The Devil's Dice - A DI Meg Dalton thriller 1 (Paperback)
  • The Devil's Dice - A DI Meg Dalton thriller 1 (Paperback)
zoom

The Devil's Dice - A DI Meg Dalton thriller 1 (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 368 Pages / Published: 24/01/2019
  • In stock

In stock online

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Shortlisted for the CWA Debut Dagger Award

The Times Crime Book of the Month, April 2018

'A fascinating debut' The Sunday Times

'A touch of Agatha Christie, a dash of Ann Cleeves's Vera and a suitably moody setting in the Peaks...bring a formidable newcomer to British crime writing.' Daily Mail

***

A SHOCKING DEATH

A lawyer is found dead in a Peak District cave, his face ribboned with scratches.

A SINISTER MESSAGE

Amidst rumours of a local curse, DI Meg Dalton is convinced this is cold-blooded murder. There's just one catch - chiselled into the cave wall above the body is an image of the grim reaper and the dead man's initials, and it's been there for over a century.

A DEADLY GAME

As Meg battles to solve the increasingly disturbing case, it's clear someone knows her secrets. The murderer is playing games with Meg - and the dice are loaded...

A white-knuckle crime debut introducing DI Meg Dalton, perfect for fans of Broadchurch and Happy Valley.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780008214647
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 260 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 23 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'The Devil's Dice is a terrific debut by Roz Watkins; it teems with shivery atmosphere and introduces a cop quietly different from most of the women detectives in British crime fiction today.' The Times Crime Book of the Month.

'An impressive debut... A touch of Agatha Christie, a dash of Ann Cleeves's Vera and a suitably moody setting in the Peaks...bring a formidable newcomer to British crime writing.' Daily Mail

'A fascinating debut... Watkins brilliantly balances superstition and scepticism in this clever first novel.' Sunday Times

'The setting is dramatic, the characters are convincing and the motive for murder, when eventually uncovered, is interesting... A smart enjoyable debut.' The Literary Review

'Gripping... This week's hot read' Woman Magazine

'Clever and compelling...fans of Broadchurch and Happy Valley will enjoy this gripping thriller' Candis Magazine

'A fabulous book. I can't wait to meet DI Meg Dalton again' B A Paris

'An outstanding debut. The Devil's Dice had me gripped from the start' Stephen Booth

'Twisty, creepy, funny, and you may shed a tear too. More DI Meg Dalton please!' Caz Frear

'A fascinating debut with a deliciously old school mystery at its heart. I can't wait to see what Watkins does next!' Angela Clarke

'A pacy, twisty read that had me on the edge of my seat...what a brilliant debut!' KL Slater

'Exceptional debut.' Amanda Robson

'A humdinger of a debut - whip-smart and with a protagonist you're guaranteed to want to get behind' Mel McGrath

'A smart, intelligent police procedural and a well-crafted mystery set against a beautiful backdrop. Compelling reading.' Jane Isaac

'The plot instantly seizes the reader... A great start to a new series.' Vaseem Khan

You may also be interested in...

Christmas is Murder
Added to basket
The President's Daughter
Added to basket
The Guest List
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Silent Death
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Roots of Evil
Added to basket
A Song for the Dark Times
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
The Long Call
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
When Shadows Fall
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Westwind
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Lockdown
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Firewatching
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
How the Dead Speak
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Second Sleep
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Benefit of Hindsight
Added to basket
The Hunting Party
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Find Them Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“A pacy, intelligent read”

The Devil’s Dice has all the hallmarks of a great crime procedural – a flawed detective with something to prove, grumpy sceptical colleagues, a beautiful semi-rural setting and a brooding background of growing peril.... More

Hardback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 14
Mark

“Atmospheric”

When patent lawyer Peter Hamilton is found dead at a remote crag in the Peak District called The Devil’s Dice, police are surprised to find his initials cut - many years before - deep into the stone behind him. The... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.