Ts&Cs apply
The Devil and the Dark Water (Hardback)
  • The Devil and the Dark Water (Hardback)
  • The Devil and the Dark Water (Hardback)
zoom
The Devil and the Dark Water (Hardback)

The Devil and the Dark Water (Hardback)

(author)
£16.99
Hardback 576 Pages
Published: 01/10/2020

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Featuring fugitive detectives, a twice-dead leper and a stalking demon, The Devil and the Dark Water is a deliciously sinister period chiller set on a blighted sea voyage to Amsterdam from the author of The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle.

A murder on the high seas. A detective duo. A demon who may or may not exist.

It's 1634 and Samuel Pipps, the world's greatest detective, is being transported to Amsterdam to be executed for a crime he may, or may not, have committed. Travelling with him is his loyal bodyguard, Arent Hayes, who is determined to prove his friend innocent. But no sooner are they out to sea than devilry begins to blight the voyage.

A twice-dead leper stalks the decks. Strange symbols appear on the sails. Livestock is slaughtered. And then three passengers are marked for death, including Samuel. Could a demon be responsible for their misfortunes? With Pipps imprisoned, only Arent can solve a mystery that connects every passenger onboard.

A mystery that stretches back into their past and now threatens to sink the ship, killing everybody on board... The breathtaking new novel from Stuart Turton, author of the Sunday Times bestseller, The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle, winner of the Costa Best First Novel Award.

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
ISBN: 9781408889640
Number of pages: 576
Weight: 992 g
Dimensions: 234 x 153 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'If you read one book this year, make sure it's this one' - Wendy Holden, The Daily Mail 

'Brilliant... intoxicating... There are some great villains and terrific heroes, especially the gentle (and gory) giant Hayes...The Devil and the Dark Water overflows with wonderful descriptions, neat similes, and enough horror, mystery, and crime to keep anyone enthralled' - Independent 

'Think of a Holmes and Watson-style duo operating in a Pirates Of The Caribbean-style universe, complete with a demon with a love for Faustian pacts, a secret invention called The Folly and a leper who has seemingly survived being consumed by flames ... A rollicking adventure yarn' - Metro 

'The Devil and the Dark Water is all about narrative pleasure ... The locked room murder meets a Michael Bay movie, by way of Treasure Island; you can't know what's going on, if only because the author won't let you know until he's delivered the final surprise - and another one after that. The effect is irresistible. Turton has got his world up and running inside the first two pages; thereafter, deceptions and diversions multiply until the ultimate, outrageous reveal, at which point the dark water turns out to be rather darker than you imagined' - M John Harrison, The Guardian

'[Turton's] second book is an even more exuberant demonstration of his storytelling skills ... Wildly inventive, Turton's tale defies definition as either historical fiction or crime novel, but provides all the pleasures of both genres and more', - The Sunday Times 

'A glorious mash-up of William Golding and Arthur Conan Doyle.' - Val McDermid

'Stunningly good. A page-turning mystery on an epic scale, intricately plotted and expertly landed." - Simon Lelic

"A superb historical mystery: inventive, twisty, addictive and utterly beguiling. I fell for this book (and its characters) in a big way. Beautifully crafted escapism for fans of Sherlock and Master & Commander. A TRIUMPH." - Will Dean

"Stuart Turton has done it again. The Devil and the Dark Water is mind bending, genre bending, intricate, vivid, intelligent and with one of the most gloriously grizzly cast of characters ever. An absolute razztwizzler of a novel!." - Ali Land

"The desperate life on board an Amsterdam-bound Dutch Indiamen has never been so vividly painted. Throw in a demon (who may or may not exist), a cast of beautifully realised, compelling characters along with a series of locked room mysteries and the result is one of the most extraordinary books being published this year." - M.W. Craven

"An absolute treat from the most original voice in crime fiction." - Ragnar Jonasson

You may also be interested in...

The Leviathan
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Act of Oblivion
Added to basket
£22.00   £11.00
Hardback
The Christie Affair
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Harlem Shuffle
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Next in Line
Added to basket
£22.00   £11.00
Hardback
The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle
Added to basket
Dissolution
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Ashes of London
Added to basket
Begars Abbey
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Over My Dead Body
Added to basket
A Corruption of Blood
Added to basket
The Essex Serpent
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Axeman's Jazz
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Birdcage
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Devil and the Dark Water
Added to basket
The Leviathan
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
Desperate Undertaking
Added to basket
The Secrets of Rochester Place
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“The devil or devilry...”

A ship leaves Batavia to go to Amsterdam and its precious cargo is Samuel Pipps , the world’s greatest detective, awaiting execution for a crime he may , or may not have committed. His best friend and loyal bodyguard... More

Hardback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 83

“Danger lurks on the high seas....”

An absolutely riveting book that explores the nature of belief, the dangers of groupthink and is also an extremely fun and intriguing mystery.

I loved Turton’s first book, Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle, and... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 50

“Devilry on the high seas”

It's 1634 and a ship is about to set sail for Amsterdam. Amongst the passengers is the prisoner Samuel Pipps, a famous detective and his protector Arent Hayes, Pipps is returning to face trial for a crime only a... More

Hardback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 50

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.