The Devil and the Dark Water (Paperback)
  • The Devil and the Dark Water (Paperback)
zoom

The Devil and the Dark Water (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99 £7.49
Paperback 576 Pages / Published: 01/05/2021
  • Save £1.50
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

Featuring fugitive detectives, a twice-dead leper and a stalking demon, The Devil and the Dark Water is a deliciously sinister period chiller set on a blighted sea voyage to Amsterdam from the author of The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle.

Waterstones Thriller of the Month for May 2021

Longlisted for the Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year 2022

Shortlisted for the CWA Steel Dagger 2021

An impossible murder.

A remarkable detective duo.

A villain who may or may not exist.

It’s 1634 and Samuel Pipps, the world’s greatest detective, is being transported from the Dutch East Indies to Amsterdam, where he is set to face trial for a crime that no one dares speak of.

But no sooner is the ship out to sea than devilry begins to blight the voyage. Strange symbols appear on the sails. A figure stalks the decks. Livestock are slaughtered. Passengers are plagued with ominous threats, promising them three unholy miracles. First: an impossible pursuit. Second: an impossible theft.

Then: an impossible murder.

With Pipps imprisoned in the depths of the ship, can his loyal bodyguard, Arent Hayes, solve the mystery before the ship descends into anarchy? From the author of the dazzling The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle, winner of the Costa Best First Novel Award, comes an adventurous and wildly entertaining murder mystery.

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
ISBN: 9781408889534
Number of pages: 576
Weight: 392 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'If you read one book this year, make sure it's this one' - Wendy Holden, The Daily Mail 

'Brilliant... intoxicating... There are some great villains and terrific heroes, especially the gentle (and gory) giant Hayes...The Devil and the Dark Water overflows with wonderful descriptions, neat similes, and enough horror, mystery, and crime to keep anyone enthralled' - Independent 

'Think of a Holmes and Watson-style duo operating in a Pirates Of The Caribbean-style universe, complete with a demon with a love for Faustian pacts, a secret invention called The Folly and a leper who has seemingly survived being consumed by flames ... A rollicking adventure yarn' - Metro 

'The Devil and the Dark Water is all about narrative pleasure ... The locked room murder meets a Michael Bay movie, by way of Treasure Island; you can't know what's going on, if only because the author won't let you know until he's delivered the final surprise - and another one after that. The effect is irresistible. Turton has got his world up and running inside the first two pages; thereafter, deceptions and diversions multiply until the ultimate, outrageous reveal, at which point the dark water turns out to be rather darker than you imagined' - M John Harrison, The Guardian

'[Turton's] second book is an even more exuberant demonstration of his storytelling skills ... Wildly inventive, Turton's tale defies definition as either historical fiction or crime novel, but provides all the pleasures of both genres and more', - The Sunday Times 

'A glorious mash-up of William Golding and Arthur Conan Doyle.' - Val McDermid

'Stunningly good. A page-turning mystery on an epic scale, intricately plotted and expertly landed.' - Simon Lelic

'A superb historical mystery: inventive, twisty, addictive and utterly beguiling. I fell for this book (and its characters) in a big way. Beautifully crafted escapism for fans of Sherlock and Master & Commander. A TRIUMPH.' - Will Dean

'Stuart Turton has done it again. The Devil and the Dark Water is mind bending, genre bending, intricate, vivid, intelligent and with one of the most gloriously grizzly cast of characters ever. An absolute razztwizzler of a novel!.' - Ali Land

'The desperate life on board an Amsterdam-bound Dutch Indiamen has never been so vividly painted. Throw in a demon (who may or may not exist), a cast of beautifully realised, compelling characters along with a series of locked room mysteries and the result is one of the most extraordinary books being published this year.' - M.W. Craven

'An absolute treat from the most original voice in crime fiction.' - Ragnar Jonasson</>

You may also be interested in...

Daughters of Night
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Black Drop
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Midnight Hour
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Blood & Sugar
Added to basket
A Net for Small Fishes
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Suspects
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Orders to Kill
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Dangerous Women
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle
Added to basket
The Essex Serpent
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Dream Town
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Mexican Gothic
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Birdcage
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
Miss Aldridge Regrets
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Daughters of Night
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Ashes of London
Added to basket
The Leviathan
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback

“The devil or devilry...”

A ship leaves Batavia to go to Amsterdam and its precious cargo is Samuel Pipps , the world’s greatest detective, awaiting execution for a crime he may , or may not have committed. His best friend and loyal bodyguard... More

Hardback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 84

“Danger lurks on the high seas....”

An absolutely riveting book that explores the nature of belief, the dangers of groupthink and is also an extremely fun and intriguing mystery.

I loved Turton’s first book, Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle, and... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 46

“Devilry on the high seas”

It's 1634 and a ship is about to set sail for Amsterdam. Amongst the passengers is the prisoner Samuel Pipps, a famous detective and his protector Arent Hayes, Pipps is returning to face trial for a crime only a... More

Hardback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 46

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.