Day of the Accident (Paperback)
  • Day of the Accident (Paperback)
zoom

Day of the Accident (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 21/02/2019
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

WHAT DID YOU SEE? WHAT DID YOU DO?

'Gripping, poignant...I read it in one sitting' ROSAMUND LUPTON

'Brilliantly compulsive and with one hell of a twist!' CLAIRE DOUGLAS
____________________________

Sixty seconds after she wakes from a coma, Maggie's world is torn apart.

The police tell her that her daughter Elspeth is dead. That she drowned when the car Maggie had been driving plunged into the river. Maggie remembers nothing.

When Maggie begs to see her husband Sean, the police tell her that he has disappeared. He was last seen on the day of her daughter's funeral.

What really happened that day at the river?
Where is Maggie's husband?
And why can't she shake the suspicion that somewhere, somehow... her daughter is still alive?

An emotional page-turner with amazing characters from the Top Ten bestselling author of My Sister's Bones, this thriller is perfect for fans of Clare Mackintosh's I Let You Go and Lisa Jewell's Watching You.
______________________________

WHAT AUTHORS AND READERS ARE SAYING:

'Makes you question everything you thought you knew' EMMA KAVANAGH

'You won't see the big twist coming in this haunting thriller. A worthy successor to My Sister's Bones' Daily Express

'Wow! What a fantastic book that completely sucked me in. 5 stars' ***** Amazon reviewer

'A stunning book. Compelling, unsettling and powerful this is a book that will stay with me for a long time' C. L. Taylor

'This story absolutely blew me away' ***** Amazon reviewer

'A clever, twisty plot that takes psychological mind games to a new level. Nuala Ellwood has done it again!' Jane Corry

'A masterpiece' ***** Amazon reviewer

'Rivals The Girl on the Train (and beats it for style)' The Guardian

'This clever, multi- layered novel is simply stunning' Dinah Jefferies

'A gripping rollercoaster ride of a thriller. Keeps you in there right to the last page' Christobel Kent

'A twisty psychological thriller. I raced through it in one sitting!'
Lucy Atkins

'A dark, intense, multi-layered thriller that twists and turns until the last page' Tammy Cohen

'Twisty and unpredictable. Kept me guessing until the end' Karen Cleveland

'An accomplished and page-turning thriller...it's impossible to guess where it's going next' Nicholas Searle

'A raw, shocking, and serpentine mystery that keeps you guessing until the very end' Nicolas Obregon, author of Blue Light Yokohama

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9780241977347
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 277 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 24 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A stunning book. Compelling, unsettling and powerful -- C. L. Taylor
You won't see the big twist coming in this haunting thriller. A worthy successor to My Sister's Bones * Daily Express *
Memorable, jaw-dropping * Sunday Times *
Compelling and intriguing, right from the very first page -- Sharon Bolton
A clever, twisty plot that takes psychological mind games to a new level. Nuala Ellwood has done it again! -- Jane Corry
The Day of the Accident had me gasping for breath and on the verge of tears from the get-go. Twisty, haunting, and completely heart-wrenching, you won't breathe until you've turned the very last page. -- Carolyn Jess-Cooke
Grabbed me on the first page and didn't let go * Woman and Home *
Gripping, engrossing and surprising at every turn -- Rowan Coleman
A raw, shocking, and serpentine mystery that keeps you guessing until the very end -- Nicolas Obregon, author of 'Blue Light Yokohama'
This book will take all your expectations and upend them, making you question everything you thought you knew -- Emma Kavanagh
Twisty and unpredictable. Kept me guessing until the end -- Karen Cleveland, author of 'Need to Know'
Absolutely brilliant - exciting, clever, it deserves to be a bestseller -- Priscilla Masters

You may also be interested in...

A Beautiful Spy
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Coffinmaker's Garden
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Edge of the Grave
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Small Pleasures
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Survivors
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Time for Mercy
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Castaways
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Eight Detectives
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Evening and the Morning
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Blackout
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Find You First
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
A Song for the Dark Times
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Marlow Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Magpie
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Still Life
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
V2
Added to basket
V2
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“A great thriller”

When Maggie comes round after being in a coma following a serious car accident she's told the devastating news that Elspeth, her 10 year old daughter has died. She doesn't believe them, surely a mother... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 33

“A labyrinth of twists and turns and red herrings!”

I received a copy of this from NetGalley in exchange for a review.

The Day of the Accident is a labyrinth of twists and turns and red herrings!

It tells the story of Maggie, who wakes from a coma to discover that... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 21

“If you've ever truly been in love, then every action in this book is plausible...”

The book is superbly written, paced and constructed by an author who knows how to grip a curious reader and never let them go. As Rosamund Lupton is quoted on the cover: 'I read it in one sitting'. I... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 20

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.