Ts&Cs apply
The Den (Hardback)
  • The Den (Hardback)
zoom

The Den (Hardback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£18.99
Hardback 320 Pages
Published: 16/05/2019
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 48 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket

For readers of THE VIRGIN SUICIDES or THE GIRLS, a story of two extraordinary, magnetic women and their disappearances - a hundred years apart - from the small New England town they call home.

Henrietta and Jane are growing up in a farmhouse on the outskirts of town, their mother a remote artist, their father in thrall to the folklore and legend of their corner of New England. When Henrietta falls under the spell of Kaus, an outsider and petty criminal, Jane takes to trailing the couple, spying on their trysts, until one night, Henrietta vanishes into the woods.

Elspeth and Claire are sisters separated by an ocean. Elspeth's pregnancy at seventeen meant she was quickly married and sent away from her Scottish village to make a new life in America. When she comes to the attention of the local mill owner, a series of wrenching and violent events unfolds, culminating in her disappearance.

As Jane and Claire search in their own times for their missing sisters, each uncovers the strange legend of Cold Thursday, and of a family apparently transformed into coyotes. But what does his myth really mean? Are their sisters dead, destroyed by the men who desired them? Or have they made new lives, elsewhere, beyond the watchful eyes of the community they longed to escape?

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472263278
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 528 g
Dimensions: 235 x 167 x 31 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A provocative and absorbing coming-of-age novel * Woman & Home *
Maxwell's prose brilliantly conveys their adolescent angst and survival instincts * Lady *

You may also be interested in...

The Island of Missing Trees
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
It Ends With Us
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Added to basket
Elektra
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Beautiful World, Where Are You
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Really Good, Actually
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Satsuma Complex
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
The Secret History
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
A Little Life
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Cloisters
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
How to Kill Your Family
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Small Things Like These
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“A thought provoking and hypnotic read.”

This can fairly be described as a feminist book as it looks at the commonality and connection between two different stories set 150 years apart that have the same themes of disappearance and escape deriving from... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 22
Rachel Bridgeman

“A beautifully written tale of family, love and ties that bind”

A den is variously described in dictionaries as 'a lair for a wild animal' and 'a place where people secretly plan'.

In the context of the titular den, this dwelling is the first home to Elspeth... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 18

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.