The Devil Aspect (Paperback)
  • The Devil Aspect (Paperback)
zoom

The Devil Aspect (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 496 Pages
Published: 31/10/2019
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

'A masterclass in suspenseful, character-driven prose fiction. Simply exceptional'
Frank Darabont, writer and director of The Shawshank Redemption and The Green Mile

'The best twist I have ever read' (Michael Ridpath, author of Traitor's Gate)

'Breathtaking'
(Daily Mail)

'Wildly entertaining . . . truly frightening'
(New York Times)
_____________

How do you find a killer when you're surrounded by madness?

1935. As Europe prepares itself for a calamitous war, six homicidal lunatics - the so-called 'Devil's Six' - are confined in a remote castle asylum in rural Czechoslovakia. Each patient has their own dark story to tell and Dr Viktor Kosárek, a young psychiatrist using revolutionary techniques, is tasked with unlocking their murderous secrets.

At the same time, a terrifying killer known as 'Leather Apron' is butchering victims across Prague. Successfully eluding capture, it would seem his depraved crimes are committed by the Devil himself. Maybe they are... and what links him with the insane inmates of the Castle of the Eagles?

Only the Devil knows. And it is up to Viktor to find out.
_____________

'Deep, dark, and twisty . . . a gripping masterpiece of a thriller!' Alex Grecian, New York Times bestselling author of The Yard

'Elegant, edgy, ingenious' A. J. Finn, New York Times bestselling author of The Woman in the Window

'Drags you into its dark world kicking and screaming . . . gets under your skinslowly, then goes deep, like the tip of a butcher knife' New York Times

'Sensational . . . twists are jaw-dropping . . . a mind-blowing story line that will appeal to fans of Caleb Carr and Thomas Harris' Publishers Weekly

' A thrilling, twisting trip through the darkest corridors of the human mind' Daniel H. Wilson, New York Times bestselling author of Robopocalypse

'A tour de force: a clever and visceral thriller' Lincoln Child, New York Times bestselling author

'Dark, stylish and packed with jaw-dropping twists . . . an astonishing piece of work' M. W. Craven, author of The Puppet Show

'A superior thriller, at once stylish, absorbing and compulsive' Laura Carlin, author of The Wicked Cometh

'Well-crafted gothic crime . . . smart, atmospheric'Kirkus Reviews

'A Gothic masterpiece in psychological horror and creeping dread ' Neil Broadfoot, author of No Man's Land

'Deliciously authentic and darkly atmospheric' Graham Smith, author of Death in the Lakes

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9781472128331
Number of pages: 496
Weight: 340 g
Dimensions: 196 x 124 x 40 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

A splendidly Gothic story, inspired by European folklore, it asks difficult questions about how we judge evil - including whether the Devil can show himself in human form. It is breathtaking. - Daily Mail

A wildly entertaining story that grabs you on page 1 and drags you into its dark world kicking and screaming . . . a truly frightening story, one that gets under your skin slowly, then goes deep, like the tip of a butcher knife. I read the novel one snowy night by the fire, unable to sleep until I finished, then unable to sleep once I had - New York Times

A blood-pumping, nerve-shredding thriller - elegant, edgy, ingenious. Craig Russell conjures not one but two unforgettable settings: Prague between the wars, pulsing with menace, and a Gothic mental asylum, as exciting a house of horrors as I've ever visited. You'll enter both with dread. You'll dwell in them with relish - A. J. Finn, New York Times bestselling author

Steeped in the chilling folklore of Eastern Europe and echoing the dread of a barbaric war to come, The Devil Aspect snatches the reader by the lapels for a thrilling, twisting trip through the darkest corridors of the human mind - Daniel H. Wilson, New York Times bestselling author

A tour de force: a clever and visceral thriller with a one-two-three knockout of an ending that left me dazed. - Lincoln Child, New York Times bestselling author

Deep, dark, and twisty, The Devil Aspect will keep you up all night reading... With all the lights on Russell has created a gripping masterpiece of a thriller! - Alex Grecian, New York Times bestselling author

Dark, stylish and packed with jaw-dropping twists, The Devil Aspect stayed with me long after I'd turned the final page. Part Gothic horror, part crime thriller, it's an astonishing piece of work - M. W. Craven

A Gothic masterpiece in psychological horror and creeping dread, The Devil Aspect is as disturbing as it is compelling. Be prepared to read it in one sitting - and to sleep with the lights on for a long time to come - Neil Broadfoot

Well-crafted gothic crime . . . more twists than a Chubby Checker album. A smart, atmospheric, and entertaining read - Kirkus Reviews

A superior thriller, at once stylish, absorbing and compulsive . . . a taut and chilling tale, expertly crafted against the backdrop of ethnic tensions in pre-Second World War Czechoslovakia . . . I was gripped from the very first page right up to that haunting denouement - Laura Carlin

Deliciously authentic and darkly atmospheric . . . a game-changer for the world of crime fiction - Graham Smith

Sensational serial killer novel . . . in which twists are both jaw-dropping and logical . . . a mind-blowing story line that will appeal to fans of Caleb Carr and Thomas Harris - Publishers Weekly (starred review)

You may also be interested in...

The Exchange
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The List
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
I Will Find You
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Yellowface
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Just Another Missing Person
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Stop Them Dead
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Traitors Gate
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Year of the Locust
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Resurrection Walk
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Yellowface
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
None of This is True
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Silent Patient
Added to basket
The Wrong Sister
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Trial
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.49
Paperback
Ink Blood Sister Scribe
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Strange Sally Diamond
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Gothic thriller!”

Set in a mental asylum, with some interesting characters. A place where evil is bound. Steeped in the heritage of Eastern Europe and in the shadow of Nazi darkness. This is a thriller as forceful and atmospheric.... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 85
TheBookTrail

“A creepy tale of a Castle in the former Czechslovakia..”

The Devil Aspect by CraiWhere do I start? I LOVED this novel and feared it at the same time. The setting is just perfect for this type of gothic tale and when I’d finished it and read the author’s inspiration, I was... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 31
TheReadingDesk

“Absorbing, mystifying and deliciously sinister”

The Devil Aspect is absorbing, mystifying and deliciously sinister. Craig Russell is a talented writer that has superbly blended a compelling nefarious plot, with inexplicably damaged characters, myths and legends,... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 16

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: