The Defiant (Hardback)
  • The Defiant (Hardback)
zoom

The Defiant (Hardback)

(author), (illustrator)
£12.99
Hardback 256 Pages / Published: 15/10/2015
  • Publisher out of stock

Currently unavailable to order

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
An absorbing, breakneck debut YA novel set on the high seas. On a field trip to see famed privateer Francisco Ventana's once-sunken ship, the Defiant, six kids from San Francisco's Greenly School--a last-chance refuge for orphans, troublemakers, and misfits--find themselves stranded at the center of a storm unlike any other. By the time the clouds have cleared, and the strange pink flashes have faded from the sky, the Defiant is out on the open sea, San Francisco ablaze behind it. What follows is an adventure that will change the classmates' lives forever--a journey across a dangerous ocean in search of a new home, with only their instincts and each other to rely on. Can they master the ship? Can they work together, and defend themselves against the unexpected adversaries they encounter on the way? Will they ever find land? You'll have to join their voyage to find out. A remarkable debut in the tradition of Gulliver's Travels and Lord of the Flies, The Defiant creates a world that's all its own--thrilling and wholly original, filled with strange energies and superstitious survivors, and dozens of moments you won't soon forget.

Publisher: McSweeney's Publishing
ISBN: 9781936365548
Number of pages: 256
Weight: 596 g
Dimensions: 229 x 153 x 33 mm

You may also be interested in...

Peppa Pig: Peppa's Magical Unicorn
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
The Squirrels Who Squabbled
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone
Added to basket
The Hate U Give
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The 1,000-year-old Boy
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Tom Gates: Biscuits, Bands and Very Big Plans
Added to basket
Boy Underwater
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
The Storm Keeper's Island
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Wizards of Once
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
The Kissing Booth
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Wonder
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Where the World Ends
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
The Case of the Missing Treasure
Added to basket
Ella on the Outside
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
The World's Worst Children
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Ten Minutes to Bed: Little Unicorn
Added to basket

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.