The Den (Hardback)
  • The Den (Hardback)
zoom

The Den (Hardback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£18.99
Hardback 320 Pages / Published: 16/05/2019
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

For readers of THE VIRGIN SUICIDES or THE GIRLS, a story of two extraordinary, magnetic women and their disappearances - a hundred years apart - from the small New England town they call home.

Henrietta and Jane are growing up in a farmhouse on the outskirts of town, their mother a remote artist, their father in thrall to the folklore and legend of their corner of New England. When Henrietta falls under the spell of Kaus, an outsider and petty criminal, Jane takes to trailing the couple, spying on their trysts, until one night, Henrietta vanishes into the woods.

Elspeth and Claire are sisters separated by an ocean. Elspeth's pregnancy at seventeen meant she was quickly married and sent away from her Scottish village to make a new life in America. When she comes to the attention of the local mill owner, a series of wrenching and violent events unfolds, culminating in her disappearance.

As Jane and Claire search in their own times for their missing sisters, each uncovers the strange legend of Cold Thursday, and of a family apparently transformed into coyotes. But what does his myth really mean? Are their sisters dead, destroyed by the men who desired them? Or have they made new lives, elsewhere, beyond the watchful eyes of the community they longed to escape?

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472263278
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 528 g
Dimensions: 235 x 167 x 31 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A provocative and absorbing coming-of-age novel * Woman & Home *
Maxwell's prose brilliantly conveys their adolescent angst and survival instincts * Lady *

You may also be interested in...

The Judge's List
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Beautiful World, Where Are You
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Trio
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
One August Night
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Piranesi
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dinner Guest
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Silverview
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
Girl A
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Vanishing Half
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£18.99   £15.99
Hardback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Cat Who Saved Books
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Hardback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Added to basket

“A thought provoking and hypnotic read.”

This can fairly be described as a feminist book as it looks at the commonality and connection between two different stories set 150 years apart that have the same themes of disappearance and escape deriving from... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 22
Rachel Bridgeman

“A beautifully written tale of family, love and ties that bind”

A den is variously described in dictionaries as 'a lair for a wild animal' and 'a place where people secretly plan'.

In the context of the titular den, this dwelling is the first home to Elspeth... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 18

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.