The Devil and the Dark Water: Signed Edition (Hardback)
  • The Devil and the Dark Water: Signed Edition (Hardback)
  • The Devil and the Dark Water: Signed Edition (Hardback)
  • The Devil and the Dark Water: Signed Edition (Hardback)
zoom
The Devil and the Dark Water: Signed Edition (Hardback) The Devil and the Dark Water: Signed Edition (Hardback)

The Devil and the Dark Water: Signed Edition (Hardback)

(author)
£16.99
Hardback 400 Pages / Published: 01/10/2020
  • Sold out

Unfortunately, we don't expect to receive any further stock

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Featuring fugitive detectives, a twice-dead leper and a stalking demon, The Devil and the Dark Water is a deliciously sinister period chiller set on a blighted sea voyage to Amsterdam from the author of The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle.

Signed Edition - with stencilled edges 

A standard edition is available here.

A murder on the high seas. A detective duo. A demon who may or may not exist.

It's 1634 and Samuel Pipps, the world's greatest detective, is being transported to Amsterdam to be executed for a crime he may, or may not, have committed. Travelling with him is his loyal bodyguard, Arent Hayes, who is determined to prove his friend innocent. But no sooner are they out to sea than devilry begins to blight the voyage.

A twice-dead leper stalks the decks. Strange symbols appear on the sails. Livestock is slaughtered. And then three passengers are marked for death, including Samuel. Could a demon be responsible for their misfortunes? With Pipps imprisoned, only Arent can solve a mystery that connects every passenger onboard.

A mystery that stretches back into their past and now threatens to sink the ship, killing everybody on board... The breathtaking new novel from Stuart Turton, author of the Sunday Times bestseller, The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle, winner of the Costa Best First Novel Award.

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
ISBN: 9781526626783
Number of pages: 400
Dimensions: 234 x 153 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

"A glorious mash-up of William Golding and Arthur Conan Doyle." - Val McDermid

"Stunningly good. A page-turning mystery on an epic scale, intricately plotted and expertly landed." - Simon Lelic

"A superb historical mystery: inventive, twisty, addictive and utterly beguiling. I fell for this book (and its characters) in a big way. Beautifully crafted escapism for fans of Sherlock and Master & Commander. A TRIUMPH." - Will Dean

"Stuart Turton has done it again. The Devil and the Dark Water is mind bending, genre bending, intricate, vivid, intelligent and with one of the most gloriously grizzly cast of characters ever. An absolute razztwizzler of a novel!." - Ali Land

"The desperate life on board an Amsterdam-bound Dutch Indiamen has never been so vividly painted. Throw in a demon (who may or may not exist), a cast of beautifully realised, compelling characters along with a series of locked room mysteries and the result is one of the most extraordinary books being published this year." - M.W. Craven

"An absolute treat from the most original voice in crime fiction." - Ragnar Jonasson

You may also be interested in...

The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle
Added to basket
The Devil and the Dark Water
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Way of All Flesh
Added to basket
Blood & Sugar
Added to basket
The Killings at Kingfisher Hill
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Nod
Added to basket
Nod
£8.99
Paperback
Slaughter in the Sapperton Tunnel
Added to basket
Midnight at Malabar House (The Malabar House Series)
Added to basket
The Ashes of London
Added to basket
The Emperor's Exile (Eagles of the Empire 19)
Added to basket
Loch Down Abbey
Added to basket
Hidden in Plain Sight
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Art of Dying
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The House of Lamentations
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Dissolution
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The King's Evil
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback

“The devil or devilry...”

A ship leaves Batavia to go to Amsterdam and its precious cargo is Samuel Pipps , the world’s greatest detective, awaiting execution for a crime he may , or may not have committed. His best friend and loyal bodyguard... More

Hardback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 66

“Devilry on the high seas”

It's 1634 and a ship is about to set sail for Amsterdam. Amongst the passengers is the prisoner Samuel Pipps, a famous detective and his protector Arent Hayes, Pipps is returning to face trial for a crime only a... More

Hardback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 38

“Danger lurks on the high seas....”

An absolutely riveting book that explores the nature of belief, the dangers of groupthink and is also an extremely fun and intriguing mystery.

I loved Turton’s first book, Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle, and... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 32

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.