• Sign In / Register
  • Help
  • Basket0
The Delicate Distress - Eighteenth-century Novels by Women (Paperback)
  • The Delicate Distress - Eighteenth-century Novels by Women (Paperback)
zoom

The Delicate Distress - Eighteenth-century Novels by Women (Paperback)

(author)
£29.95
Paperback 288 Pages / Published: 17/04/1997
  • We can order this

Usually despatched within 2 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket
The Delicate Distress (1769) focuses on the problems women encounter after marriage - the issue of financial independence for wives, the consequences of interfaith relationships, and the promiscuity of their husbands. At the story's center is the deep distress of Emily Woodville, a virtuous young newlywed who suspects her husband of infidelity with a French marchioness from his past. Against a backdrop of rural England and Paris of the ancien regime, Elizabeth Griffith takes the epistolary novel of sensibility in the tradition of Samuel Richardson and Jean-Jacques Rousseau and re-imagines it from a feminist perspective that centers on strong, intelligent, and virtuous women. Two sisters exchange letters about urgent ethical questions concerning love, marriage, morality, art, the duties of wives and husbands, and passion versus reason, while two men correspond about the same subjects. The Delicate Distress is one of the earliest novels to explore the psychology of characters who observe and reflect but engage in no grand public actions.

Publisher: The University Press of Kentucky
ISBN: 9780813109251
Number of pages: 288
Weight: 499 g
Dimensions: 235 x 159 x 21 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

"A valuable addition to the range of texts currently available." -- British Journal for Eighteenth-Century Studies


"An excellent scholarly introduction providing information on the place of this novel in literary history and on Griffith's background as a professional actress, translator of French novels, and playwright, as well as a novelist of sensibility.... Access to such 18th-century novels written by women is crucial to developing an understanding of literary history and of the novel as a genre." -- Choice


"Fill(s) a genuine need among scholars and students interested in early British women novelists." -- Kritikon Litterarum


"A novel about a utopian community founded and run by wealthy women who had previously been victimized in various ways." -- Kritikon Litterarum

You may also be interested in...

Midnight's Children
Added to basket
The Woman in White
Added to basket
Wide Sargasso Sea
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Picture of Dorian Gray
Added to basket
Brighton Rock
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Moby-Dick
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
A Month in the Country
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde
Added to basket
The Secret Garden
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
The Bonfire of the Vanities
Added to basket
The Prime of Miss Jean Brodie
Added to basket
Wuthering Heights
Added to basket
£5.99
Paperback
Alone in Berlin (Slipcase Edition)
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Great Expectations
Added to basket
The Woman in White
Added to basket

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.