnosis


Welcome to the surgery.


Charting his 15 years working as a GP, from rookie to becoming a partner in one of the UK's busiest surgeries, Dr Amir Khan's stories are as much about community and care as they are about blood tests and bodily fluids.

Along the way, he introduces us to the patients that have taught him about love, loss and family - from the regulars to the rarities - giving him the most unbelievable highs and crushing lows, and often in just 10 minutes. There is the unsuspecting pregnant woman about to give birth at the surgery; the man offering to drop his trousers and take a urine sample there and then; the family who needs support through bereavement, the vulnerable child who will need continuing care for a long-term health condition; and, of course, the onset of COVID-19 that tested the surgery at every twist and turn. But, it's all in a day's work for Amir.

The Doctor Will See You Now is a powerful story of hope, love and compassion, but it's also a rare insider account of what really goes on behind those surgery doors.

Publisher: Ebury Publishing
ISBN: 9781529107401
Number of pages: 272
Weight: 480 g
Dimensions: 240 x 162 x 27 mm

You may also be interested in...

And Away...
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Hope
Added to basket
£20.00   £14.99
Hardback
A Life on Our Planet
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Old Rage
Added to basket
£18.99   £9.49
Hardback
House Arrest
Added to basket
£6.99
Hardback
The Escape Artist
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
Burn After Writing
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Freezing Order
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Conversations on Love
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Diddly Squat
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Penguin Lessons
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Chums
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
In Wartime
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Storyteller
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Bringing in the Sheaves
Added to basket
Crying in H Mart
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback

“A Wonderful Memoir!”

Author, Dr Amir Khan first came to the attention of the British public, in a TV series entitled ‘GP’s Behind Closed Doors’, which followed a typical day in the lives of hard working GP’s in a busy NHS inner city... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 13

“Decent medical memoir from NHS GP”

This book is another in the trend of doctor’s memoirs of the careers, this one from a GP rather than the perspective of a hospital doctor. If you enjoy medical memoirs, you will probably enjoy this. It’s got some... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 10

“Such a great honest read”

From when i saw Amir Khan on GP Behind Closed doors i thought he was great. - the perfect definition of what a GP should be. When i heard he was releasing a book i was very curious to read it.. I was lucky to get a... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 9

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.