The Cursed Friend (Hardback)
  • The Cursed Friend (Hardback)
zoom

The Cursed Friend (Hardback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£16.99
Hardback 240 Pages
Published: 20/06/2024
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Intensely atmospheric and stunningly written, Salvioni's 1930s-set novel charts the devastating consequences of the unbreakable friendship between two girls in a small Italian city.

An unbreakable, life-changing friendship will lead two young girls from different worlds to rebel against the sexism, prejudice, and injustice they face living in 1930s Italy in this moving novel that echoes the spirit Elena Ferrante's beloved works.

It is 1936 in the small Italian city of Monza. On the pebbled bank of the Lambro, two frantic girls scramble to hide a body.

A year earlier, Maddalena attracts stares everywhere she goes. ‘The Cursed One’, they whisper, as tales of the harm she’s inflicted upon those that have crossed her ignite fear and scorn amongst the townspeople.

Francesca is not scared like the others. Respectable, well-behaved and yearning for a life beyond provincial conformity, she is drawn to Maddalena’s rebellious spirit. When, one day, she finds herself telling a lie to save her, this split-second decision irrevocably binds the girls together.

From this moment on they will go to any length to protect one another, even if that leads to a terrible violence…

Translated from the Italian by Elena Pala

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780008694685
Number of pages: 240
Weight: 420 g
Dimensions: 240 x 159 x 24 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'A widescreen, sensory, visual story that starts with an edge-of-your-seat, crowd-pleasing trick … The characters are big and colourful' The Times 'Francesca and Maddalena are vibrant characters for whom we quickly root. Their central relationship and cruel initiation into the world of men is richly imagined. I’m excited to read what Beatrice does next' Observer ‘Salvioni’s skilful rendering of a female friendship — full of intimacy, admiration, strength, betrayal — has echoes of Elena Ferrante, Natalia Ginzburg and Alba de Céspedes’ Financial Times 'Salvioni’s fast-paced narrative forges an intense yet timeless tale of female friendship' New Statesman 'This debut grips your soul and never lets go’ Le Point ‘A little gem that proves that Italian women's literature is undergoing a revolution’ Vogue Spain ‘The intensity of the writing, the tight, believable dialogue … the visceral and powerful friendship between two different but connected young girls. Brings to mind Elena Ferrante's My Brilliant Friend’ La Repubblica ‘Bloody, unapologetic, and wild … I loved it!’ Naomi Krupitsky, New York Times bestselling author of The Family ‘From its opening pages, The Cursed Friend grabs the reader’s attention and doesn’t let go’ Laura Spence-Ash, bestselling author of Beyond That, the Sea ‘In her gripping novel set in fascist Italy, and in the tradition of Elsa Morante and Natalia Ginzburg, Beatrice Salvioni gives powerful voice to the female experience in Italy’ Jenny McPhee, author of The Center of Things

You may also be interested in...

In Memoriam
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Housekeepers
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Lessons in Chemistry
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Sharpe's Command
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Glorious Exploits
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
The Fraud
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Familiar
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Herc
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Wolves of Winter
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Marriage Portrait
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
A Gentleman in Moscow
Added to basket
The Temple of Fortuna
Added to basket
Wandering Souls
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Wait for Me
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Whalebone Theatre
Added to basket
Shogun
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
The Shadows of London
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback

“A Great Read”

About the friendship of two girls in a small, Italian town during the rise of Mussolini and fascism in the 1930s. It begins with them burying a body, and then the rest of the book leads up to that, and what happens... More

Hardback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: