• Sign In
  • Help
  • My Basket0
The Curiosity (Hardback)
  • The Curiosity (Hardback)
zoom

The Curiosity (Hardback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£17.99
Hardback 480 Pages / Published: 18/07/2013
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

Check Marketplace availability

For readers of Justin Cronin's The Passage, S J Watson's Before I go to Sleep and Audrey Niffenegger's The Time Traveller's Wife, The Curiosity is a haunting love story in which a man frozen for 100 years wakes up in today's America to be hounded by tabloids, condemned by religious conservatives, and hunted by a presidential candidate while he strives to come to terms with his unique second life, one in which he falls in love with a beautiful scientist from a century after him. Maverick scientific genius Erastus Carthage has developed a technique to bring frozen simple-celled animals back to life. But when his Arctic research vessel discovers a body encased in an iceberg, he seizes the chance to apply his pioneering process to a human being. The man Carthage's lad awakens from death is Jeremiah Rice, a Massachusetts judge, who was born in 1868 and fell overboard in 1906. Jeremiah is an instant celebrity - chased by paparazzi, vilified by the religious right, and overwhelmed by a society he sees as brilliant and diverse but also vulgar and violent. As his only ally biologist Kate Philo attempts to protect him from financial and political exploitation, the two fall in love. Meanwhile, Jeremiah's time on earth is slipping away. 'Poignant, luminescent, and absolutely perfect' Chris Bohjalian, bestselling author of Midwives and The Double Bind

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
ISBN: 9781848548756
Number of pages: 480
Weight: 754 g
Dimensions: 240 x 156 x 41 mm

You may also be interested in...

The Crow Girl
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Owl Always Hunts at Night
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Gallery of the Dead
Added to basket
£16.99   £12.99
Hardback
Need You Dead
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Conclave
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
London Rules
Added to basket
£12.99
Hardback
Night School
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Origin
Added to basket
£20.00   £12.99
Hardback
The Whistler
Added to basket
£8.99   £5.99
Paperback
Want You Gone
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Child
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Slow Horses
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Sirens
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Couple Next Door
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Midnight Line
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Legacy
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“Coming in From the Cold!”

When a scientific expedition to the artic to find deep frozen fish for a reanimation experiment finds instead a deep frozen man a whole new chapter of discovery is opened.
The man, Judge Rice had “died” in 1906 and... More

Hardback edition
4th August 2013
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.