Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
The Devil's Dice - A DI Meg Dalton thriller 1 (Hardback)
  • The Devil's Dice - A DI Meg Dalton thriller 1 (Hardback)
zoom

The Devil's Dice - A DI Meg Dalton thriller 1 (Hardback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£12.99
Hardback 368 Pages / Published: 08/03/2018
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Shortlisted for the CWA Debut Dagger Award

The Times Crime Book of the Month, April 2018

`A fascinating debut' The Sunday Times

`A touch of Agatha Christie, a dash of Ann Cleeves's Vera and a suitably moody setting in the Peaks...bring a formidable newcomer to British crime writing.' Daily Mail

***

A SHOCKING DEATH

A lawyer is found dead in a Peak District cave, his face ribboned with scratches.

A SINISTER MESSAGE

Amidst rumours of a local curse, DI Meg Dalton is convinced this is cold-blooded murder. There's just one catch - chiselled into the cave wall above the body is an image of the grim reaper and the dead man's initials, and it's been there for over a century.

A DEADLY GAME

As Meg battles to solve the increasingly disturbing case, it's clear someone knows her secrets. The murderer is playing games with Meg - and the dice are loaded...

A white-knuckle crime debut introducing DI Meg Dalton, perfect for fans of Broadchurch and Happy Valley.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780008214616
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 610 g
Dimensions: 240 x 159 x 32 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'The Devil's Dice is a terrific debut by Roz Watkins; it teems with shivery atmosphere and introduces a cop quietly different from most of the women detectives in British crime fiction today.' The Times Crime Book of the Month.

`An impressive debut... A touch of Agatha Christie, a dash of Ann Cleeves's Vera and a suitably moody setting in the Peaks...bring a formidable newcomer to British crime writing.' Daily Mail

'A fascinating debut... Watkins brilliantly balances superstition and scepticism in this clever first novel.' Sunday Times

`The setting is dramatic, the characters are convincing and the motive for murder, when eventually uncovered, is interesting... A smart enjoyable debut.' The Literary Review

`Gripping... This week's hot read' Woman Magazine

`Clever and compelling...fans of Broadchurch and Happy Valley will enjoy this gripping thriller' Candis Magazine

`A fabulous book. I can't wait to meet DI Meg Dalton again' B A Paris

`An outstanding debut. The Devil's Dice had me gripped from the start' Stephen Booth

`Twisty, creepy, funny, and you may shed a tear too. More DI Meg Dalton please!' Caz Frear

`A fascinating debut with a deliciously old school mystery at its heart. I can't wait to see what Watkins does next!' Angela Clarke

`A pacy, twisty read that had me on the edge of my seat...what a brilliant debut!' KL Slater

`Exceptional debut. Beautifully written and observed crime novel, with such well rounded maturity it was a pleasure to read from start to finish. Glad it is a series so that we all have a lot more to look forward to.' Amanda Robson

`Brilliant. I love Meg!' Lisa Hall

`A humdinger of a debut - whip-smart and with a protagonist you're guaranteed to want to get behind' Mel McGrath

`A smart, intelligent police procedural and a well-crafted mystery set against a beautiful backdrop. Compelling reading.' Jane Isaac

`The plot instantly seizes the reader... A great start to a new series.' Vaseem Khan

You may also be interested in...

The Girl Who Takes an Eye for an Eye
Added to basket
The Silent Companions
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Fallen
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Missing Girl
Added to basket
£8.99   £5.99
Paperback
In a House of Lies
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
Into the Water
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Temptation of Forgiveness
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Chalk Man
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Snap
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Thirteen
Added to basket
£8.99   £5.99
Paperback
Greeks Bearing Gifts
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Origin
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle
Added to basket
Past Tense
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
The Girl Before
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
I'll Keep You Safe
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback

“A pacy, intelligent read”

The Devil’s Dice has all the hallmarks of a great crime procedural – a flawed detective with something to prove, grumpy sceptical colleagues, a beautiful semi-rural setting and a brooding background of growing peril.... More

Hardback edition
1 similar book recommended
11th March 2018
Helpful? Upvote 6

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.