The Darkest Hour: A Novel (Paperback)
  • The Darkest Hour: A Novel (Paperback)
zoom

The Darkest Hour: A Novel (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 432 Pages / Published: 20/11/2014
  • Temporarily unavailable

Currently unavailable to order

Email me when available

Stay one step ahead and let us notify you when this item is next available to order

In this crackling, highly imaginative thriller debut in the vein of W.E.B. Griffin and Philip Kerr, set in German-occupied London at the close of World War II, a hardened, dispirited British detective jeopardizes his own life to save someone else and achieve the impossible some kind of redemptionLondon, 1946. The Nazis have won the war and now occupy Great Britain, using brutality and fear to control its citizens. They even use it to control those who work for them. John Henry Rossett, a decorated British war hero and former police sergeant, is one of those unlucky souls. He's a man accustomed to obeying commands, but he's now assigned a job he didn't ask for and knows he cannot refuse: rounding up Jews for deportation, including men and women he's known his whole life. Robbed of his family by a Resistance bomb, and robbed of his humanity by the work he is forced to do, fate suddenly presents Rossett with an unexpected challenge that could change everything. He finds a boy hiding in an abandoned building and is faced with a momentous decision to do something or to look the other way. Yet whatever Rossett does, he will be pushed into a place where he could endanger all he holds dear.Played out against a city in ruin, a place divided between the conquered and the conquerors, The Darkest Hour is a tense, driving adventure thriller, a fascinating alternate history, and the unforgettable story of a man who will be broken or be given a completely new lease on life. "

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Inc
ISBN: 9780062386021
Number of pages: 432
Weight: 305 g
Dimensions: 197 x 130 mm
Edition: International ed.

You may also be interested in...

Slough House
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Silent Wife
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dinner Guest
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Sentinel
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Agent Running in the Field
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Find Them Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Rules for Perfect Murders
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Guardians
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Westwind
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Camino Winds
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Guest List
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Walk the Wire
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Firewatching
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Lockdown
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
My Dark Vanessa
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Couldn't put down!”

Excellent read. Not my normal cup of tea, can't wait for the next book xx

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 15

“Once upon a Nazi dystopia.”

This book immediately throws you into a world of Nazi rule and covers most of the ifs, buts and maybes you could have about a country fed from the sap of a Nazi regime. The protagonist in Schumacher’s cunningly... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 9

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.